We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camden Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Camden Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camden Arms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 High Street, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4PH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Pembury
Rainford, Merseyside, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In my experience pub accommodation can often be a bit shabby and second rate. Not this place though - the owners have obviously spent quite a bit of money in creating hotel-standard accommodation (in fact better than many hotels I've stayed in). Comfortable bed, well-equipped and well-furnished room and a great bathroom with large walk in shower. All very clean, very new and well looked after. Great cooked breakfast too. Full marks to the staff as well - friendly, efficient and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    40
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
64
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking for a hotel near Tunbridge Wells. All the hotels we looked at were quite expensive. We happened on The Camden Arms which was much more reasonably priced and included a full breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in. from the front it looked like a pleasant pub. the hotel rooms appeared to be a recently added extension. We had a very nice room overlooking the garden. The room was not large but was very well decorated with good quality furniture. The bed was king size and very comfortable. Everything was spotless and everything worked well.They had thought of everything including an ironing board and trouser press also an electric fan. The TV was a large one and free WiFi was available in the room. The bathroom was a good size with a lovely large shower cubicle.It had good quality shampoo and body gel in dispensers. The shower was good but not a power shower. The room was very quiet- we were able to sleep with windows open.
The pub was very cosy and there people were eating food that looked very good. We had breakfast the next morning. There was plenty of choice with the hot food being nice and hot. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. A real find

Room Tip: I would ask for a quiet room- I think most of the rooms face the rear and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed overnight as we were visiting old friends in the area, all the other B&B's were booked up due to a wedding. Well I am so glad they were! The Camden Arms is a great little hotel, we had a meal there in the evening with our friends and we were extremely well looked after. top marks.

Room Tip: There are a few stairs and no lift, but we saw a lovely disabled room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

It was a last minute booking for just one night to have a look at the area. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was excellent and the food was good. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast, and just wished we had booked for two nights instead. We will definitely stay here again when next in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night at the Camden arms hotel and we were so impressed. When we arrived we were personally shown to our room, which was clean and nicely decorated.
Our stay was due to attending a wedding nearby and we had booked a taxi. Unfortunately the taxi was going to be late so we went to the bar to get a drink and were telling the landlady our predicament, amazingly she called her husband over and he drove us to the wedding!
On our return to the hotel after the wedding we went to the bar and were welcomed by the bar staff who immediately involved us in the conversation with the locals- it was a lovely atmosphere.
We had a wonderful night's sleep and a yummy breakfast in the morning.
Everyone we encountered who worked at the hotel was friendly and helpful, we were really impressed and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was a last minute trip, found this hotel, an excellent find. Everything was just what we wanted, would definitely stay here again, nice to see a family run hotel doing that bit more than a large chain, thankyou

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Friendly welcome on arrival and very efficient check in.

My room was to the back so there was no traffic noise at all. The room itself was very nice with plenty of space. The bathroom was a good size, with what appeared to be a bottle opener on the doorframe!

Food was very good, with a reasonable selection of hand pulled ales. The self service breakfast was also good.

Overall, a nice village centre pub with comfortable rooms. Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Arms Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Pembury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden Arms Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the beautiful village of Pembury, near Royal Tunbridge wells in Kent. Each room has en-suite facilities, and is furnished with top quality bespoke furniture. A warm welcome at our family run hotel is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Camden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Arms
Camden Arms Hotel Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.