We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fantastic stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cedars Inn to your Saves list
Cedars Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Bickington Rd, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Sticklepath B&B and Inns
exeter
1 review
“Had a fantastic stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed 26th october 2012 for a wedding.
We arrived early int he moring with the bride and very kindly they had arranged a room to be cleaned and to be ready so us and the bride could get ready.The room was spotless. Couldnt fault the rooms at all.

All staff were brilliant all throughtout the day of the wedding and right through to the evening. and were very friendly helpful and good fun. Everyone had a fantastic day which was made special by the cedars inn.

The food they seved for the wedding breakfast was faultless. Was so tasty i wanted more! and the buffet they provided in the eveninghad a big selection to choose from.

After having a brilliant day/night a good English fry up was well needed. There was a good selection for breakfast, from muffins to fruit salad to a range of cooked breakfasts. a variety of fruit juices and tea/coffee was available.

The location of the inn is perfect. Not far from the beach and very close to town to do a bit of shopping.

I had a brillant weekend and i am going to book a weekend away for my partners birthday as we both had a fantatic time.

The ONLY thing i will bring up is that they closed the bar at 12 o'clock but i wouldn't say its a bad thing!!

Thank you very much to cedars for making the day a very special day

We will be returning from room 4!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Firstly I would like to offer our thanks for you taking the time to give your feedback about the recent visit you had to the Cedars, it pleases us that all the hard work our team put in delivers the excellent service we are always striving for. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    128
    76
    49
    28
See reviews for
57
185
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is rated 4 star, but I have stayed in better 2 star hotels. On arrival, reception was not sure if our room had been made up: "If it's not made up, just come back and tell us!" It was quite difficut to gain access to the room, since the corridor light was not working. On asking where the switch was, we were told that it was "automatic". Then the main light in the room was not working; it flashed constantly, and was so annoying that we had to switch it off, making the room quite dark. The maintenance man did come to fix the lights - just as we were leaving the following morning!
The bed was comfortable and it was quiet at night, but the floor of the room above creaked so, once its occupant got up (at 6.30), we could not sleep. The tiling in the bathroom had seen better days - I would have expected a higher standard in a 4 star hotel, and the bathroom door hit the toilet when you opened it!
There was a good selection for breakfast, and the cooked breakfasts and fruit juice were nice, but the coffee was awful - I think that it had been heated for so long that it had lost its taste. Also, the furniture in the restaurant was decidedly jaded - the chairs looked rather battered.
I'm not sure that I would return here, since I am sure that there are better hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room, with no-one above you to wake you up when they move around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Firstly please accept our sincere apologies with reference to your recent stay, we have taken action to resolve the issues you have raised and would also like to thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Found the hotel and the rooms very clean and tidy, great location, however the service did not match our expectations, nearly an hour waiting for our meal on the Thursday evening, and although the service was a bit better on the Friday, (for a wedding reception) the meal was cold,
Saturday breakfast nothing to write home about either, we heard a couple of tables comment on their meals as well.
Such a shame, come on guys !!! Pick it up !! you can have something very good there and with a bit of hard work you’ll have something and somewhere special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I booked a short break (Sunday - Thursday) with our two small dogs at the Cedars after our Ruby Wedding Celebrations, and I can quite honestly say that it was the most appalling hotel that we have ever had the misfortune to stay in... We had to pay in full up front as it was a last minute booking and they had no record of our payment... That was only the beginning...The room was dark and dingy and smelt of mould, although we were assured when booking that all the rooms were spacious and airy.The shower was full of mould and the rubber mat was black on the underside, not to mention the extractor fan switch which was half hanging off the wall. We were fine with not being able to take the dogs into the dining room, we travel everywhere with them and this is not a problem.....However we expected that, as residents, the hotel, which says it is "Dog Friendly", would reserve us a table in the bar each evening and morning for dinner and breakfast, which is what usually happens wherever we stay - no such luck, not at Cedars, we had to queue each evening because several of the tables in the bar were being used for meetings... why could they not hold these in the function rooms, unused in the week?? .... I could go on, suffice to say that we would not recommend it for a short break, with or without dogs!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Went here last Thursday evening and found that the food was rubbish and could tell that it had just been shoved into a microwave! My wife and I had the lasagne and the taste was VILE! Obviously microwaved and the presentation wasn't much better, it looked burnt and the top looked hard and was all just bland. Thankfully my waitress helped resolved the situation, she was smiley and friendly. She is a credit to the team, better than the other staff I saw loitering around looking grumpy and talking amongst themselves. I believe her name was Leanne? Or something as I heard her name being called.
I think you need to sort out the food and the service. Expected better from a place with so much potential.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent meal at the Cedars.
I am sorry that you experienced such poor service and food quality.
I can assure you that action is being taken to ensure that this does not reoccur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I have just got married at the Cedars Inn. The staff there did a fantastic job, and we would like to give a special thanks to Kevin and Eric who made the day so special. The day went like clockwork and all of our guests had great time. The service was excellent and the staff really looked after everyone, including our young nephew and nieces! The food was everything that we expected and the breakfast was brilliant with a good choice of different foods. I would definitely recommend The Cedars Inn to anyone who is thinking of getting married there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have just attended a beautiful wedding at The Cedars Inn. We all had a lovely day. The couple where so relaxed and happy, knowing that their every need had been catered for and even we as guests were made to feel special by the staff and all who looked after us. The meal, (especially the roast beef) and the surroundings were a treat and as we loved it so much we came back a few days later and had a meal in the restaurant and had the same attentiveness and curtsey shown to us. Well done The Cedars and all the staff, we are now committed regulars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Inn

Address: Bickington Rd, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Sticklepath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sticklepath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedars Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Hotel Barnstaple

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.