We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine Guest House a delightful and peaceful place to stay in Thiruvannama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thiruvannamalai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Guest House
Save
You added Sunshine Guest House to your Saves list
5 Annamalai Nagar | Perumbakkam Road, Thiruvannamalai 606603, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
clermont-ferrand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunshine Guest House a delightful and peaceful place to stay in Thiruvannama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Sunshine Guest House is a delightful and peaceful place to stay in Tiruvannamalai: beautiful view of the Arunachala montain, a quiet place without the noise of the center of Tiruvannamalai but at the same time very near of the center (1or 2km).

Room were spacious, clean and well accomodated, hot water in bathroom, a covered roof for yoga with a beautiful view on the montain, internet available.

Sathish, Rajju and the other members of the staff took care of us very nicely and make our trip in Tiruvannamali very enjoyable!

You will find in this guesthouse everything you need for the traveller: You will feel at home and you will not want to leave this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
10
22
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiruvannamalai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Sunshine Guest House is one of the best places to stay in Tiruvannamalai. It all starts with a great view of Arunachala. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, and each is differently decorated. There are nice large bathrooms wit hot water, AC available, and restaurant onsite, and a covered roof where you can sit and meditate looking at the sacred mountain.

During the season there are often yoga classes onsite, and they can arrange any touring you need, local and throughout India. They are also happy to arrange an airport pickup when you arrive in Chennai. They make you fee welcome and at home.

The owners, Sathya and Corrine take good care of the guests. This place is a real jewel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The warmth of Sunshine Guesthouse reached us before we even saw it. Our ride from the airport to the hotel, the welcome call and the lovely drive the next morning, was all arranged by our hosts Sathya & Corrine. We were warmly greeted on arrival at the guest house and made to feel at home. Chia tea on the thatch covered patio, while we got acquainted with our hosts, staff and other guests. Our room was cheerful, spacious, clean and well appointed. The fresh flower leis were a lovely touch.
The gardens were delightful and very well kept. The large thatched, screened dining room was the gathering place for meals, internet, and companionship. The rooftop was a great place to enjoy the spectacular view, do some yoga or just meditate your cares away. Even the power interruptions brought beauty to this place. Our first night I saw my first firefly in the garden when the power went out.
The staff prepared delicious meals, with Sathya making culinary contributions from time to time. Special requests were cheerfully accommodated.
Sathya arranged rides, gave directions and general advice on almost any topic. He is a very entertaining and informative tour guide, who brought special meaning to the places we visited. We always felt safe and well cared for. India is a busy, beautiful, intense place and at times, it can be overwhelming. We cherished our peaceful mid day rest in our cool room with a soft breeze blowing through the colorful curtains. A delightful stay indeed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have been Tiru a number of times and stayed at Ramana's ashram plus Sparsa resort which is nice but nothing compares to the family feeling at Sunshine Guesthouse. The people and the food is fabulous and the view of Arunachula from every room is unsurpassed. If you are looking for a sweet stay in Tiru Sunshine is the place. You will feel at home as soon as as you walk through the gate. We felt very taken care of and will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Best place to stay! I had a great time there! :) the guesthouse is located little bit outside of town with a beautiful view uf arunachala. the rooms are clean and beautifully decorated! staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Thank you Sunshine Guest house-you make India fell like home! Great ambiance, clean and welcoming-thank you-what a relief after 12 hours of travel! Sathya and Corrine are great hosts and they went out of their way to make sure I had what I needed and that I knew where I was going. India can be overwhelming at times and the Sunshine Guest House was a perfect landing spot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have to cancel our two day trip on 19th March from Thiruvannamalai. Thanks to the absolutely insensitive attitude and unreliable bookings.
We have booked a room for two nights on 29-31st March 2013 on 30th October 2012 ie 6months back.
As latest as 1st March-7th March 2013, we have followed up with them( as we didnt get any email responses) including a phone call on 6th March: only to change the booking to 19th and 20th nites.
We have received confirmation on 7th March by sms after talking with Dr.Sathyan. That information about confirmation has been sent to emails of booking, Dr.SathyanOn 19th March, when we are about to visit this place we have enquired the directions to guest house from Ramanashramam,
We have been informed by one Mr. Jim that:
- he is new to bookings( perhaps forgotten that he was the one who has been requested on 5th March for the change. Since then we have not received any response; except from Dr.Sathyan)
- he did not have any information about our bookings( perhaps again overlooked the email about our confirmation sent on 7th March)
- nothing much he can do about the rooms availability: as did not have any apriori information
(am not sure how many times and how many people do we need to followup for a simple booking and its confirmation)

We have not received any communication from 7th March, if there is any change in the booking status after their confirmation!! Nor did we receive any communication on the original booking status!!!

We did try out at Ramana Towers and Ashram once again if we can salvage the situation for ourselves; but in vain. We have taken a good lunch at Hotel Arpana( by far the best) and returned just now to Bangalore.

Wish the personnel at Sunshine are as responsive as Dr.Sathyan is and most importantly the bookings section of the website and reservation related personnel are sensitive to the guest who have made the bookings; and provide alternate options in such an apparent inter office miscommunications.

By the way we have not received the response to our query from Mr.Jim: ie about the directions to the guest house( am not sure if he felt that it was irrelevant or if the guest house is so choc a bloc that no visitor can even drop by for even a lunch or so...ofcourse we have not expressed explicitly our desire to savor the delicacies after this traumatic experience)

The only saving grace and solace is the consistently responsive disposition of Dr.Sathyan: who has also enabled in getting a formal confirmation from booking email id even on 30th October 2012 when we made the initial booking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drsathyan, Owner at Sunshine Guest House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you Mr.Srinivas
you are right, there is a huge mis communication from our end. we are truly sorry from our heart to you. our add reservation at our system got collapsed. we understand that, jim was working hard to fix that. please let us know, in what way we could be helpful?..
we would like to offer you on your next visit to thiruvannamalai, please let us know, we could organize your stay with us for free.
Please accept our apology, i understand .
Thanks
Regards
Sathyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Guest House

Address: 5 Annamalai Nagar | Perumbakkam Road, Thiruvannamalai 606603, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thiruvannamalai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thiruvannamala...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a brand new hotel, situated near Sri Ramana Ashram and Girivalam Road. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.