We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kedleston Hall

Kedleston Hall
Kedleston DE22 5JH, England
01332 842191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kedleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We saw on the website that it went down to £1 per person in winter to visit the grounds so we took off thinking we would have a lovely walk with the dog.

We were told that it was £4.40 and wouldn't go down to £1 until next week but we could visit the church. We paid our £4.40 and had the most beautiful walk. The only problem was the lack of bins for dog waste. We spent a lot of time looking for a bin. Other people had obviously given up and put it in the bins in the toilets in the past as there was a note telling you not to do so. In additon there was a note by the outside catering van so I guess we weren't the first to be frustrated about the lack of dog bins.

We put the dog back in the car and decided that we had paid to go into the church so we were going to. it was closed!

I must say that the park is very beautiful though and well worth a visit. Just not sure it was worth nearly £10. I will definitely go back in the winter though now I know where the dog bins are hidden.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    89
    22
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Magnificent drive into the hall. National Trust building . The house visit is extremely worthwhile and whilst did not have a guided tour,there were few visitors and the guides in each room talked to us on a one for one basis.All were extremely knowledgeable and found the history of house and family fascinating. The standard of architecture internally was stunning.
Lunch in the restaurant was good value and good standard.
Good day out .

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bizar luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very beautiful place with lots of splendour. Thanks for meeting the 'housekeeper' and the other friendly staff very willing to tell us all about the rooms. Worth a visit and beautiful surroundings as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A delight to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Kedleston Hall was an absolute delight. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the hall. Take time to speak to them about the house and learn some really interesting facts about the property and surrounding area. Meeting 'Mrs Garnett' was brilliant. The housekeeper told us all about her role in the house and the 'recent' visitors to the house.
The house has recently undergone some renovations and these are truly amazing. The famous 'Peacock dress' is beautiful and so very delicate. Be sure to visit it in the room next to the billiard room.
The gardens around the hall are beautiful and at this time have a new walk called 'Hear here', these are scultures in the garden that given different sounds for you to experiance. Worth the walk.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Scenic surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our 2nd visit to this NT property, the first being around 4 or 5 years ago. No problems in getting to the park, a very direct route from a significantly major A road to the park and signposted also.
The vast and sprawling grounds only build the anticipation as you come over a wonderful bridge and into view of the hall.
Parking facility appears small initially, given how popular it must be at times during the summer. It is, in my opinion, one of the smaller houses when compared to nearby Hardwick Hall in Chesterfield and Calke Abbey in Ticknall, but take nothing away from the experience by that, at all.
My wife and our children enjoyed looking around the various rooms, and were guided by sign age throughout. However, we did feel some of the features of the rooms could have been explained a little better on the room cards or by additional sign-age.
Two of my favourite rooms in this property would be the grand hall on the first floor with its towering marble pillars and cavernous interior. Even the kids were stunned into silence! Closely followed by the ballroom, a circular room with fantastic plasterworks and décor.
We paid 50p for a childrens activity sheet, which was limited but kept interest in the property for my 12 year old with a rather short attention span.
It was also good to see details of some of the restoration works and techniques used throughout the property... and the newest room (Billard Room) looking rather splendid.
A few things let the place down though. 1) No kitchen/inner workings of the house open to the public. No pantry, no servants quarters etc. Plus 2 further floors above the first floor were also closed. And not really sure why.
2) The NT volunteers were a little overbearing. At least twice, my son happened to comment on what he thought something was, only to be interrupted and corrected by the room attendant mid-flow. I thought this was rather intimidating and became uncomfortable once the initial correction had been made and they persisted in spouting further dialogue about unrelated issues. For example, a comment we made about tudor dress resulted in a near lecture about toilets and a room 3 rooms away.
3) The gardens are not very well known. At other local properties, there have been more prominent garden features and topiary to digest, however you are left to find your way out of the rear or front of the house.... into a churchyard or back to the front of the property. Are there any gardens, or is it just parkland?
4) The museum with the treasures of india seemed a little bare compared to last time we were visiting. However, we have since learned that it was burgled and a lot of the silverwear was stolen. that said, what is in there needs to be better explained, not just on little hand written tags, but perhaps something more mounted on the cabinet? I have seen more thorough descriptions of case contents in Aquariums!
Did not sample any gift shops, restaurant or facilities as the venue is only 15 minutes away from our house, but they appeared well sign posted and, in terms if the kiosk, well stocked. I also think, in the case of some reviews on here, it is unfair to judge this property based on an antiques event taking place within the grounds. The damage done to the grasslands as a result of this event is clearly in evidence on the approach to the house, which is very disappointing.
We would visit again, it was a worthwhile 2 hours spent an suitable for teenagers. There is also a leaflet available (£1) of walks in the grounds, which if dry and undamaged, would be quite tranquil.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kedleston Hall also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Kedleston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kedleston Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.