We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best cheese and wine pairing tasting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Wines

Fairview Wines
Suid-Agter-Paarl Road, Suider Paarl 7646, South Africa
+27 21 863 2450
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best cheese and wine pairing tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Don't be cheap and go for the master tasting. It is more expensive, but it is well worth it! They take you to a separate room with a view into the cellar. You are seated and given six different cheeses paired with one of the Fairview wines. It is amazing to taste how the cheese and wine compliment each other.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    76
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Lovely cheese for non-wine drinkers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We are not big about wine, in fact, we have extremely low tolerance for wine and won't want to have a possible hang over with wine tasting. (yes, that's how cheap we are.) Our driver suggested Fairview because they make their own cheeses and we can do cheese tasting for R25 without the wine. We started with lunch at their restaurant. Big portions there. Vegetable soup and beef carpaccio were good. Garden Salad average. Duck Confit was lousy. My suggestion is to hop next door to the pizza place - menu looks much better. Otherwise, the goats are cute to watch! Toilet facilities are good!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fairview Cheese and Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a little jewel - maybe slightly off the beaten track?

We paid R25 per person for the "cheese and wine tasting" and I think this was excellent value for money. The Cape Peninsula has probably hundreds of wine farms with tasting facilities, but Fairview has added the cheeses and this just makes them stand out in the crowd.

We were given a list and could choose 6 wines and there were 5 cheeses to try. All good stuff!

The restaurant seemed well supported but I thought it lacked light snacks at a reasonble price. The meals did look good I must admit, though we did not stay for a meal.

Obviously there are wines as well as cheeses on sale!

ps: Staff can also direct you to the "Spice Route" just down the road, for chocolate tasting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good cheese and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good range of wines at a great price. Cheeses are amazing too. Kids would be happy here playing or watching the goats in their pen out front. Restaurant sells some tasty grub and is packed during the tourist seasons.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massa, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cheese and wine on a budget!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Enjoy a great cheese and wine tasting in the beautiful cellar of this chees and wine producer, surrounded by barrels and guided by a well prepared taster who will guide you through the perfumes and flavours of six different cheeses and wines for an incredibly good price. And if you have a favourite you can buy it in the shop!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairview Wines also viewed

Suider Paarl, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Fairview Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fairview Wines to your Saves list