We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming appartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferienalm Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Ferienalm Aparthotel to your Saves list
Ferienalm Aparthotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferienalm Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sonnenhangstr 163, Schladming 8970, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Schladming
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming appartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Apartments in Aparthotel Ferienalm were great. 6 of us stayed in the upper ones with two bedrooms for two and another 2 beds in the living room beside the kitchen. There were two bathrooms and one extra toilet and the interior was neatly furnished. The view from the balcony is wonderful, as the appartments are overlooking the ski slopes. We didn't try the food at the restaurant as we cooked our own meals. The staff is nice and helpful. The only drawback is the ski bus which has its stop just a 100m away but does not run very frequently. But if you don't mind driving 1km to the slopes with your own car (twhere you get free parking), there is nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

fantastic resort. the hotel is a short bus ride from the slopes but the staff there were fantastic.
I was the only english person there and i had a ball. Had fantastoc chats with staff and loved the town. The skiing is fantastic and i will certanly go again.

Room Tip: Facing the Town has great views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Good place. We have been also in apartments for 4 and 6 persons. The 6 persons apartment is ideal actually for 4 people. The view is beautiful, you can check the weather and ski-route conditions of the Planai from the balcony. You can order for breakfast fresh 'brodchen' or also pay for half-board meal. The ski-route is not in walking distance better to go by car, but the centre is around 10 min walking distances.
I can recommend these aparthotel, ideal for a 1 week ski-holiday. There are a more than 100 km ski route system of Schladming-Dachstein ski-region with great infrastructure.

Room Tip: 6 person apartment for 4 people is the most convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Very comfortable room and food was what I would expect in Austria, i.e. not wonderful, but good enough. Breakfast buffet provided more than enough and the evening salad buffet was excellent. Staff were extremely helpful. After dinner it would have been good to relax and converse with others in a comfortable location but the bar and lobby area did not provide this. Either too smoky or too "dead". Also the last ski bus back to the hotel stopped just after 5 pm. We found that to be too early so walked uphill back to the hotel. Fortunately, the ski depot at the Planai lift provides excellent ski and boot lockers.
The distance into Schladming stopped us from walking there for an evening out.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Stayed here in a single room for a weeks ski trip through large T/O , a friend was in another single room.
Rooms - Spotless and well equiped,cleaned well each day and very large for solo traveller also available straight away at 11am which was great as I started travelling at 2.30am.
Service - No complaints,friendly in bar,restaurant,reception and room.
Food - The only let down..Breakfast fine but dinner was very repatative - Pork 6 out of 7 nights and sometimes it was Pork,Pork or Vegetarian.We went for a serious ski trip and normally don't mind , but this was not great even for us.
Overall I'd rate the hotel 2-3 / 5 because its nice to look forward to a good dinner in the evening and we felt we didn't get it. We are however returning to Schladming in a few weeks but staying at a small town centre place where we had a few nights out - a real locals haunt with a good rep for food.

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have just returned from a week skiing in Schladming and stayed on a half board basis at The Ferienalm Hotel. Breakfast was not bad, but I can only discribe the main courses served to us at dinner as second rate canteen food. The desserts were truely dreadful , cheap and nasty and certainly not home made. Having read reviews of this hotel before booking, I can only assume that the previous cook was on holiday! The bar area was a bit of a joke and most nights we had to ask for the lights to be turned on. The ground floor and first floor stank of cigarette smoke.
However our room was of good size and was very clean and for the most part the staff were friendly. Such a shame about the food.
The hotel was a bit of a hike from the town, but we knew this and the ski bus was very good.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

We (2 adults and one 6 year old child) stayed in the Ferienalm in February 2010 for 8 nights. The hotel is a good quality 3 star hotel, with nice rooms, clean and relatively recently renovated (unless you take the single room apartments on the fist floor, which have not been renovated yet and which I suggest you avoid). Excellent view from most rooms, directly overlooking slopes (not good from those few which dont).

The staff in the hotel are very very friendly and helpful (Goran and Andreas were fantastic). I stayed in many hotels and the attention here is first class.

In terms of child friendliness Hotel was good, we didnt have any issues.

I red a lot in the earlier reviews about the excelent food. I was less impressed (maybe inflated expectations) but it was good quality with reasonable options, but not something to get excited about. Kitchen staff were very helpful and accomodating too. if you want good restaurants ask reception ("winter garden" was OK, Mexican restaurant in the village was OK too).

In terms of value, I think hotel was excellent

In terms of location not very good I think (c. 1km to both, closest ski lifts). Busses work regularly (every half hour) and taxis costs euro 10 -15 per trip, walking with equipment even down to lifts not recommded. But if you have a car (and almost everyone there had one) then its all very very good. Car parking at ski lifts is easy and plentiful and free. We found you need a car there in any case if you want to go to other attractions of the resort.

In terms of the resort itself Schladming has a very extensive intermidiate ski infrastructure, with many long slopes and good ski lifts (I uderstand one of the best in Austria). The resort overall is reasonably cheap too. However, I found Schladming itself not very atmospheric (on an important regional road, rathery busy, not very beautiful). The village above Schladming, Rohrmus I think is much better but is further from big slopes.

Go to Dachstain, its a very impressive trip and an interesting skiing experience. For sure go to sledge (7km long). Ask reception for direction. Take a horse ride, its good too.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ferienalm Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienalm Aparthotel

Address: Sonnenhangstr 163, Schladming 8970, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Schladming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferienalm Aparthotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Ferienalm Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienalm Aparthotel Schladming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferienalm Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.