We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George & Dragon

The George & Dragon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The George & Dragon to your Saves list
The George & Dragon
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Market Street, East Harling NR16 2AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 East Harling B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We only booked this place because friends did for a track day at Snetterton as we normally shy away from B&Bs when we need to be refreshed for an early start - we have done enough years of 'quirky'

This place has a new part of the building and the rooms are excellent for the money. Clean, comfortable and warm.

The beer in the pub/restaurant is excellently kept and I loved the Southwold bitter. Food is none too shabby either. We ate as a foursome and the bill was just less than £100 for all four of us with a starter and a main each and all drinks.

In the morning, the owner/manager was let down by her breakfast staff who didn't turn up and as we were on a tight schedule, we left hungry. She was apologetic and took £10 of each room bill.

Nevertheless, we will be returning next time we're at Snetterton.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
9
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The pub is in a very small village. The front look likes an old fashioned village pub, however the inside is a lot bigger and very contemporary.

The room was a good size with a good size en suite and a good TV.

The food in the restaurant is excellent, very fresh. The breakfast was the highlight, pre-ordered the evening before.

My room was above were the smokers pollute the atmosphere and were quite noisy until the pub closed, not to bad.

Phone reception was also an issue, but not the Hotels fault.

Room Tip: Eat at the restaurant downstairs....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I were staying at a local campsite for a long weekend, and on the Sunday decided we wanted to enjoy dinner in a local pub. Although the George and Dragon didn't advertise a Sunday roast on their internet menu, we chose to go here anyway. We were very pleasantly surprised when we walked into the pub to see that a carvery was available. I have to say, it was one of, if not the best pub carvery's I have ever eaten - absolutely delicious! There was a choice of beef, pork and turkey (or all three if you fancied!) with a variety of sides and absolutely scrummy crackling! I understand the pub has been recently refurbished and very tastefully so too. The dinner was a little on the pricier side (£10 for the carvery), but in my opinion well worth it. When we camp in Thetford Forest next time, we will definately be visiting the Goerge & Dragon for Sunday lunch (and maybe other meals!) again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A friend and I stayed during a recent golfing trip, I was hoping for an adequate little place just to get some sleep every night but the place exceeded my expectations in every way.
There are 4 room, each with en suite bathroom. Tea and coffee facilities are provided but if you do run out the staff are more than happy to top them up for you (even going as far as to let me know where the supplies were kept if we needed anything!).
Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. You need to order it the night before but this is fine for me. We had our three evening meals in the bar/restaurant downstairs and have to say that the food was excellent.
The staff were incredibly accommodating and always greeted you with a smile on their faces. Nothing was too much trouble for them, we could have ordered breakfast for any time between about 5.00 and 9.00 am!
Overall a very nice place to stay, and if I were travelling to the area again I would have no hesitation in booking another few nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed in the G&D for three nights with my wife. The G&D is wonderful value for money. The accommodation is contemporary styled with four en-suite bedrooms. The whole place has had a recent refit and everything is spot on. The beds are very comfortable.
Breakfast is excellent. We also eat two evening meals at the G&D while staying. Again the food is excellent with a very good menu covering everything from Steak to bangers and mash!
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed for two nights on business recently, the accommodation and service at The George and Dragon was beyond my expectations. The staff are friendly and very welcoming they make the place what it is, a great pub with good accommodation and excellent food. I will most definitely stay again when I’m in the area and have already recommended it to my colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

great pub and good accomodation food was excellent. staff very friendly. would definately stay again had a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George & Dragon

Address: Market Street, East Harling NR16 2AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > East Harling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in East Harling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The George & Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The George & Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George & Dragon East Harling, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George & Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.