We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa El Sueno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa El Sueno to your Saves list
Casa El Sueno
Calle Martin Montero 13, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Very warm welcome, good service, excellent breakfast and breathtaking view from the room! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcos de la Frontera
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We´ve chosen this hotel because of the good critics we had readen. It was for sure a good choice!
We will repeat once again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a really beautiful boutique hotel, a minute's walk from the centre of Arcos. We stayed in La Cueva which is a mini-suite of a double and twin room and a luxurious bathroom. The view over the lake is spectacular. There is an 'honesty' bar with reasonable prices so we took a bottle of wine up to the roof terrace and watched the world go by - just beautiful and even games provided to keep the kids amused.

Breakfast was great - a huge selection including freshly squeezed orange, lots of fresh coffee, warm rolls, ham, cheese and pancakes and chocolate sauce (for the kids - honest!!).

I totally confess we didn't get the host's name - you will soon understand why - but cannot praise him highly enough. We arrived totally stressed having lost my i-phone en-route so there was no time for introductions! He cared for the kids, provided iced water, laptop, wi-fi, offered to talk to the police etc etc to help us out. However, despite all the drama, we went on to have a really lovely stay, with fab restaurant recommendations and we also did a walking tour of Arcos (printed instructions) all provided by the host.

Go on try it, this is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011 via mobile

The room and its bathroom were very clean. However, while taking a shower the next day, the water drainage did not work. This was fixed the same day. Breakfast was good, although we did not like that it could not be served before 9 AM. The hostess was very friendly and interested in the guests, the host has to work on his manners though. Although we give this B&B an overall good rating, we will not return there.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casaelsueno, Propietario at Casa El Sueno, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
There must have been a misunderstanding about the hour of breakfast, sorry for that. Standard Breakfast times are from 8.30 am (when the baker arrives with fresh bread) untill 11.00 am but if guests want to have breakfast earlier this can be arranged. When guests want te leave earlier then 7.30 we can arrange a breakfast to be set ready in the refrigerator. Coffee and tea are available at all times in the kitchen on the ground floor or pantry on the first floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Just back from Andalusy and stayed one night in Casa el Sueno.
Very intimate and personal place to stay. Uko and Lieve are very friendly (they give you all kind of advises what you can do in the beautiful surroundings) , the breakfast is super and the room was comfortably big.
The surroundings are nice, Arcos is a sweet little village.
Perfect for a stay, it really feels like holiday over there :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Friends told us about Casa el suena. They stayed in the hostal twice. Therefore we booked a room in the Casa for two nights.

The hostal was lovely and the hosting couple (Uko and Lieve) were very hospitable. Uko referred us to several restaurants. He made a selection of restaurants especially for us. The rooms were clean, modern and very elegant. The beds were comfortable and the towels did not have the typical spanish chlorine smell (according to my wife :-) No kiddin' the rooms where quite a difference compared to other hotels we visited during our 2.5 weeks stay in Andalusia. The view (from room window and roof terras) over the Arcos valley and lake was simply amazing. During breakfast everything is freshly served by one of the hosts.

The hostal is in the old town of Arcos de la Frontera. It has this typical white village atmosphere. Very cosy, narrow streets and I've tasted the best red wine in Arcos during our stay. It was a simple house wine and I forgot to ask name and year.

Restaurants and bars are very near. So we did not need our car in Arcos. Be prepared for quite an uphill stroll though on arrival When The parking places in the neighborhood are Occupied.

If you like to get spoiled and like a lot of personal attention from the friendly hosts. Book here and be sure to book in advance to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Share your preferences with them for the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa El Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa El Sueno

Address: Calle Martin Montero 13, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa El Sueno is a small family Bed & Breakfast. We offer 5 comfortable rooms in the old centre of Arcos de la Frontera, each with its own atmosphere and some of them with a spectacular view on the lake of Arcos. The house is an ancient patio house that was refurbished in 2010, combining traditional elements with modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa El Sueno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.