We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing rooms, average food, stuck in the middle of nowhere and very unhappy about the way we were treated by the proprietor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown at High Newton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Crown at High Newton to your Saves list
The Crown at High Newton
High Newton LA11 6JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 High Newton B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Freezing rooms, average food, stuck in the middle of nowhere and very unhappy about the way we were treated by the proprietor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the crown. We had to hunt down the proprietor as no one was about to welcome us on our arrival. We were shown our room which was nicely decorated, clean and tidy but absolutely freezing! The pub itself was closed and whilst as guests we were granted the use of the bar and served drinks there was of course no atmosphere. There's nothing else around there so it was disappointing. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the main but thought the starter was poor. We actually retired to bed at 9.30. In the morning the heating came on when it was time for breakfast (a one hour slot). you wouldnt want a shower before breakfast as the temperature was icy cold! we sat down for breakfast and had a 10 minute wait before anyone appeared. We were then insulted by the proprietor and so decided to leave a day early. I was disgusted still to be charged a surcharge but seeing as it was our choice to leave legally we had little option but to pay it. Needless to say we will not be returning. Our weekend break was ruined by the attitude of the proprietor. To be honest even without that we wouldn't have returned, in our view it was very much over rated

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    40
    20
    10
    15
See reviews for
21
118
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Arrived at 3 pm and was immediately offered drinks by Lesley and Crawford who were very friendly hosts,we were also introduced to the very laid back Brogan ( their ridge back puppy).It felt very strange having the whole pub to ourselves but were assured this was the quiet before the storm being the week before Christmas.The pub/hotel is very quaint and yes the heating wasn't brilliant in the bedrooms but they were extremely comfortable. The best towels we have ever had(they even fitted round my husband!!!)Fabulous flat screen TV, The duvet was like having a big hug. A really good hairdryer was provided along with a mirror. The food was very good. Not sure if we would have paid the £260 for the two night stay but thought it was well worth the Groupon price of £149. This was our wedding anniversary treat. Thank you to Lesley & Crawford for looking after us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Apologies, only just got round to posting!!
My girlfriend and I came up to stay for a mid-week break 23rd - 25th October for my Birthday. We were pleasantly surprised on entry to a warm reception and down to earth hosts. We were shown to our room which was fantastic and immaculately presented and clean. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and intended to go out for dinner on my Birthday, but seeing as we had such an excellent meal we decided to eat in the restaurant for the second night and weren't disappointed. The pub has a lovely friendly feel to it with warm open fires, we also joined in on the pub quiz but we came last (I blame the Whisky). I would have no hesitation in staying here again and can only thank you for such a great visit.

We will be back to visit soon and see Brogan (the puppy)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had 2 night break here with family. The hosts were very nice and welcoming and the pub and rooms had a lovely homely feel about them. The rooms, although small were fine for a short break, although no hanging space at all, which may get a bit tricky if staying for more than a couple of nights. There were tea and coffee facilities in the room and flat screen tv.
Our only disappointment was the food, which after reading the reviews on here we expected to be exceptional, we were disappointed, although we did order different dishes, so whether this was the reason I don't know. Breakfast was ok, but again just a little disappointing.
The lakes aquarium which we visited is a very short drive from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The couple that run the Crown are real characters, they really take hospitality seriously. All the staff are friendy and fun. The food was excellant as was the beer. the rooms are warm, contemporary and comfortable. The crown is in a quite little village and we seemed to be at Windermere, Coniston and Grange over Sands in a matter of 15 mins or so. Not sure that if you wanted to holiday without using a car this would be possible, but maybe so. The parking is on the road around the pub, but this was not a problem. There are regular pub quiz night and open mic, these are enjoyed by guests and locals alike, if not your cup of tea an early night and you will not be aware of them. What a gem.

Room Tip: If not joining in the evening activities may be a good idea to be away from the bar area. All the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a superb stay! We purchased a groupon voucher, had not been for the voucher, we would not found the place! Lovely part of the country. The Crown ticks all the boxes! Lovely rooms, lovely food, and lovely staff especially Amy! We will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Myself and my partner came here to get away from the city life and afew days break from work.
As soon as we enterd the hotel both Lesley and Crawford and staff made us both feel welcome. The rooms were modern , warm and welcoming and the food was 10/10. without a doubt both of us will be coming back. Thanks again . Vicky and Rick

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 2 just right enough for us both however next time we will go for room 1 as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown at High Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at High Newton

Address: High Newton LA11 6JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > High Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in High Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown at High Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown at High Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.