We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Roast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Camden Arms Restaurant

The Camden Arms Restaurant
1 High Street, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4PH, England
01892 822012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Pembury
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great for a Sunday Roast, the carvery is excellent value for money. Service is good and food plentiful. Go early and you don't need to book.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    16
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent food, reasonable prices with great staff. If all pubs were like this, we'd be laughing. Thoroughly recommended, and we will return with friends shortly, even though we live 50 miles from it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Never stayed, but the food is fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have never stayed at this hotel and one could easily be put off by the huge car park and the "big pub on the green " look about the place.This may be offputting, however stick with it and get inside. The beers and wines selection are fantastic! The friendly energy and keenness of the staff to enable you to enjoy the fare on offer is overwhelming, and just get hold of that menu! How do the kitchen staff cope with the prep and service of such a wide range of food in such good time? It will take longer than average to make your selection. You can eat in the bar or the restaurant set aside and the quality of the food is sublime, from beautifully prepared scallops to a boxed Camembert, just dont follow it, like I did, with the breaded lamb shank. Generous portions? The expression was contrived for this place. This is good home cooking with a swanky twist if you want it. As for the four hungry blokes back from clay shooting in the rain. This was just what was required! Well done Camden Arms Hotel!!!!!!!!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed place to enjoy a good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ate four night running because of ease of access to the hotel for semi disabled guests. Plenty of choice-amazing crab salad one night. Very friendly staff and plenty of room between tables. There are two tables overlooking the village green and in winter there's some cosy snugs. Very reasonably priced for quality of food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good-but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having been here many years ago when this pub was part of the beefeater chain I vowed never to return. However, due to unforseen circumstances we were stuck in Pembury and needed some food-quickly. The pub opposite was not serving until 7pm????so we reluctantly tried the camden arms.
It does look a bit tired-country pub, but not that well looked after-but could be worse. The menu is huge! often the sign of a bad pub/restaurant-how can they cook all that lot well and fresh??
Well we kicked off with the baked camenbert and chilli jam to share-what arrived was a molten bowl of yumminess and the jam had a nice kick! Only observation was the bread portion was a bit tight-even for people that dont eat much bread! To be fair we did not ask for a top up-which i feel would have been gladly provided. I then had the local sausage baguette and chips, and my other half the haloumi pitta and chips. Both were very nice-good sausage-really nice chips-not your average soul less pub ones but nice and thin-still with a bit of skin on. Over all it was great-and quite reasonably priced.
The big dissapointment was the service-it was quick, but lacked any character-the waitresses seemed more focussed on gossiping at the bar than giving a good experience. I also could not work out how to give a tip on the card terminal-for those two reasons we did not leave a tip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Camden Arms Restaurant also viewed

Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Camden Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Camden Arms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.