We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing parador” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador Arcos de la Frontera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parador Arcos de la Frontera to your Saves list
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza del Cabildo, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another amazing parador”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated in the definate middle of the old city.
If you hate driving steep, narrow streets, you might consider parking down-town, and hire a taxi for the last 1-2 kilometers.
The hotel itself is like most Paradors: an old building made into something reasonably habitable, with its own charm. Normally you lack for nothing, unless you favour steel, chrome and white walls.
The staff is kind and tries to help you. Sometimes they are a bit out of their comfort zone.
I neeeded the free advertised wifi. It took a while to get somebody to reboot the central router. Mostly I got explanations like : "no, Android is not supported". It might have worked in the late 1990'ies, when nobody knew anything, but it just isn't good enough to tell your customers crap like that.
But that is a minor bump.
Everything else works.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    92
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
145
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a fabulous location. Reception and restaurant have top service, excellent food. Rooms just good. If you go in spring or autumn you do not need ar conditioning.
Getting there is difficult because of very narrow streets if you have a wide vehicle. Beware of parking tickets, because they are very strict!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the cliff. Go in April, May, September or October.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The Parador - Arcos de la Frontera is on top of a hill and is superb and book a room with a balcony it is well worth it The result is breath-taking views. The meal we had in the evening was very good and typical local cuisine. It is a well-run hotel very clean and the staff very friendly / helpful and do not forget to ask them the way to leave.
The down side to this is a steep and narrow drive up, forget the sat nav stop in the town and ask the way but well worth it once you are there.

Room Tip: Make sure you have balcony for the fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

When we arrived in Arcos de la Frontera we managed to get a parking spot in front of the hotel when we told them that we were staying at the Parador. The parking there is free overnight from 6 pm. to 9 am. after which time you must buy a ticket in the machine and leave this displayed in your window. The ticket officer was there at 9 am sharp so make sure to go out and pay your parking. We gave the attendant in the lot a small tip to ensure that we got a spot.
Hotel has that old world charm. Very clean. We had a superior room with the most amazing views as the Parador sits right on top of the mountain. Room was large and bathroom had that old world feel. We had a balcony and left the door open at night to get some fresh air. You could hear the dogs barking and the roosters crowing during the night but I just found it added to the charm. You felt like you are in a rural setting but high up on the mountain top. Sound really travels up.
Good wifi in the room. We had breakfast at the Parador and it was excellent. Lots of choices for whatever you want to eat. Buffet style.
The drive up is a little hairy especially in one particular spot, where the road is so narrow that you have only a couple of inches on either side of your car. If you are not a very experienced and confident driver you are better to park in the lower part of town in the underground parking and either walk (a bit of a long way especially with luggage) or take a taxi.
Lots of good tapas restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We had hired a BMW which we regretted when we saw the road we had to navigate thru to get to the Parador. It was very narrow and scary. Once we got there we managed to park right outside and the Hotel provided us with a parking permit. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room which looked over the square was fine with a large bathroom and comfy bed. The square gets very busy with tourists and could get very noisy. Wifi worked perfectly. Food was OK but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

This was our first parador of a four parador trip. Arcos Parador was smaller than we expected them to generally be, but the welcome, like all of the paradors was efficient and friendly. The old building perched on the village square and clinging precipitously to the cliff high above a river valley, is well restored and renovated internally and the room was clean and comfortable. Dinner serving started at 8:00,a full 30 minutes earlier than anywhere else we stayed. As early diners, that was a test for us, but it is the local way, so get used to it. What I do find hard to get used to is the slowness of the dinner service. Like all parador staff we encountered, the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful, but slowwwwwww. Shown to our table with menus, that was it for 15 minutes, when they came back to see if we wanted to order our meal. A drink order taken on our being seated would have solved that whole 15 minute thing. They miss a huge trick in maximising income, but worst of all, they do that "thousand mile stare" thing which takes them from one end of the restaurant to the other without catching any diner's eye, or indeed, waving hand and I HATE that! Overall, this is a lovely hotel in a lovely and historic little town, perched high above the plains. If it could sort out the restaurant......

Room Tip: We had a nice room over the square, but paying a little extra for a superior room would have given a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Friendly staff, lovely beds, great shower, good food, pretty inner courtyard, but the best part is sitting in the picture window over the cliffside with a glass of sherry and a bowl of almonds, watching the sun go down over the beautiful countryside below.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador Arcos de la Frontera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Arcos de la Frontera

Address: Plaza del Cabildo, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador Arcos de la Frontera 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cultural crossbreeding of the Casa del Corregidor displays an andalusian character, with latticework and a courtyard. Many of the rooms overlook a splendid landscape filled with art, nature and history. The flowery tiling enlivers the wood of the furniture and the ochre of the terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Parador Arcos de la Frontera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador Arcos de la Frontera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.