We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Tunbridge Wells to your Saves list
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is my second visit a year on and the hotel is just as good. I am impressed by the facilities more than anything, especially for the price and in comparison with hotels in Tunbridge Wells who have no such facilities it is great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Deborah T

I was an absolute pleasure reading your comments regarding your stay with us.
Please be assured that I will pass on your comments to the whole team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    136
    105
    49
    25
See reviews for
82
156
10
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Having previously stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions my wife and I were not disapointed on our 3 night stay this last weekend. The hotel offers excellent facilities and value. If you are even parly disabled ask for a ground floor room as although the hotel is only on two floors there are long hallways and some stairs to clime.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Jvst

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the hotel, it is much appreciated.

Please be assured that I will be relaying your comments to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just come back from weekend break
Positives
Comfortable bed and warm room
Not positive!
Leisure centre closed 17-26 February, was phoned at 2 pm on day of travel (21st) to be informed we could cancel or rebook or come with 20% reduction. Big disappointment as one of main reasons for booking for relaxing weekend. Planned maintenance so staff must have known.
Agree with previous comment, staff demoralised especially in Restaurant
Breakfast poorly organised, run out of pastries, tea and coffee lukewarm, fruit tired, hot buffet unappetising,mushrooms floating in water, bacon cooked well in advance and dry....
Dinner also poor and restaurant was freezing cold - staff apologised but didn't seem to be able to do anything about it.
Would not go back and my husband (ex hotelier) was amazed when I said it was 4 star!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear HelenQM

Thank you for your review and the detail you have offered.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and would ask that you kindly email me directly - gm.mercuretunbridgewells@jupiterhotels.co.uk.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pembury hotels

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stop in hotels all week every week and this is buy far my worst experience.
Over priced dated rooms, over priced bad food, laughable breakfast price, no answer on telephone for room service after numerous attempts, woken by very loud fire alarm key card stopped working waited 10 minutes to get sorted then morbid girl practically through it back to me with no eye contact or apology.

free Wi-Fi a joke and unusable they want £9 for 24hrs of 2mb connection
£14 for a sad looking burger with a few hard cold chips.
I am truly amazed with the good reviews of this hotel.
One good thing is when I checked out and got home I remembered it was 2014 not 1984

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear 397 Pluto

Thank you for your review and the detail you have offered.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and would ask that you kindly email me directly - gm.mercuretunbridgewells@jupiterhotels.co.uk.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel used to be owned by another group and had a good reputation 15 years ago, now sold as opposed to refurbishment to a less favourable group.

Where do we start:

Positives

Tidy bar and reception area with clean common area toilets

Down sides

We were checked in to a room that was not complete on the cleaning, the bathroom was dated and the shower was next to pointless. tiles were missing from the walls the floor tiles were lose and it had a grubby feel to it.

The bedroom felt cleaner and the bed was ok, walls were flimsy and sounds from local rooms could be heard quite clearly early Sunday morning with noisy children!

The hostess tray took some finding in the wardrobe!

The windows were filthy and had clearly not been cleaned for some time.

Common areas and corridors were dated and more in line with a cheap European hotel i.e. rough and ready.

Breakfast which was included was a disaster zone, food was running out, staff un coordinated, unable to manage onslaught of guests pasties ran out and took time to replenish, fruit selection was poor - Basil Faulty could do better…..

Other guests informed us at breakfast that the restaurant was shocking in terms of the what and quality of the food and amazed people did not get food poising. It was becoming a joke and you had to laugh with the guests.

Would not return or recommend this hotel

Reported to reception problems who said they would feedback - what is the point if no one listens or acts on feedback!

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere unless you like waiting for your food, aks to see the room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Rob H

Thank you for your review and the detail you have offered.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and would ask that you kindly email me directly - gm.mercuretunbridgewells@jupiterhotels.co.uk.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed at the Mercure as it was the closet hotel to where I was working. After calling room service and the phone not being answered, I ordered a pizza at the bar. It had not arrived after an hour and a half so I complained at reception. When it did arrive it was stone cold and had to be sent back.
The rooms are pretty dated and need upgrading, definitely not a
4* hotel.
Find somewhere else to stay if you can

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Ian S

Thank you for your review and the detail you have offered.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and would ask that you kindly email me directly - gm.mercuretunbridgewells@jupiterhotels.co.uk.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed in this hotel on the ready for romance package.Booked a table for 8.30 order taken at 9.25 waitress looked at us as if we were mad when we asked for the 2glasses of "champagne" included with the meal then could not find champagne glasses! When we finally got our main meal my husbands steak asked to be cooked medium to rare was hard and the chunky chips were still o cold in the middle unedible By this time it was way past 10pm and people were still waiting to have their meal the restaurant was it even busy. So my husband ended up with 4onion rings and 3mushrooms that we're edible we told the restaurant manager ess and was met with a sorry we have a wedding tonight. And to add insult to injury we even had to pay extra for the raw chips and rock hard uneaten steak . Everyone was complaining how bad the service was and the food one couple actually walked out leaving unbeaten food .hotel rooms good BUT avoid restaurant for dinner.

Room Tip: Up grade if poss bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Juloulou

Thank you for your review and the detail you have offered.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and would ask that you kindly email me directly - gm.mercuretunbridgewells@jupiterhotels.co.uk.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Address: 8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tunbridge Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel Pembury
Ramada Hotel Tunbridge Wells
Ramada Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells Ramada
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Tunbridge Wells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.