We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“agatha christie's hideaway .... value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Waldgasthof Buchenhain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Waldgasthof Buchenhain to your Saves list
Hotel Waldgasthof Buchenhain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Klettergarten 7, 82065 Baierbrunn, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baierbrunn
Moorea, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“agatha christie's hideaway .... value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

this is where perfect strangers congregate in the adobe bavarian eating hall, the lonely location and escheresque setting made for mystery and murder.

my 200 lb tongan wife did not fit into the bathroom and the rickety bedframe had to be shored up with phone booksbut the kifs and i enjoyed the ghostly woods along the nearby railway tracks even if one of them did disappear.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014 via mobile


Although the receptionist was friendly and greeted us with a beaming smile, i was not overly impressed with this hotel.

The room we were shown was freezing on arrival and there was seemingly no way to turn on the heating. I asked reception for help and two burly men arrived, stinking of smoke, shortly thereafter in the room, and proceeded to dismantle the radiator cover and turn it on. Perhaps a little forethought could be possible before your guests arrive? Second issue was the wifi. I could not even get a signal in the room and ended up walking around the hotel holding my ipad aloft to pick it up. Once found, we entered the code to find only one person can apparantely use it at the same time, which is annoying. Either this or the lost signal was normal and the reception was naturally bad everywhere. In any case, it took me ten minutes after arriving before i was mentally composing my trip advisor review. On asking, the receptionist provided me with a second wifi login, which i would have thought would be an obvious addition, but that one didnt work either so i spent my stay here mostly without connection. The hotel is also absolutely infested with china dolls in weird period costumes, peering at you from everywhere, which was a bit disconcerting to be honest. Theres also a bizarre bald baby doll in a full size pram in the corridor which i thought was also a strange addition to the hotel. All added together, this wasnt the best stay but - i am assured by my researcher - this was one of the better hotels in the area. In conclusion, ok for one nights stay and then move on, but dont come at all if you are afraid of freaky dolls or want access to an email account.



Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed here during Oktoberfest and were treated like old friends. Lovely wooden trim and tile floors, our rooms faced the front yet were mostly quiet and private. The bathrooms are a little on the small side and you need to log on to the Wifi every time you use it. There is a convivial beer garden for the good weather, and the restaurant is outstanding with English menus available and help with traditional Bavarian selections. The food and service were excellent at every hour that we visited. The breakfast is a wonderful buffet selection, also of some traditional selections. Most convenient for the Oktoberfest is the Buchenhain station just in front of the hotel; trying to drive in to the Oktoberfest would be truly foolish! In all, this is a terrific altenative to the vastly overpriced hotels in Munich, and Rena and Stefan run a lovely establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the rear of the hotel would avoid the train noise and the late night Oktoberfest revele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Title says it all really. A lovely traditional hotel which is made mostly of wood. That ensures sound echoes and floors squeak however after 11 and before 7 a.m it's pretty quiet. The staff let you get on with it and are helpful if need be. Has a great restaurant and menus are in German. We needed our translator on our I Phone to order. Food was lovely and what we expected. Breakfast is great too. Also has a bar at the end of the building which has Sky sports. It's not noisy and closes by 10 or when the football has finished. Only downside are the flimsy curtains. A bit of an Austrian/German theme this holiday. Light gets in but it's not too bad. Situated outside of Munuch the train stops about 3 min walk from hotel and if you get a partner card or MXXX card up to 5 persons travel for 14 euros all day on trains, buses and underground. Good value. Takes 20 mins to get to Marinplatz. Also great base for sight seeing. Great hotel and good location.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great hotel if you come to Munchen by car, Munchen Central Station is about 25 min way by train. Quite silent (except trains, passing through, but they are not very often) and cozy, good breakfast. Bathroom could be more comfortable and there was a problem with internet. You have to login in every time when you open your computer and speed is very low in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

With its Bavarian style this hotel is quite different from any other hotels I have visited. I liked it! Everything is clean and nice. Staff was very helpful. Upon arrival, the receptionist immediately ordered a dinner for me in the restaurant since it was about to close for the evening. The free breakfast buffet was excellent. With a few minutes walk from the s-bahn, travel to/from Munich is very easy. Wi-fi signal was low and unstable in my hotel room. Creaky wooden floor might annoy some, but not me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is very traditionally Bavarian both outside and inside which I thought was great and made a real change from the rather bland, modern chain hotels which I usually use. It is located just south of Munich, about a hours drive from Munich airport and it very handily situated for accessing southern Bavaria.

The bedroom was traditionally styled but everything was in good order and the room was immaculately clean. The bed was very comfortable and there was also a large sofa in the room which was nice. The bathroom was compact but clean and had a good shower.

The television only had German channels (although one did turn into CNN in the evenings) but WiFi was free and a decent speed.

The hotel provides a complimentary buffet breakfast which has a very extensive choice of juices, fruit, yoghurt, meats, cheeses and breads as well as a small hot selection. The quality was excellent. I ate in the restaurant on both evenings I stayed here and the food was really first class. The menu changes daily and it is traditional Bavarian cuisine but all cooked to the highest standard and very reasonably priced.

The staff were all very pleasant and extremely helpful and I would certainly stay here again if I am ever in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Waldgasthof Buchenhain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldgasthof Buchenhain

Address: Am Klettergarten 7, 82065 Baierbrunn, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Baierbrunn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baierbrunn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldgasthof Buchenhain 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldgasthof Buchenhain is a Hotel with restaurant and Beer garden in Baierbrunn, south of Munich.In a tranquil location on the Isar river, with direct train links into the city, this hotel is the perfect Munich accommodation for a varied yet relaxing short break to Bavaria, for single travellers, couples and families alike.This hotel in South Munich has 41 rooms and an apartment, all decorated in traditional Bavarian style.All rooms are ensuite and equipped with telephone, flat screen TV and free WIFI connection; some also have bathtubs or balconies.In the very cosy atmosphere of this South Munich restaurant, guests are spoiled with an extensive breakfast buffet and by a Gourmet kitchen from 11.30am onwards. Bavarian traditional dishes can be found on the menu as well as extraordinary culinary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Waldgasthof Buchenhain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Waldgasthof Buchenhain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.