We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Tunbridge Wells to your Saves list
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    133
    100
    46
    24
See reviews for
81
155
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have used Mercure hotels many times and it's rare for me to leave a slightly critical review.
On arrival this looked a lovely hotel, entrance foyer is unique. Our room was on the ground floor and well situated, quiet, clean (apart from a large cobweb behind the door), very comfortable bed and the normal Mercure items.
Our showerhead was awful, leaking badly and shooting water over the floor causing a large puddle. We asked if this could be replaced and was told there is no maintenance on at weekends !!! After asking a couple of times Vickie on reception very kindly resorted to changing it herself ( thank you Vickie) .When our room was cleaned the next morning our soaking bathmat that we had used to mop up the water was hung back on the side of the bath to reuse !
We used the pool, sauna and Jacuzzi ( steam room wasn't working ) all clean, warm and satisfactory.
Then came dinner - no ambiance, staff pleasant ( I heard the waiter saying he was actually a porter !) food mediocre. It was pork or beef carvery alternative was pasta. My husband had the pork while I opted for the beef. It was awful - fatty, extremely rare, chewy - I had to pull it apart as it wouldn't cut. I struggled through it as no other choices ( I have dietary issues so couldn't have the pork or pasta ). Yorkshire puddings were soggy but vegetables fine. Some people refused to eat it and changed for pork while others were having a moan.
Breakfast was acceptable, although staff were busy the Sunday and our plates were whisked away before we had hardly finished.
We were out all day Saturday having had a long journey decided on a quiet nightcap. There was a party going on in the function room behind the bar area rendering the bar very noisy with no where to escape to. Thank goodness our room was away from it and quiet.
This could be a great hotel, staff are friendly and do their best but management lets it down. Maybe they should take a trip up the road to the efficiently run Maidstone Mercure for a few tips..Sadly we won't be using Pembury again.

Room Tip: ground floor behind reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Shirley-7,

Many thanks for your online review and providing the team and I with your feedback.

I would like to apologise if your stay did not meet your expectations; I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and ensure that we use this to allow for us to improve our standards and services where required.

I am proud to announce that we have a new Head Chef on board and we are excited to see what offerings both him and his team bring to the hotel. Alongside with this, the hotel is unveiling a new menu - watch this space!

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After reading some of the reviews, I was slightly skeptical of this place, but we went anyway as it was good value. We were very pleasantly surprised as the hotel was nice, clean, modern, with great facilities. Our room was spacious with everything we needed. In the morning we used the pool, Jacuzzi and sauna; all of which were really nice, clean, and fairly empty, so we felt we had the place to ourselves. We really enjoyed our stay.
The ONLY thing I would say is that yes, the reviews are true; there is a cockerel, and it may wake you up at 5am! It also has a friend; a dog, who likes to bark in time with it's cock-a-doodle-doo-ing. But seriously, if you just close the window, it's not a problem, and we found it quite funny.
Overall, it's good for a one/two night stay and we had a relaxing little break in a nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
RebeccaTanLondon,

I would like to thank you for providing your online review and feedback following your stay with us.

I was delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable one. Myself and the team pride oursevles in delivering a first class service to all our guests and ensuring that not only do we meet our guests expectations but that we exceed them.

The hotel does neighbour onto a residential area and this is where our friends the Cockeral and barking dog reside. In this area it is to be expected but your right - just close your window and you wont hear a peep; also it is a good wake up call for those that have slept through their alarm!

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We go to Tonbridge Wells once a year and this is our third stay here. Things are definitely going downhill. It is ideally situated and always clean but unless in a large party I wouldn't recommend the restaurant for dinner. The food is average but the ambience is non existent. Breakfasts are however excellent and when busy the restaurant is a pleasant place to be.
Asked for synthetic pillows due to a medical condition and these took 45 mins to arrive and then there was only three not four. This was sufficient but not great.
Wine with the meal was overpriced. Had an awful pinot grigio but a decent pinot noir but each costing circa £7 I thought was a bit steep.
Retired to the bar when we had a Baileys and a Brandy both served in sherry type glasses as no others available due to a wedding - just not right!
Staff did their best but probably wont stay here again

Room Tip: has a function room that is well used at weekends so if a light sleeper bear this in mind and ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
GordonBealey,

I would like to thank you for your review and honest feedback.

