We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year at the Cedars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cedars Inn to your Saves list
Cedars Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Bickington Rd, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Sticklepath B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“New Year at the Cedars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have held back on writing a review on this hotel because it is very much a Jekyll & Hyde establishment! We spent 2 nights there over New Year's Eve and were with friends who were on their third visit at the same time of year. The rooms are pretty horrible, in two storey blocks close to the main building and in need of an update. We were on the ground floor in a room that smelt distinctly of damp, whilst our friends were in the room directly above. The rooms are large and the beds comfortable but you really can hear everything sound from the room above you.
However, the bar and dining room (a large conservatory) were very nice. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very good value for money - lovely breakfasts! We booked a table for the New Year's Eve "Do". We were certainly packed into the room and the food was very average but the DJ was great! All in all, a very enjoyable, good value, fun stay - shame about the rooms and I really do think that more could be made of the grounds. Lynne & Chris, Cheltenham

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedars. I am sorry you did not like the rooms. I am pleased to see you enjoyed the fantastic friendly service and quality of food served over the new year period. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    117
    71
    47
    27
See reviews for
54
168
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

warm clean rooms. staff helpful and friendly.will definately go back.food was lovely and there was a deal of two for ten pounds.as i was stood waiting for toast three members of staff stopped to ask if everything was ok.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I am pleased to see my team gave good service. My team are always pleased to assist. Kind regards, Peter Elder General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is no 5 star hotel but gives such fantastic value for a one night stay. The bedrooms are in a block of rooms a slight walk away from the main building and you can get wet walking through for food etc. However, the bedrooms are fine with big beds and excellent bed linen. Breakfasts are okay. Bed and breakfast at £20 each is such excellent value. Will certainly use again when visiting Barnstaple.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
It is good to see you enjoyed your stay at the Cedars and I would like to thank you for giving us your review. Peter Elder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Such friendly staff, all were really friendly and extremely helpful. Great value for money, the food was filling and delicious- just what we needed after a day of surfing in the cold January sea! Room was comfy and clean. Will stay again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review following your stay with us at Cedars and we all look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Peter Elder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Firstly don't be fooled by the picture. The accommodation is not in the main building but in single storey outbuildings. These are adequate, warm enough and clean. Meals were very average but my main criticism was that on the second morning we stayed the service at breakfast was farcical. there were not enough staff to keep up with demand and many food items ran out or were not available. I wanted a full English (only choice left) from the self service breakfast bar and there was only bacon and beans to choose from. A party of five ended up with one slice of toast between us and we only got that because the table next to us shared with us. We waited a long time for a coffee because staff were rushed off their feet. It seemed that everybody came down for breakfast at the same time but as this was at the end of the breakfast period it was surely obvious what was going to happen. No apologies just defensive excuses. When I complained on departure we should have been compensated at least. We didn't really get breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Cedars. Breakfast is served until 10am each day in the Restaurant and until 12 in the bar area. We do not ask guests to book at time slot for breakfast, as we do not want to dictate what time guests must eat. From time to time this does result all guests coming down at the sames time. I am shocked that you said you did not have a choice on breakfast items and left without a full breakfast. My team will always get additional items for our guests as demand disctates. I will take on board your comments and will ensure this does not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

A double room for £50 including breakfast was a steal for an overnight stay at the Cedars Inn. The receptionist who received us lovely, very friendly and timely too. The bed and pillows was extremely comfortable, room was warm and just perfect for us. We were impressed with the layout of the room too. There was a lovely writing desk, a surprisingly comfortable sofa and table with kettle, tea, hot chocolate, tea, coffee etc standing next to a wardrobe. The bathroom was clean and equipped with a shower but no bath which was rather disappointing as the Mrs was looking forward to a long bath which never materialised. The shower had an E-rating of 8, yes 8 it was a great shower with a wonderful water pressure. I loved it to bits. Now to the food. We were worried about the food before arrival as there had been some cruel reviews about it but we found nothing, absolutely nothing wrong with our food. Our food was tasty and cooked to perfection as we didn't even had to add salt to taste or pepper to spice. We were allocated a dedicated waitress who served us but we had others helping anytime we needed something or checking to see if we were okay. Though there were some minor errors, we could not fault both the food and the service we received. Breakfast was great too and we will gladly recommend Cedars Inn to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review about Cedars. I am pleased you enjoyed the food, service and your room. We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Peter Elder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury on Thames
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked a double room 3 nights in advance. The room rate of £45 inc breakfast was a really good deal as the 'standard' tariff was £80. The room was warm (a tad too warm, actually) & bed comfortable & the bathroom acceptable, although the mirror was cracked in one corner and the shelf under it was also cracked from side to side. We could faintly hear the next room's TV through the wall but it did not disturb us (we didn't have ours on). Most rooms are in separate blocks; fortunately, ours was closest & reached via a covered walkway, as it was raining heavily most of the time.
We had an evening meal & took advantage of the fixed price menu, which was very good; we shared a starter & had the same fish course, which was nice & tasty. The service for both dinner & breakfast was prompt, despite there being a large party of ladies having a 'girls night out' in the evening. The breakfast choice was wide & excellent value as it was included in the price. The waiter was friendly & chatty, but not intrusive.
At this price, we were very pleased - I would have been less impressed with £80!

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearest to the hotel in inclement weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I am please to see you enjoyed your stay with us at Cedars, I will pass on your comments to the team. I would like to thank you for pointing out the maintenance issue - I will have this resolved. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Inn

Address: Bickington Rd, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Sticklepath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sticklepath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedars Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cedars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Hotel Barnstaple

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.