We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in a nice area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Save Saved
You added Mercure Tunbridge Wells to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Pembury
Burnley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in a nice area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Mercure Tunbridge Wells served our needs very well. We were on a trip with forty or so others from East Lancs and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well situated and provided an ideal base for our adventures in Kent. The rooms were fine, quite large and well appointed with excellent storage. The shower, always a must for me, were excellent. The staff were helpful and could not do enough for us. They were understaffed on at least two nights but you would never have known if bubbly Joy our waitress had not told us. I must commend her husband, a larger than life character who gave his all to ensure we had a good stay. Special mention to Jacqui who although having only joined the company quite recently had really taken on board the company ethos of customer service in a quite magnificent manner. If this was my company I would develop her undoubted skills into a management/training role, you have employed a gem here and you need to use this talent.
If I had any criticism it would be the food, it was quite well prepared but I did feel the menus did not flow as well as they should. Difficult to put my finger on the problem but it needs an experts eye to provide food to complement the rest of the hotel.
A bonus for me, a Bill Evans fan, was Chris Sergeant playing great jazz piano for us

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Vinylment,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your onlline review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with oursevles and I would like to thank you for the personal note of thanks to Joy, Jacqui and Roberto - they will be over the moon to know that they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay.

I am proud to annouce that we have a new Head Chef, Brian, that has started with the hotel and we are confident that this will translate into the food that is produced in the kitchen - watch this space!

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    121
    97
    44
    23
See reviews for
77
146
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Upon checking in you are greeted by a rather grand oast house room with a lovely tall ceiling. Check-in was good once we got the receptionists attention.
The room was perfectly adequate with all the amenities required. It was a reasonable size - I was staying with my wife and 3 year old so had two beds in room and could still move about easily. The décor was a little tired and reflected the overall feel of the building.
It used be a Ramada Jarvis and there are still the original signs in places just with the old logo kind of covered over which is rather tacky. Could do with a coat of paint and new public doors in place to freshen it up.

Leisure facilities were adequate but by no means special or luxury. The pool was very cold on one occasion but lovely and warm on the other. Had a nice sauna. Changing rooms were very small, particularly old and a little grubby around the edges - Really could have done with a detail clean.

We used the bar for a few drinks and has rather a nice, but small lounge area, and drinks prices not overpriced.

Breakfast was very good, lots of choice, very good quality and all really hot. Plenty of staff available to help out. Asked for decaf coffee and soya milk, all of which was no trouble at all. Great breakfast, well worth the extra.

In summary breakfast excellent, rooms very good, leisure facilities poor-average, overall good - would return, at the right rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Derek-Sam-Joshua,

Many thanks for your online review.

Myself and the team were delighted with your feedback and proud to see that our first class customer care and standards shone through yet again.

We have a new onsite beauty salon (Haya Beauty) that I would recommend you try when you next stay with us - my personal favourite is the Indian Head Massage!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked my wedding at this venue which took place last Friday also stayed two nights – really cannot fault this place the staff were absolutely fantastic and could not do enough to make the wedding and the stay hassle free, it was a real pleasure and I am so glad I booked this venue. Food excellent, sometimes you go t o a hotel and the breakfast sausages and bacon looks like they were from the day before. That is certainly not the case here, all freshly cooked.
My daughter’s room was booked for the wrong two nights however this was easily resolved by the reception team with no grief at all and an upgrade to suite for her
Special mention to the Mercures wedding planner Jade who said they would do it all and they did exactly that. The maître d Roberto run the show to perfection, kept order and made it a very happy and special reception.
They have weddings sussed at this place and if you’re looking for an average priced doo that rings of class I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
"AletDuck" - Thank you for your positive comments.

We so happy you enjoyed your Wedding and pleased we made your day all the more special. Thank you for taking the time to review your kind feedback on a public forum, we very much appreciate this and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Denise Vas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just arrived back from a National Trust/ Justgo short break in Kent and stayed 4 nights at The Mercure Hotel Pembury Tunbridge Wells.
On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who immediately made us feel very welcome and special, delivered our luggage to our rooms and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. The food was all inclusive in our tour fee but we had a choice of three starters, mains and sweets as well as coffee and mints after, all of good quality and we were not rushed to get out of the dining room as I have found at some other hotels catering for coach tours. The room was very clean and comfortable and the location was ideal for the National Trust visits planned. Although I was sorry I was unable to use the pool and spa myself, I was reliable informed by my fellow travellers that it was excellent. All in all, value for money and friendly staff who made this a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
"JennybeebeeB" - Thank you for your positive comments.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and what the hotel had to offer.
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best Regards
Denise Vas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend away, a very quiet location five minutes away from Pembury Village and a fifteen minute drive from Tunbridge Wells. On arrival we went to the reception desk only to find the receptionist eating and applying her make-up, however she promptly came to greet us; albeit bare footed we could only laugh really.

Our room was situated on the second floor of the hotel and we had a nice view of the courtyard/garden, the room itself was spacious and clean - bed comfortable, plenty of towels, clean bathroom.

As it was fairly late in the evening we decided to eat in the bar area, we were served by a lovely young gentleman, very polite and attentive, he brought us our drinks to our table and took our food order at the table. I ordered the signature soup (french onion) which was absolutely delicious, followed by the fillet steak - cooked to perfection, while my partner had a fig salad, followed by a blue cheese burger - he was also a very happy bunny!

In the morning we decided to have a look around the swimming pool area, greeted by a very friendly member of staff, had a little bit of a joke with us and made us feel very welcome, the pool is medium sized and there is a jacuzzi, suana and a steam room, perfect for a relaxing morning.

We tried to go into the restaurant that evening but the restaurant manager said they were fully booked and we should eat at the bar. Although we did hear a waitress mentioning there were free tables round the corner as we were walking away. Had yet another lovely evening in the bar, the bar staff fantastic and a rather jolly waiter making friendly conversation with us, telling us stories and making us feel at home.

We will definitely be staying again, and would like to congratulate the hotel on the friendly atmosphere created by some of the staff, you can really sense that there's a family feeling between them.

- Laura H

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Laura H - Thank you for your positive comments.

We appreciate customers taking time out of their day to write such positive feedback.

We are very happy Laura H enjoyed their stay, and look forward to welcoming them back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Denise Vas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Address: 8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Pembury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tunbridge Wells 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel Pembury
Ramada Hotel Tunbridge Wells
Ramada Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells Ramada
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Tunbridge Wells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.