We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most Excellent meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Camden Arms Restaurant

The Camden Arms Restaurant
1 High Street, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4PH, England
01892 822012
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 5 restaurants in Pembury
Cuisines: British, Pub
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We picked this restaurant after seeing the reviews on trip advisor and it didn't Disappoint we all had different meals the service was quick and the meals where just the same the food was hot the very well Presented. My wife can be I little fussy when we go to places we don't know but I must say the food was amazing and will be going back very soon. Make sure your hungry because you will be leaving stuffed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    28
    22
    12
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Firstly we must say that we went to this pub to eat and not to stay.
The Sunday night carvery looked quite nice and we thought that a good country pub could not mess that up. How wrong we were!
The roast beef & turkey were tasteless but the ham was ok as it was salty and could not be overlooked.
The roast potatoes looked nice and crisp so we expected them to make up for the poor meat. They were worse! Overlooked and hard as rocks just like the parsnip. The other vegetables were just OK

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great for a Sunday Roast, the carvery is excellent value for money. Service is good and food plentiful. Go early and you don't need to book.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent food, reasonable prices with great staff. If all pubs were like this, we'd be laughing. Thoroughly recommended, and we will return with friends shortly, even though we live 50 miles from it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Never stayed, but the food is fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have never stayed at this hotel and one could easily be put off by the huge car park and the "big pub on the green " look about the place.This may be offputting, however stick with it and get inside. The beers and wines selection are fantastic! The friendly energy and keenness of the staff to enable you to enjoy the fare on offer is overwhelming, and just get hold of that menu! How do the kitchen staff cope with the prep and service of such a wide range of food in such good time? It will take longer than average to make your selection. You can eat in the bar or the restaurant set aside and the quality of the food is sublime, from beautifully prepared scallops to a boxed Camembert, just dont follow it, like I did, with the breaded lamb shank. Generous portions? The expression was contrived for this place. This is good home cooking with a swanky twist if you want it. As for the four hungry blokes back from clay shooting in the rain. This was just what was required! Well done Camden Arms Hotel!!!!!!!!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Camden Arms Restaurant also viewed

Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Camden Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Camden Arms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.