We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown at High Newton

Save Saved
You added The Crown at High Newton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown at High Newton
Newton-in-Cartmel, High Newton LA11 6JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 High Newton B&B and Inns
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just had a two night break at The Crown, room very good and very clean. Evening meals were excellent. Staff, friendly and helpful. A good base for the South Lakes, definitely worth a visit.
10 out of 10.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    33
    19
    10
    11
See reviews for
19
105
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Everything from the food, the beer to the friendliness of the staff made our stay perfect. We would definitely stay again. The location is just right for a quiet break away. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 5 is small so perhaps only for a couple of nights. Having said that it was a very clean and cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel, and I think it's better for them to close this hotel as they seem they don't know anything about hospitality!!!! for this, there is no wonder that the owner (not sure whoever in charge) was an unbelievably rude and aggressive person...
Apart from the behavior, the room was not clean either, it needed a proper dusting, even the glasses provided in the room for tea and coffee were terribly dirty, was disgusting to have a cup of tea.
I wouldn't stay in this place even if they offer it to me for free, so don't waste your time and money as you can find many nice, clean, beautiful places nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great base for exploring the South Lakes. Stayed for two nights and no complaints - clean and comfortable room, good breakfast and evening meal. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend to others wanting a quiet break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were in a party of two couples and we went to stay at the Crown Inn on a Groupon type of arrangement. The place itself was ok, but beware of beds with evil sticking out legs, suggest take shin pads or cricket pads! Manager was unfriendly, unwelcoming and rude. The meal included on the first night was good, but the breakfast was poor - like other people have written only one small slice of toast served with the meal. No marmalade offered and the coffee pot was removed from our table before we could take a second small cup.

The other staff were quite nice, but our stay was ruined by the attitude of the Manager and we would definitely not return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Booked this place with two other couples with Groupon vouchers 6th of June until the 8th of June. We arrived at 9:30pm. On lovely sunny day we were dreaming of much needed holiday but unfortunately that was't the case. The lady said "We don't serve at the bar after 11 pm but you might hang out till 2 am".
We were check-in in room. One of the first questions was whether we would like to cancel the booking and get refunded, not very welcoming. An hour after check-in we left the place to visit a friend in town.
Coming back to the The Crown at 1:15 am real story started. There was no person in the reception and they don't give you main door keys, the main door was closed after several tries of door bell and phone calls we succeeded to talk to the owner gentleman. He is not definitely the politest person in Lake District. We were really shocked by his attitude. He kept six of us outside the door and started to interrogation. I had two copies of my Groupon and we gave four copies to the lady at the check-in. Now this gentleman was not sure we are actually SIX!!! funny but true. Then he argued that we are late and he can't let us in. After long argument in the middle of the night we were allowed in. I tried to very gently talk to him the next morning but no luck. He asked us to check out and we undoubtedly accepted.
Our holiday were close to be converted to a complete disaster but thanks to lovely small B&B with a lovely owner it didn't. You might not be as lucky as us, so think again before booking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Just got home from a fab break at the Crown Inn. Great accommodation, outstanding food and hospitality second to none. All staff really friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this place for peaceful stay in the Lakes. 10/10

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crown at High Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at High Newton

Address: Newton-in-Cartmel, High Newton LA11 6JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > High Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in High Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Crown at High Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown at High Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.