We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a little attention to detail!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Camden Arms Restaurant

The Camden Arms Restaurant
1 High Street, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4PH, England
01892 822012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 restaurants in Pembury
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Needs a little attention to detail!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on bank holiday Monday for lunch. This is a nice old pub, with a lovely outside area. The food we ordered in general was fine, steak puddings, but my sister ordered scampi with chips, both very overdone, what a shame that they couldn't get a simple dish right. Waitresses very nice and friendly. Just don't expect the food always to hit the mark.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    31
    24
    12
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed , will never eat here again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I rarely get out without the kids in tow so , having eaten here several times we looked forward to an evening meal , the salmon starter was nice enough if overpriced we ordered our mains & 40 minutes later my rump steak arrived , cutting into it , supposedly extra matured steak , this is total nonsense , it was bland & quite tasteless , the chips were in a novelty tin bucket , the tomato was raw , the side of prawns I had asked for was a small pot of Iceland prawns , & the peppercorn sauce was watery like , the whole concoction was served up on whats best described as a lump of wood , in the past the food has been sublime , home cut fries & onion rings thick sauce , the steak served with skewered prawns was nigh on perfect , what has happened , you really need to ditch the novelty tat & sheet of paper menus & get back to the food we all know & love

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“BIRTHDAY DISSAPOINTMENT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

.We arrived at the camden arms early evening on the 7th august 2013,at the reception we noticed a score of four and a half out of five from trip advisor.We went to the bar and we were asked if we was eating that evening,before we knew it we was taken to a table and seated and given a menu,the waitress walked off and never asked if we would like a drink.after 10 minutes the waitress returned we orderd two cokes,a steak bagguette with chips & my wife orderd the camden chicken in ciabatta and cajun onion rings.twenty minutes later the waitress turned up with our dinners.The steak in my baguette was hard,fatty and chewy,My wifes cajun onion rings tasted of fish,the ciabatta was hard and stale,the camden chicken was tasteless.
After we finished eating we went to the bar to pay thats when the bar lady asked if our dinner was ok and we replied no it was'nt.The manager was called over and we was refunded for my wifes dinner.My birthday dinner was spoilt and we will not return to the camden arms again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal lovely pub lovely outside area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the area for a wedding didn't want to eat at the hotel we was in so thought we would give this place a try had good reviews and menu looked good WOW loved it 5 of us went and all had different meals sirloin steak, gammon, lamb, salad and stroganoff every meal was excellent hot and tasty. Staff were all friendly and pub was clean and welcoming, would recommend this place to eat

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We picked this restaurant after seeing the reviews on trip advisor and it didn't Disappoint we all had different meals the service was quick and the meals where just the same the food was hot the very well Presented. My wife can be I little fussy when we go to places we don't know but I must say the food was amazing and will be going back very soon. Make sure your hungry because you will be leaving stuffed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Camden Arms Restaurant also viewed

Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Been to The Camden Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Camden Arms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.