We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in September” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camden Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Camden Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Camden Arms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 High Street, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4PH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay in September”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a really comfortable stay at the Camden Arms Hotel this weekend (22/9/12). 9 of us - mixed ages, needed somewhere to stay following Lois's hen night. Brilliant reception by the staff, great rooms, comfortable beds, good showers all finished off with a really lovely breakfast on Sunday morning - set us all up for the day.
Would definatly stay here again as visit the Pembury area often. Thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: I stayed in the family room with my 2 sisters - no complaints - shower is brill!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    47
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
76
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very disappointed with our recent stay at the Camden Arms Hotel. Upon arrival we were immediately informed that cooked breakfast was an additional £7.50 per person and that we had to order it the night before. We then proceeded to be shown to our room which was on the ground floor looking out onto the car park, great view NOT!!!! The room was small and not particularly welcoming and extremely noisey. The floor creaked like mad and the bed also so that every time you turned over it woke you up. I think the £100 room rate was extortionate considering it is just a glorified B&B and had there been a Travelodge or Premier Inn in the area we needed to stay in then we would definately have received a better service there. Our trip ended with the owner advising us at bang on the dot that breakfast was over and if we wanted anything else to hurry as he was clearing up. I appreciate people are busy and have to get ready for their other daily duties but rushing people through breakfast especially on a sunday morning is not acceptable at the best of times.

Room Tip: Can't advise as only stayed one night and our room was on the ground floor but overlooking the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The four poster bed was great, the room was a bit small, bathroom great, small amount of noise from adjacent rooms, outside the window was a lovely natural private garden (never saw anyone in it) and it was very quiet. The restaurant food was very good and the staff and service was excellent. Only downside was English breakfast was an extra £7 which wasn't made clear when I booked. We had Continental which was very nice. Having to pay extra for English breakfast in an English hotel seems strange.

At £125 a night I think its a bit pricey, but it is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The room had obviously been recently refurbished and was pleasant although fairly small. It had a 4'6 double bed as I don't think anything bigger would have fitted in. The bathroom was very good with a large shower. However on the downside, the first thing the lady at reception told us was that cooked breakfast was not included in the £100 room rate. She told us it would be £7.50 each for breakfast and we needed to inform her straight away if we wanted cooked breakfast as she would have to tell her chef. The extra cost for cooked breakfast was not mentioned when we originally made the booking and frankly, most people don't know exactly what they are going to want to eat the next day. The main issue for me was that at £100 for an average/nice room in a glorified pub, I think a cooked breakfast should be on offered and included. Therefore I would say that while the accommodation is pleasant enough, it is not great value.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook a car park and main road and might be noisy. Avoid these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The room had everything you would expect from an average Premier Inn but without the guarantee of a good night's sleep. You can hear EVERYTHING that is going on in adjacent rooms and every footstep from the room above. The bed had a lumpy poor quality mattress ensuring even if you had earplugs in you would still have a restless night. Now call me old fashioned but after such a long night the least you deserve is to be served a cooked breakfast without paying an extra £7.50 each, inflating the room cost to £113 for a traditional b & b experience.
All in all, okay but overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A very pleasant stay at the Camden Arms. The room is comfortable and clean and the breakfast choice is decent. What makes the Camden Arms very good rather than just fine is the staff. Everyone there was utterly pleasant, chatty and helpful. This might be because it is a pub - even though I was there only one night, I was made to feel like a regular. One other point - I had a room fitted with disabled facilities. This meant that the bathroom looked functional rather than pretty but, while I'm not an expert on requirements, it seemed very well thought out and is obviously a useful feature if you have mobility issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I recently stayed and was impressed by the disabled facilities. Unlike many hotels rails had been installed in appropriate places and access for wheelchairs was easy everywhere. The staff were friendly and food good. Good location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Arms Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the beautiful village of Pembury, near Royal Tunbridge wells in Kent. Each room has en-suite facilities, and is furnished with top quality bespoke furniture. A warm welcome at our family run hotel is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Camden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Arms
Camden Arms Hotel Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.