We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value hotel in a great location for ski access but away from the apres ski scene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zum Kaiserweg

Hotel Zum Kaiserweg
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Zum Kaiserweg to your Saves list
Hotel Zum Kaiserweg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schiliftgasse 493, Schladming 8970, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Schladming
Arbroath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Value hotel in a great location for ski access but away from the apres ski scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

My wife and I booked this hotel for our ski holiday in the resort. Our four friends booked later and couldn't get rooms in this hotel so they booked in the Statdor in the centre of town where, for a little extra cash, I think they received better value for money.
Zum Kaiserweg is very clean and comfortable. My wife and I were not particularly looking forward to the food. But despite the fact that there was no choice of dishes on the menu we found the food to be wholesome and delicious. The owner's wife is the chef.
The hotel is about a 3 minute walk away to the Jet Hochwurzen gondola and about 15 minutes away from the Planai Gondola. You cannot ski down to the hotel. Also the worst part is that if you are skiing on the Planai side of the mountains then you have to take this Gondola down at the end of the day, and, disappointingly the last lift down is 4:30 pm. The alternative is to ski down to the Planai station and bus/walk back to the hotel. If you are skiing across to Hochwurzen and Reiteralm then access to this side of the mountain is gained by a chair at the Jet gondola. You can ski all the way down to the bottom of this chair.
The owner, Raimond, is a very pleasant man but speaks very little English consequently there is little interaction between him and the guests although I found this to apply to all nationalties and not just British.
The hotel has a bar but zero atmosphere in respect of Apres-ski. I never saw anyone use the bar. That said there is plenty of bars and restaurants in the centre of town.
The hotel has a desk top PC in one of it's tv rooms so you can use the internet free of charge (if you can get round the translation issues of using a well known browser in German)!
It also has a ski room with heated boot rack although there is insufficient room on it to take everyone's boots.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    21
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Just come back from Schladming, Staying at the Zum Kaiserweg. Great little hotel, good location, quiet, good food and drink, everything we needed. Would definitly return and strongly reccomend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We visited this hotel as a family of 4 (including 2 children aged 9 & 16) at February half term 2011. Booked as a package through a well-known UK tour operator on a half-board basis.

On arrival we thought the aluminium framed, frosted glass front door looked a more like a house than a hotel entrance, but we saw the small 'wilkommen' sign in the doorstep plant pot and in we went. It is a family-run hotel, and we were welcomed pleasantly by the owner. The staff in general were very good, very pleasant and efficient.

Our rooms were spacious, warm, pleasantly enough decorated, fairly simply furnished but with ample storage space. The beds were very comfortable and everywhere was impeccably clean. As mentioned in previous reviews, the showers were powerful and hot, and although I'm not sure putting dark red tiles throughout a small shower room without natural light would win any interior design awards, it didn't matter, it was almost part of the charm.

The food really was very good indeed. Breakfast was of a continental buffet type, with a variety of breads, spreads, jams, pate, cheeses and meats. There was also lovely soft boiled eggs, mueslis, fruit salad and yoghurt. The coffee was very good and the flasks of hot water to make tea (mentioned in a previous review) have been replaced by an electric urn, so no shortage. The orange juice wasn't great, but it didn't bother us.

Evening meal was a set 3 courses, with soup as a starter, a meat or fish dish with veg or rice as main, and a salad buffet on 4 nights (if I remember correctly). Dessert varied but was usually good. The food does come quite quickly, and if I was to make a suggestion it would be just to slow things down a bit and allow a slight break between courses, but that's a minor thing. I can honestly say that I happily ate everything which was presented to me and even our 9 year old (who is fussy at the best of times) enjoyed his food and ate well despite the lack of a childrens menu. We've stayed in places who try to do 4 or 5 courses and for us it's just too much. 3 courses of fairly simple but well executed wholesome fare suited us perfectly.

The bar in the hotel looked to have been fairly recently done out in typical new pine with a tiled floor and both it and the hotel in general were fairly quiet after dinner. The prices in the bar were very reasonable however and it was a nice enough place to have a drink or 2 before bedtime if you didn't fancy going out into Schladming. A bonus is the no smoking policy throughout the hotel, which for us is very welcome in a land which hasn't really embraced that concept yet!

There is a small and rather smelly ski room on the ground floor to store your gear at the end of each day, with a heated boot rack big enough to take about 10 pairs (not nearly enough for the number of guests sadly).

The hotel is in a brilliant location, less than 200 yards from the Golden Jet gondola up to Planai and the adjacent 2 man chair to Rohrmoos and Hochwurzen. These lifts are much quieter than the main Planai goldola from the centre of town, with never more than a 2 minute wait even though it was half-term week and the resort in general was pretty busy. There is an umbrella bar at the bottom by these lifts which was nice for an apres-ski drink or two!

