We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls to your Saves list
Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   P IV/93 A, Kannamkuzhy PO | Chalakudy, Athirapally 680721, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Athirapally B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unique property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed for one night in the Treehouse.

The Treehouse is nicely designed, comfortable and clean, with a stunning view of the waterfalls. The bathroom was compact but worked fine.

Watch out for the insects in the evening. Also, the path from the main hotel premises to the Treehouse isn't very well lit. When we were walking to the restaurant for dinner, a sambar deer crossed our path. We could only see a large shadow cross us because of the darkness. On the way back, we asked a staff member to accompany us with a torch. He then told us that a leopard had been spotted very close to the hotel, so we spent a few hours panicking about that!

The hotel can organize activities such as bird watching, a guided tour of the Athirapally Waterfalls and a jeep safari. We took the tour of the Athirapally Waterfalls, which was quite good.

The staff were generally very helpful and service was good. The food was average. Breakfast was buffet style with Keralan and western options. The lunch and dinner menus were very limited, but the chef is happy to cook upon request (for example, the only non-vegetarian dish on the dinner menu was prawns, and we requested chicken because of allergy issues). Surprisingly, they didn't have coconut water! We did, however, find it just down the road outside the hotel.

The hotel should put a bigger sign outside the gate, which is easier to spot while driving.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and the Treehouse made our holiday quite unique.

Room Tip: Go for the Treehouse for a bit of adventure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    58
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
53
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leiden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited the hotel just to get lunch, and it turned out to be by far the best meal we had in three weeks travelling in South India. The view over to the falls from the lunch area was just stunning and staff were very friendly. They even showed us the rooms (they looked very nice but make sure you get one facing the falls) and took us up into the tree house. That was special. It has a double bed and two layers of mosquito netting. I hope the chef stays on... we had a fish curry and a prawn biriani made with dried prawns. Simply fresh and delicious and beautifully spiced. The WC was spotless too and there was a little shop selling soaps and essential oils and T shirts. Be warned, you must book ahead if you are dropping by for a meal or you wont get past the gate.

Room Tip: Insist on a waterfall view
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Location = great
Service = average
Ambiance = Lovely
Rooms = good
Food = average
Value = OK
Over all experience: The room with a view. The service and the room can be improved a bit and this resort would be hard to beat. Overall very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Wow! Best side trip you can do from Cochin. You cannot compare the view from Rainforest Lodge. Breathtaking vista of the waterfall right out the window of every room. On top of that the rooms are modern, clean and well appointed. Food was also affordable and good. Service was great.
Make time to hike up to the falls. Above the falls there is a swimming area where you can frolic in some small cascades. Crowded with Indian people but definately a cool experience and one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in mid-November, and with just an hour's drive from Cochin airport, we reached this green paradise.

No matter what you prepare for your first time here, the 1st sights and sounds will stun you. The view you get will be as good, if not better than through the official entrance to the Athirapally Falls and what a sight they are.... simply, Stunning location! Adding to the feel, is the thick forest surrounding the property (We sighted a Malabar Giant Squirrel within property grounds).

We stayed in the Premium Room, and views remained stunning as ever whether from the balcony or the jacuzzi in the bathroom. The room is nice and spacious, perfect for a couple (only be careful of leaving food out, there are ants which appear out of nowhere).

We were a little concerned on the food and service having read previous reviews, but to our pleasant surprise, on both counts, we were very satisfied. The property manager and staff took very good care of us, even ensuring meals sent to our rooms without any extra room service charge (might be more difficult if occupancy is higher, was not so in our case).

Food is authentic Kerala cuisine, and though choice is a bit limited, we were more than happy with the choices available. Special credits to the Rasam (perfect for my wife who had a bit of a sniffle) & Koon Roast.

Activities include trekking to the falls, spa, a night safari (it's a drive down a tar road exploring relatively undisturbed forest, not an actual safari, but if bored, can do, decent chance of sighting elephants, deer, gaur).

Tariffs are high, but with such an outstanding location, this honeymoon trip was certainly worth it. A big thank you to everyone at Rainforest for making our time there special.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy jacuzzi, go for the Premium Room. Else Luxury rooms would do great. Heard all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We went to Rainforest Resort only for lunch. The dining area looks directly at the falls. It is a beautiful space, done up with great taste and making the view the hero of the experience. Food was excellent. The whole experience filled us with a 'peaceful, easy feeling'!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

There is one good thing about the hotel... The location. The property has the best view of the falls and that view is awesome.. But the word "service" does not exist in the dictionary of this place... We had problems while checking in when they were trying to put us into a room which did not have any view of the falls even though we had booked 3 months in advance.. We had to call 5 times just to get our luggage in the room.. In fact, you would get a disgusted look from the staff for just about any request you put in.. All this combined with the steep price you have to shell out makes it quite an unbearable experience !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls

Address: P IV/93 A, Kannamkuzhy PO | Chalakudy, Athirapally 680721, India
Location: India > Kerala > Athirapally
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Athirapally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May we introduce our new property 'Rainforest' a boutique resort located at the foot of the Athirapally waterfalls. Perched on the edge of the luxurious wilderness of the Sholayar Range, Rainforest is a never before experience in nature holidays, offering you the perfect getaway for a weekend of natural delight. Within the breathtaking embrace of the deep forests, a rich and diverse flora & fauna abounds. While some of the species actually live on Rainforest property, others make it a point to pay an occasional visit. Behold the spectacular view of the crashing 80 ft waterfalls from any and every suite at 'Rainforest.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls Hotel Thrissur
Rainforest Hotel Kerala
Rainforest Hotel Athirapally Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.