We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wedding at Mercure Tunbridge Wells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Save Saved
You added Mercure Tunbridge Wells to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Pembury
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Wedding at Mercure Tunbridge Wells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked my wedding at this venue which took place last Friday also stayed two nights – really cannot fault this place the staff were absolutely fantastic and could not do enough to make the wedding and the stay hassle free, it was a real pleasure and I am so glad I booked this venue. Food excellent, sometimes you go t o a hotel and the breakfast sausages and bacon looks like they were from the day before. That is certainly not the case here, all freshly cooked.
My daughter’s room was booked for the wrong two nights however this was easily resolved by the reception team with no grief at all and an upgrade to suite for her
Special mention to the Mercures wedding planner Jade who said they would do it all and they did exactly that. The maître d Roberto run the show to perfection, kept order and made it a very happy and special reception.
They have weddings sussed at this place and if you’re looking for an average priced doo that rings of class I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
"AletDuck" - Thank you for your positive comments.

We so happy you enjoyed your Wedding and pleased we made your day all the more special. Thank you for taking the time to review your kind feedback on a public forum, we very much appreciate this and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Denise Vas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    117
    95
    39
    21
See reviews for
73
143
8
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just arrived back from a National Trust/ Justgo short break in Kent and stayed 4 nights at The Mercure Hotel Pembury Tunbridge Wells.
On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who immediately made us feel very welcome and special, delivered our luggage to our rooms and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. The food was all inclusive in our tour fee but we had a choice of three starters, mains and sweets as well as coffee and mints after, all of good quality and we were not rushed to get out of the dining room as I have found at some other hotels catering for coach tours. The room was very clean and comfortable and the location was ideal for the National Trust visits planned. Although I was sorry I was unable to use the pool and spa myself, I was reliable informed by my fellow travellers that it was excellent. All in all, value for money and friendly staff who made this a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
"JennybeebeeB" - Thank you for your positive comments.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and what the hotel had to offer.
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best Regards
Denise Vas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend away, a very quiet location five minutes away from Pembury Village and a fifteen minute drive from Tunbridge Wells. On arrival we went to the reception desk only to find the receptionist eating and applying her make-up, however she promptly came to greet us; albeit bare footed we could only laugh really.

Our room was situated on the second floor of the hotel and we had a nice view of the courtyard/garden, the room itself was spacious and clean - bed comfortable, plenty of towels, clean bathroom.

As it was fairly late in the evening we decided to eat in the bar area, we were served by a lovely young gentleman, very polite and attentive, he brought us our drinks to our table and took our food order at the table. I ordered the signature soup (french onion) which was absolutely delicious, followed by the fillet steak - cooked to perfection, while my partner had a fig salad, followed by a blue cheese burger - he was also a very happy bunny!

In the morning we decided to have a look around the swimming pool area, greeted by a very friendly member of staff, had a little bit of a joke with us and made us feel very welcome, the pool is medium sized and there is a jacuzzi, suana and a steam room, perfect for a relaxing morning.

We tried to go into the restaurant that evening but the restaurant manager said they were fully booked and we should eat at the bar. Although we did hear a waitress mentioning there were free tables round the corner as we were walking away. Had yet another lovely evening in the bar, the bar staff fantastic and a rather jolly waiter making friendly conversation with us, telling us stories and making us feel at home.

We will definitely be staying again, and would like to congratulate the hotel on the friendly atmosphere created by some of the staff, you can really sense that there's a family feeling between them.

- Laura H

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Laura H - Thank you for your positive comments.

We appreciate customers taking time out of their day to write such positive feedback.

We are very happy Laura H enjoyed their stay, and look forward to welcoming them back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Denise Vas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have used Mercure hotels many times and it's rare for me to leave a slightly critical review.
On arrival this looked a lovely hotel, entrance foyer is unique. Our room was on the ground floor and well situated, quiet, clean (apart from a large cobweb behind the door), very comfortable bed and the normal Mercure items.
Our showerhead was awful, leaking badly and shooting water over the floor causing a large puddle. We asked if this could be replaced and was told there is no maintenance on at weekends !!! After asking a couple of times Vickie on reception very kindly resorted to changing it herself ( thank you Vickie) .When our room was cleaned the next morning our soaking bathmat that we had used to mop up the water was hung back on the side of the bath to reuse !
We used the pool, sauna and Jacuzzi ( steam room wasn't working ) all clean, warm and satisfactory.
Then came dinner - no ambiance, staff pleasant ( I heard the waiter saying he was actually a porter !) food mediocre. It was pork or beef carvery alternative was pasta. My husband had the pork while I opted for the beef. It was awful - fatty, extremely rare, chewy - I had to pull it apart as it wouldn't cut. I struggled through it as no other choices ( I have dietary issues so couldn't have the pork or pasta ). Yorkshire puddings were soggy but vegetables fine. Some people refused to eat it and changed for pork while others were having a moan.
Breakfast was acceptable, although staff were busy the Sunday and our plates were whisked away before we had hardly finished.
We were out all day Saturday having had a long journey decided on a quiet nightcap. There was a party going on in the function room behind the bar area rendering the bar very noisy with no where to escape to. Thank goodness our room was away from it and quiet.
This could be a great hotel, staff are friendly and do their best but management lets it down. Maybe they should take a trip up the road to the efficiently run Maidstone Mercure for a few tips..Sadly we won't be using Pembury again.

Room Tip: ground floor behind reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Shirley-7,

Many thanks for your online review and providing the team and I with your feedback.

I would like to apologise if your stay did not meet your expectations; I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and ensure that we use this to allow for us to improve our standards and services where required.

I am proud to announce that we have a new Head Chef on board and we are excited to see what offerings both him and his team bring to the hotel. Alongside with this, the hotel is unveiling a new menu - watch this space!

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After reading some of the reviews, I was slightly skeptical of this place, but we went anyway as it was good value. We were very pleasantly surprised as the hotel was nice, clean, modern, with great facilities. Our room was spacious with everything we needed. In the morning we used the pool, Jacuzzi and sauna; all of which were really nice, clean, and fairly empty, so we felt we had the place to ourselves. We really enjoyed our stay.
The ONLY thing I would say is that yes, the reviews are true; there is a cockerel, and it may wake you up at 5am! It also has a friend; a dog, who likes to bark in time with it's cock-a-doodle-doo-ing. But seriously, if you just close the window, it's not a problem, and we found it quite funny.
Overall, it's good for a one/two night stay and we had a relaxing little break in a nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
RebeccaTanLondon,

I would like to thank you for providing your online review and feedback following your stay with us.

I was delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable one. Myself and the team pride oursevles in delivering a first class service to all our guests and ensuring that not only do we meet our guests expectations but that we exceed them.

The hotel does neighbour onto a residential area and this is where our friends the Cockeral and barking dog reside. In this area it is to be expected but your right - just close your window and you wont hear a peep; also it is a good wake up call for those that have slept through their alarm!

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembury
Restaurant, Rom...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 13 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
3.0 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#6 of 13 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#1 of 13 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
3.1 mi away
Salomons
Salomons
#4 of 13 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Spa, Ski-In / S...
Show More
15.4 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Address: 8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Pembury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tunbridge Wells 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel Pembury
Ramada Hotel Tunbridge Wells
Ramada Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells Ramada
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Tunbridge Wells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.