We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you pick a good day this place is priceless.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipapa Point

Waipapa Point
Waipapa Point road, Otara, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Otara
Attraction details
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you pick a good day this place is priceless.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Wind can be a bit of a battle and watch out for stroppy bull seals but we had a great day....even swam naked in the sea!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FARR DIS PLASE WAZ KRAP AZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

farr i waz just chillin wif my boiz afta we grabd a buket of kfc and dis seel thing just cums up and bites me aye i buzzed out so i asked him for a 1 outs but he just gaped it aye hahahahha buzzi az day

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Isolated piece of coastline with sealions. Check out the rocks on the beach for fossilised remains but leave them where they were found.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Waipapa point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wild natural and raw. Definitely back to rugged nature. Well worth a stroll and picnic if you like rugged sea views

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Swept off my Feet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Swept off my feet - figuratively and literally!

The coastline of the Catlins is notoriously dangerous, and there have been many shipwrecks in the region. The most notable of these, and also one of New Zealand's worst shipping disasters, was the wreck of the passenger steamer Tararua, en route from Port Chalmers to Melbourne via Bluff, which foundered off Waipapa Point on 29 April 1881 with the loss of all but 20 of the 151 people aboard. A lighthouse was built on the point in response to the tragedy.

We were expecting to see a tired looking lighthouse and couldn't-have-been-more-boring museum displays of its shipwreck history. Instead, we stumbled on a colony (yes, not one, not two, but a whole colony) of sea lions. Dangerous looking creatures that occasionally "fought" off a competitor. Keep your distance!!!

The winds were howling and we couldn't walk in a straight line. It was an experience of a lifetime being literally blown off your feet.

A very intriguing experience. Try it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waipapa Point also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Southland Region, South Island
 

Been to Waipapa Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipapa Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.