The walk into central Schladming took no more than 10 minutes and although it doesn't seem like a party place, it has a nice pedestrianised main square/street, some fascinating buildings (the Rathaus and the churches particularly), and there are one or 2 nice cosy bars and restaurants to drop into if desired.

We were blessed with some excellent weather and snow conditions and had a brilliant week's skiing. There are 4 linked mountains and we probably liked Hauser Kaibling best of the lot. The pistes are generally wide, at the easy end of their grading and great for families and mixed ability groups. The lift systems are fast and efficient, with lots of recent investment, and the snow making facilities are extensive, helping overcome the relatively low altitude of the lower runs particularly. Food and drink on the mountain is much cheaper than in France and more varied. Not all mountain restaurants take credit or debit cards however, so you always need to carry enough cash.

The Zum Kaiserweg provides exceptional value for money for a family skiing holiday without compromising on any of the essentials. It is not luxurious and doesn't pretend to be, but for the price we paid there is nothing I could seriously fault. I would strongly recommend the hotel to anyone on that basis and we would definitely stay there again if we went back to Schladming.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Very convenient for the Hochwurzen ski lift (about a 3-minute stroll): a high capacity gondola lift and adjacent chair lift. The hotel has everything we needed for the holiday, and notwithstanding negative comments from a few years ago, we found the hotel, its owner and staff to be excellent, friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

In an excellent position, 2-3 mins walk to the lifts (to 2 different areas of the mountain) one way and about 8mins into town the other way. Ignore reports that you can, "ski to within 50 metres of the hotel". To get to the hotel from that point would involve crossing a fence, going through some trees, over a stream, another fence and then cutting your way through a hedge. You WILL come out at the lift station where you can get a print out of your day's skiing stats. Hotels nearer the Planai station reported much bigger queues early on.
It is a quiet hotel, never saw the bar open after 10.30pm, and that only once, but the staff are very friendly and the rooms nice enough. There is no lift, though.
No choice for the food but it was very good though not sure how veggies would get on.
For breakfast there was muesli, soft boiled eggs, cold meats, cheese, buns, rye bread etc.
The hotel has one internet screen(and possibly wifi with a code) which was usually switched on. Schladming generally not really geared up for the internet/wifi.
There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.
The coach can stop directly outside the hotel.
All in all, I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Kaiserwig for a week in Jan 2011. Hotel is spotless throughout, rooms are spacious enough and beds are really comfortable, in fact they were as comfortable as our bed at home. Our bathroom was a bit small but the shower was excellent. The only down side was the food, breakfast was continental, rolls, cheese ham etc which you do expect but flasks of water for tea/coffee were lukewarm each day and were not replenished quickly enough. One day I waited 20 mins to get a second cup of tea, having asked the waitress three times for more hot water. Dinner was a 3 course meal of typical austrian food. There was no choice, you just got what was put in front of you, school dinner style. The menu was put up on a notice board outside restaurant each evening, usually about 4.00pm, in German, which we had fun translating each night! Hotel bar area was small but big enough for the number of people in the hotel, we were slightly confused about the closing time, seemed to close early if there wasn't too many people about. We went out a couple of nights and came back for a nightcap at 10.00 and 10.20 and the bar was closed whilst 2 of the other nights it stayed open til nearly midnight when there were some local people in it. Location was excellent, 150 metres from the Golden Jet gondola. Don't think we'd go back on a half board basis but would do B&B.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

This was our third trip to Schladming and we booked the Zum Kaiserweg because its so close to the Hochwurzen chair . We'll definately stay there again.

Getting children to Tritscher ski-school takes less than 10 minutes from the hotel door and you can ski back in the afternoon down either a blue or red - perfect for tired kids. Also, if you've been off on Planai you can get the gondola staright down to within a couple of minute's walk, It's also great for buying lift passes, ski maintenanc etc. as there's a well equipped shop right by the lift.
We've also stayed at the Royer and, to be honest, it may have more space and facilities but it isn't a "better" hotel. The Kaiserweg is great if you want a clean base with comfortable beds and hot showers. Some of the food is a bit hit & miss but that's more of a cultural thing - it can be very Austrian!

The staff were perfectly friendly and the whole place was really clean. It won't win any awards for decor but so what?

If you're looking for a party hotel, I doubt this is the place for you. However, we had a great time and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it if you're more concerned about skiing

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zum Kaiserweg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Kaiserweg

Address: Schiliftgasse 493, Schladming 8970, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Schladming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zum Kaiserweg 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zum Kaiserweg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Kaiserweg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zum Kaiserweg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.