We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Camden Arms Restaurant

The Camden Arms Restaurant
1 High Street, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4PH, England
01892 822012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 Restaurants in Pembury
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Buckden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We used to know this old coaching inn many, many years ago when we lived in the village and it was one of those ghastly chain restaurants, but the 'then and now' difference could hardly be greater. The decor, ambience, service and food combine to take it to a level where I'd happy to take friends, family or business associates for a drink, lunch or dinner, confident that they would enjoy the experience.
Our Sunday lunch was a case in point. Two OAPs, two prefer not to admit, one sausage and chips, one fish and chips and two for the carvery, one vegetarian. What could possibly go wrong?
Well, usually a whole lot could go wrong, but even the veggie was well-served at the carvery (nut roast) while the OAPs struggled to finish their respective sausage and fish, never mind the chips!
We all managed to force down some ice-cream afterwards though and, somewhat later, the Borrowed Dog (don't ask) was very pleased with his left-over sausage.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    16
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have visited this establishment twice in recent years (last time 14/9/13) for food. The food here is excellent and the place has a nice informal ambience. Next time we will stay there as well.
Easy to find just off the A21

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Needs a little attention to detail!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on bank holiday Monday for lunch. This is a nice old pub, with a lovely outside area. The food we ordered in general was fine, steak puddings, but my sister ordered scampi with chips, both very overdone, what a shame that they couldn't get a simple dish right. Waitresses very nice and friendly. Just don't expect the food always to hit the mark.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed , will never eat here again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I rarely get out without the kids in tow so , having eaten here several times we looked forward to an evening meal , the salmon starter was nice enough if overpriced we ordered our mains & 40 minutes later my rump steak arrived , cutting into it , supposedly extra matured steak , this is total nonsense , it was bland & quite tasteless , the chips were in a novelty tin bucket , the tomato was raw , the side of prawns I had asked for was a small pot of Iceland prawns , & the peppercorn sauce was watery like , the whole concoction was served up on whats best described as a lump of wood , in the past the food has been sublime , home cut fries & onion rings thick sauce , the steak served with skewered prawns was nigh on perfect , what has happened , you really need to ditch the novelty tat & sheet of paper menus & get back to the food we all know & love

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“BIRTHDAY DISSAPOINTMENT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

.We arrived at the camden arms early evening on the 7th august 2013,at the reception we noticed a score of four and a half out of five from trip advisor.We went to the bar and we were asked if we was eating that evening,before we knew it we was taken to a table and seated and given a menu,the waitress walked off and never asked if we would like a drink.after 10 minutes the waitress returned we orderd two cokes,a steak bagguette with chips & my wife orderd the camden chicken in ciabatta and cajun onion rings.twenty minutes later the waitress turned up with our dinners.The steak in my baguette was hard,fatty and chewy,My wifes cajun onion rings tasted of fish,the ciabatta was hard and stale,the camden chicken was tasteless.
After we finished eating we went to the bar to pay thats when the bar lady asked if our dinner was ok and we replied no it was'nt.The manager was called over and we was refunded for my wifes dinner.My birthday dinner was spoilt and we will not return to the camden arms again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Camden Arms Restaurant also viewed

Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Camden Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Camden Arms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.