We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Imbarcadero

Trattoria Imbarcadero
Via Lungolago 12, Stresa, Isola Pescatori, Italy
032330329
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $33 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located next to the boat stop, in a very relaxing environment. We had superb lake fish at reasonable prices. Looking forward to visiting again this beautiful tiny island and having another great lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    92
    25
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Blissful and good value - divine outdoor location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

On a fine sunny day there is no more a delightful place to eat than the terrace over the lake at the Imbarcadero. Make sure you book as the terrace is full the moment the sun comes out. The restaurant has its own pier for boats. In fact, the family from Stresa that run it, are related to the lake's boat men- both those who fish and run the taxi boats - so if you cal to book, transport to the island can come as part of the bargain. It is one of these places where everything is just so comfortable and friendly. No, this place will never be great in the Michelin star sense, but for local perch and lake fish, poached in butter, marinated or lightly battered, i.e. just simple local food at a good price with a family and family friendly service, the location and the atmosphere as a whole is hard to beat - even when the place and rest of the island is crowded.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“An excellent fish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our hotel owner had recommended this place as the best on Isola Pescatori, and he was right that it was wonderful. We had the selection of four fried lake fishes, and it was difficult to pick which one I liked best. Everything was very fresh and reasonably priced. I don't normally care for fried fish, but this was so lightly fried that you could barely tell--just enough to seal in the juices. The ground floor eating area juts out onto the water and looks like a great place to sit, but it was quite full when we arrived. Instead we went upstairs to a balcony (not enclosed) that turned out to have an even better view, and gave us much more room. The wine we chose was also delicious and reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Seafood in a Great Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A great place for lunch, directly next to the stop for the ferry boat. The island is known for its seafood restaurants, and this one is quite fine. All four of us had the mixed lake fish (four different kinds), and each one was fantastic. Add this to a very good, but inexpensive bottle of wine, and it was a lunch to die for.

When we first got there, the obvious seats out by the water were full. They asked if we would sit inside, and since we were hungry, we agreed. Then they led us to a great open air table on a balcony that probably had a better view of the water that those outside. So, if you go, don't be afraid of sitting inside.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Splendid setting and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We ate on the balcony because the ground level terrace was full. This turned out to be a good idea- same good service, great views and... quieter. We ate pan fried lake fish which was great. Worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Imbarcadero also viewed

Isola Pescatori, Stresa
Isola Pescatori, Stresa
 
Isola Pescatori, Stresa
Isola Pescatori, Stresa
 

Been to Trattoria Imbarcadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Imbarcadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.