We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casabella

Casabella
Via del Marinaio 1, Stresa, Isola Pescatori, Italy
+39032333471
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Appalling!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband took me to this 'supposedly' fine Italian restaurant which was strongly recommended by our hotel in Stresa as being flexible and accommodating to vegetarians on my 40th birthday 2 weeks back. View was Magnificent but the staff were extremely rude and uninterested in making any pastas without meat or fish. So we just had to order a boring napolitana sauce.
Worse yet, my toddlers food didn't arrive until after our main course arrived even though we had pre-ordered his food before ours. Then they even managed to make the wrong pasta and we had to send it back. No apologies even from the staff for gettng t wrong and making my toddler wait 50 minutes for his very average meal. The worst restaurant I've ever been to. Definitely not recommended especially if you are celebrating a special occasion. We even took our cake back to the hotel as we didn't want to be there any longer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    77
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice local food, stunning view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Ristorante Casabella a few evenings ago. They picked us up in stresa with a small boat and drove us there, where a charming waitress was already waiting for us. After a short stroll around this nice and very small island, we sat on the terrace for our dinner.
The view is stunning: the Lake Maggiore has a great coastline, small secluted villas a few boats crossing over and the sunset, bringing an even more magic atmosphere to the terrace. We were greeted with a glass of fresh Prosecco, then, although the waitress suggested to take a selection of antipasti for the whole table, we prefered to chose from the attrractive menu a few local dishes, like the Battuta di carne (like a beef tartare, but with larger pieces), the fresh Gnocchi di patate e erbette (gnocchi with potatoes and local herbs) and so on. We had a very nice Rosso di Montalcino and the whole meal went on smoothly and pleasantly. The only hiccup: the Tagliata di Carne was quite chewy...a pity
Good but not exceptional desserts completed a meal and the best surprise was the bill: less than 50€/person, wines and transport back and forth by boat included. An address to keep in your agenda!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We found the restaurant charged significantly more than other places we ate on the island but the food and the service did not justify that premium. Despite having booked a window table, we were sat in a corner and were left a long time waiting for service. We were left with the distinct impression that there were others dining there that evening that the staff deemed to be more important than us. The food was fine but nothing special. All in all it was the worst dining experience of our three nights on the island and we would not return. There are other places with much better service and value.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Long Lunch Personified”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Arriving by boat to a lunch booking, with not a cloud in the sky, you know it's going to be a good day. Waitress was great; local, knowledgable, and fun, food and service was without fault. complimentary Pressco on arrival, Limoncello to finish. 3hrs later and the perfect long lunch is complete. Table left front on the terrace is worth requesting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great view, charming ristorante, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It is always fun traveling on a boat to go to dinner. We have eaten at Casa Bella 3 times in the past 3 years. Not much has changed. We had very good service, and good food. The risotto nero di seppia (risotto with squid ink) was excellent. Also, the filet of beef was very good. The kids all had pasta and there wasn't any left! Didn't indulge in any desserts. Make sure to call and make a reservation and you can also get a ride over/back on their private launch at no charge.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casabella also viewed

Isola Pescatori, Stresa
Isola Pescatori, Stresa
 
Isola Pescatori, Stresa
Isola Pescatori, Stresa
 

Been to Casabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.