We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relax after skiing day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonnschupfer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonnschupfer to your Saves list
Hotel Sonnschupfer
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Klaus 48, Schladming 8970, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Schladming
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect relax after skiing day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is refurbished and rooms are very comfortable. People here mentioned the light from the street or valley - our room was with blackout curtains, so we could sleep very well. Breakfast is perfect to start your skiing day, evening meals are delicious (bravo, cheff)! Wellness area is spacious and we relaxed there every day after skiing.
We used the local skibus (we use car every day at home and this is perfect occasion for us to relax from driving :-))
The area is very calm, out of town - that is what we prefer. If you expect night life with bars and going shopping, be prepared to drive to Schladming (5 minutes by car).
The staff was always smiling and helpful - I mean the young black hair lady and the blond hair guy in reception. The only point to be improved was the service from the lady (middle aged) that served once at breakfast - no "good morning", just barking "coffee?", cleaning tables (taking and bringing candles on our table and being noisy running in and out..) she spoiled our breakfast and we were lucky it was only one day :-)))
To summarize - we enjoyed our stay so much that we wish to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ok, so this was the 3rd time i was staying in this hotel, and the second time since it has been renovated. The rooms, and the hotel is flawless as it is, the food is to die for, the staff is very friendly. So this is the perfect hotel for a ski holiday, (and I've stayed in quite a few hotels, I can tell you that). I can also tell you that this is the most expensive hotel i've ever stayed in, you can score four star hotels cheaper in New York City or Hong Kong (to be fair those rates did not include any food). But than again, top notch ski resorts seldom favor the bargain hunter. So after all this is actually good value compared to what else is out there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praha
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel in the end of this year. Very nice new furnished hotel. Rooms and the whole hotel is very clean. Nice view from the restaurant, excellent food and very pleasant staff. Cca 10 min. to centre of Schladming or to Planai Station by car. It is also possible to take the bus - bus station is in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed 4 nights on half board in September and really liked the modern, clean, very well designed rooms. Lovely setting outside Schladming on hillside with great views (need a car). Staff very helpful and provided a relaxed atmosphere. Dinners were wholesome and good standard breakfasts. Superb value for money and would love to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I stayed in this cozy hotel in January 2012 for a ski holiday and was very impressed by the value it offers. The facilities are completely refurbished and hence brand new, there was a big flat tv in every room and the rooms were quite ample and with a neat and stylish design. The staff was very nice and the dinner lovely. All in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Brand new hotel. Management was extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent wellness area. Room was spacious and well heated while it was minus 17 degrees outside. Heated ski room. Free parking. Breakfast was OK. Tasty dinner.
May be hard to access for travelers without a car

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sonnschupfer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnschupfer

Address: Obere Klaus 48, Schladming 8970, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Schladming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sonnschupfer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and central, family atmosphere and personal. Your Hotel Sonnschupfer in Schladming will spoil you with all the comforts you desire during your holiday in Austria.In our completely refurbished hotel Styrian charm blends with modern convenience. The welcoming atmosphere also adds to your well-being.Comfortable rooms ensure your well-being during your holiday in Schladming, Austria. Click your way through our wide range of package offers and take a look at our attractive rates.Your hosts, the Gerhardter family, have arranged the hotel so that it is suitable in part for the disabled. Thus not only families with prams feel at home and welcome at the modern Hotel Sonnschupfer in Schladming but also older guests, disabled guests and those using a wheelchair.Get to know the most beautiful part of the Schladming-Dachstein holiday region in Austria and spend your summer holiday or winter holiday in Styria.Relax in the wellness area and indulge in culinary delicacies in the cosy restaurant.Our sommelier, Reinhard Gerhardter, will ensure perfect harmony between the best Austrian and international wines and the dishes chosen by you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sonnschupfer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonnschupfer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.