I would like to apologise that you feel the hotel has gone downhill over the time in which you have stayed with us. The hotel has undergone several changes in the past 24 months and overall this has had a postive impact on our guests and I was disappointed to read that you did not feel the same.

Our new Head Chef, Brian, joined the team 7 weeks ago and we are excited to see what new creations come flying out of the kitchen - our new menu is due to be launched soon and we hope that this will be more to your liking.

When you are next in the area please do let me know and I would love to show you the new menu first hand and show you round the new beauty room located witnin the leisure club where a variety of treatments are available.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Ms Kuldeep Badesha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Excellent value for money. A lovely looking, unique hotel, in pleasant setting. the staff were helpful and attentive. there was a wedding the day that we stayed but this did not affect the service that we were given.

We did not stay in for meals but had a drink from the bar, it was reasonable priced.

Our room was very clean and tidy and had all the facilities we could possibly need, including an iron. Loads of tea, coffee and milk were provided in the room so that we could make drinks.

Room Tip: Many rooms on the ground floor, very handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Anita G,

I was delighted to read your online review and I will be sure to share this with the team.

The hotel offers a wide range of accomodation rates and deals and this seems to be very attractive to our guests and I was delighted that you were able to take advantage of a deal that met your requirements.

The team will be over the moon with your feedback and I will be sure to discuss this with them; time again we get positive feedback relating to how helpful and friendly the team are as well as the hotel's cleanliness and it was great to see that we achieved this yet again.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. A great location to tour kent, the rooms are fine, usual Mercure standard, clean, modern etc. Hotel is very good level and the staff were very helpful, but organisation was a bit poor. We arrived at 5 p.m and asked to reserve a table for dinner. 'Sorry full' was the reply, 'we have a party of 40 in tonight so we can only fit you in after 9p.m'. We unloaded our case and decided to visit the restaurant about 7p.m to make a booking for the next night. The restaurant had only two people in it so we asked if we could eat. 'Sorry but we have a coach party of 40 at 8p.m so need to get organised so we can't take any diners, as the chef needs time to prepare'! We asked to make a booking for the next night and got the same story. 'we only can take four people at 6.30 ( two already booked) and then need to prepare for the a coach party. We asked to eat at 7.30, as the coach party will not arrive until 8, but this was not possible. After a bit of pressure we got a booking for 7p.m. provided that 'we came early and left early'. The next night we were early, and ordered the pate and smoked mackerel to start. It was served but without bread or toast. We waited 5 minutes for someone to appear and then got up and went to the desk to ask for bread. They looked very surprised that we wanted bread with the pate but after 5 minutes managed to find a couple of pieces of baggette. I then ordered the mushroom stroganof and got a large plate with two spoonfuls of rice and one large spoonful of mushroom soup with some pieces of mushroom in it. As it was mainly liquid I again asked for some bread. No baggette left so after about 10 minutes I received half a slice of white bread. Although the food was edible, it was poor value for money.
If you want to stay at the hotel, by all means do, but walk down the road to the Camden Arms to eat. Much better food at similar prices.

Room Tip: Go for a low number room. Th ground floor rooms start at 100 at the first floor at 200. Keep in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
bougivalbob,

Many thanks for your feedback.

I would like to apologise that you feel the hotel did not meet your expectations and fell short in terms of the level of service provided.

The hotel is pleased to announce the arrival of our new Head Chef, Brian, and myself as well as the rest of the team are looking forward to the wonderful new dishes that he will bring. Alongside with this, the hotel will be unveiling our new menu soon - watch this space!

Myself and the team hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Warm regards,
Ms Kuldeep Badesha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Address: 8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tunbridge Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel Pembury
Ramada Hotel Tunbridge Wells
Ramada Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells Ramada
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Tunbridge Wells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.