We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love my local :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cedars Inn to your Saves list
Cedars Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Bickington Rd, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Sticklepath B&B and Inns
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I love my local :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We live just around the corner from The Cedars so I'm admittedly biased. However, as part of a it's hard to fault the pub and restaurant. Location is great and the garden in the summer is beautiful. Good range of drinks. You don't pay Wetherspoon prices but drinks are not crazy prices either. You can get a decent bottle of dry white for around a tenner.

We have eaten here probably 20/30 times in the last three years. On the whole the food is very reasonable priced (2 courses for £9.95 anyone?) and our meals have always been enjoyable. On the rare occasion we've had a problem, the staff have always been helpful and we have had issues dealt with politely and speedily with no fuss.

We have also attended 3 murder mystery nights now. We always go with a group of friends and have an awesome time. 20 quid for a three course meal and thoroughly great entertainment. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are glad that you enjoy The Cedars so much, and look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    117
    71
    47
    27
See reviews for
54
168
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at The Cedars for two nights on their £9.95 Bed and Breakfast deal. What a bargain. Nice warm room, comfy bed, good shower, good breakfast and excellent value-for-money £4.95 main course evening meal. There was even free gin and tonic - what's not to like? The staff were all helpful, friendly and cheerful. We have stayed at The Cedars before and will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Cedars again please keep your eye out for furure deals, or register with OLd English Inn and they will send them to you.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Room was very comfortable but did get too warm. Restaurant food is okay but could be better, food I had on first night was luke warm, did not send it back as could not be bothered with the hassle. Curry night was excellent. Breakfast, the beans with full English breakfast were awful don't know whose they were. Overalll, we both enjoyed our stay and will visit again with the right deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and have passed on your comments about your cold food and the baked beans to our kitchen manager so we can improve in the future,
we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went to the Cedars Inn predominantly for a Murder Mystery evening and decided to stay over to make it more of an event. Almost all the rooms are built round a courtyard at the back of the hotel. Ours was a ground floor room of a reasonable size, it was warm and well equipped. The heated towel rail was particularly welcome. We woke up to snow but found that the paths in and around the hotel had already been cleared. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of cooked course, We had eggs benedict which was excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Devon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have just had a nice two night stay which included eating in the inn both nights. Check in was easy and we made our way to the rooms which were in the "mews" nearby. Room was of good size and was lovely and warm when we arrived. There was also a radiator in the bathroom which was great and a must in these current conditions! Good sized tv and a great teatray available. We had a ground floor room and the only obviously disappointment was the creeky ceiling above as there is another room upstairs. We could here every step above and the floorboards need to be looked at as it is a problem that needs addressing especailly when the guests above go to the bathroom during the night.
We loved dining at breakfast and evening meals in the refurbished inn and staff were friendly and very informative. It was a really cosy atmosphere and the menu has plenty of choice at very reasonable choices. The haddock florentine was wonderful at £4.95! Chicken goujons and bbq dip for starters is a must too! Excellent choice at breakfast with creative dishes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Cedars we are aware of some noise between rooms and are making efforts to minimise this, we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had a meal here with some friends, the restaurant didnt appear to be very busy but the food took a long time to arrive. When it did arrive one meal in particular was cold when we asked for it to be heated the waitress responded as if she was doing us a huge favour. It took about another 15mins for this meal to be returned by which time the rest of the party had nearly finished. The staff seemed disinterested, very expensive for drinks. wouldnt dine here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit, we strive to make our food to the best possible standard and will learn from this. The prices are being compared to other venues at present and we will always make alterations where applicable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sticklepath hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had my daughters Wedding here several years ago and it was lovely,could not fault it,but the owners i believe have changed since then and after a recent meal there i did not think much of it,the staff were very nice but it looked like there might have been a party the night before (we went there for lunch)and perhaps the cleaner had not turned up that day-well it is xmas.I had salmon and prawn salad which said with new potatoes well i would say it was 75% lettuce a few tasteless prawns with a bit of smoked salmon perhaps a few chopped up potatoes not cheap either think that was about£8.99,the dessert was a little better-apple pie and custard but i do not think it was home made and the custard was not that nice.A lot of the group had chips with their meal which came in little silver buckets -looked nice until they took out the grease proof paper that lined them and found rust in the bottom -not so nice-even with the grease proof paper i wonder what health and safety would have made of that! Cedars is still a nice looking place and the other meals we had looked ok,but i would only rate it as average and would most likely not go there again as i like things a bit more with a home made touch instead of a fast food touch ,my partner rated it to Weatherspoons but i think Weatherspoons are much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience at The Cedars. I have passed on your comments about the salad to relevant departments and have spoken to cleaning so this is not repeated, I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Inn

Address: Bickington Rd, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Sticklepath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sticklepath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedars Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cedars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Hotel Barnstaple

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.