We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Holiday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Orchard Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Orchard Holiday Resort
Lakkidi 673592, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lakkidi
Kozhikode, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Holiday location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The ambiance is excellent coupled with the climate of Wayanad makes this a sought out location for holidaying.
The service offered is also great. All this at very reasonable rates as well. Extremely happy.
Highly recommended as well.

Room Tip: 3 bed room cottages available can easily accommodate 18 - 20 if it is a group of adults on a holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Hi everyone,

I went to Wayanad on a 4 day vacation and stayed at Orchard Holiday Resort with my family. Herewith sharing my feedback hoping it would help others.

This resort is located in a place called Lakkidi which is 67 KMs away from Calicut and approximately 4 KMs from Vythiri. Lakkidi is just on the Calicut – Mysore Highway which is a very nice, scenic highway to drive especially the last 10 KMs uphill (Ghat road). However, from the main road, we need to take a small, narrow (~10ft) road for another 2 KMs to climb a small hill to reach this resort. Incase if you are planning to take your own vehicle, I would strongly advise you to reach Lakkidi during daylight so that you can have a better control while you drive thru this narrow road. The resort is on top of a hill and is surrounded by other hills and plenty of trees. We felt as if we were lying on Mother nature’s lap. The only sound that we heard were the noises made by birds and insects. The resort location was very scenic, silent and was sandwiched between tea plantations. Being from Chennai, it was such a pleasant experience for us to be surrounded by such greenery and without any vehicle noise/pollution. Sipping a cup of coffee/tea in the mornings and in the evenings while sitting on the cottage veranda and enjoy watching the birds, moving clouds and surrounded hills still stays bright in our memory

We stayed in a ‘suite type’ cottage which has a very spacious living room (~20ft X ~20ft), an equally spacious bedroom and a small kitchenette. Since our son is only 3 yrs old and is not used for outside food, we brought our complete kitchen pack (Induction stove, rice cooker, rice, noodles, all masalas, few vetegables ) to prepare food for him. The kitchen didn’t have the 15 amps socket to plug in the induction stove but the manager of the resort (Mr Rajesh) arranged for it within few hours when requested. While we appreciated his effort, we felt it would have been nice if he had made the arrangement before we had checked in because this was the major prerequisite from our end while doing the booking.

The cottage didn’t have air-conditioning in the rooms. We were bit worried while we did the booking because this time of the year (May) is supposed to be bit hot there. However we were assured by the Manager that we wouldn’t need one since the weather is always pleasant in Lakkidi (especially around this resort). We were relieved only after we saw the place. As the manager said, we didn’t feel the need to have ACs in the room. During day time, the table fans provided in the rooms were sufficient.

The cottage has one drawback thou’. It didn’t have Television sets in the rooms. While it was not needed for us, our kids felt bit bored during day time. Since the cottage ceiling were made of sun/water proof old fashioned tiles (and not cement concrete), sound proof is not that effective and hence watching TV disturbs other guests and they have removed it. The Manager has given this as the reason when I enquired. Still I feel they should find a way to make the rooms sound proof and install TVs

The team on the ground at the resort is really a great one. Right from the Manager to the restaurant guys, everyone was very helpful and gave their best to make our stay comfortable.

Just to summarize, we had a nice and memorable stay in the resort. As I mentioned above, there are some shortcomings (like the narrow, bit scary 2KM road to the resort, lack of TV). The price is also slightly overpriced in my opinion. If you are nature lover and really want to cut yourself off from the external world and day to day chores, this is the right spot for you. Very ideal place for writers, newly weds to spend time alone. If you have kids, then you may have to find ways to keep them engaged

Room Tip: if you can afford, please choose a cottage type instead of a standard room for better view and locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I had a stay in this hotel for 2 nights. it was quite a wonderful experince. The stay was good.
The main attraction is that the staffs were well trained and quite professional.

Food was good.

But the way to reach this reasort from the main road is quote a tough one.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calicut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

It was an excellent stay. The food was tasty and service was excellent. Wonderful people and excellent hospitality. The rooms were state of the art and spacious

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bengaluru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

+ve:Orchard resort is a good resort. Location is very nice with greenery around u .We stayed at the double bedroom cottage and rooms are excellent.Well maintained clean rooms. House keeping is also great.Ask for the rooms near the stream.Its a very pleasant view from the room.Food is also good.I am a vegetarian, so the food served had less masala in it.Usually chapati,subzi,mixed rice kinds, salad etc.its fixed menu. One advantage is they provide food all three times a day.So even if u r going out u can ask them to pack ur lunch.
For kids there r swings, slide etc.There is a natural pool( not a swimming pool) with fishes in it .There r some ducks in the natural pool.In the package(3N/4D) we got an ayurvedic massage free. that was very relaxing and it was something i needed badly.For adults there is a TT table, mini gym and a tv in a hall.

-ve: Service was a bit disappointing.They cater anything u want but they r not quick .Both days we were delayed bcoz the breakfast and lunch were not ready although we had previously mentioned that we would leave early the next day.
Our driver was deeply disappointed as the rooms or i can call it as bunker provided to him was very shabby, so he had to sleep in his car.Even the food provided to him was different than what was provided to us.This differentiation between us and him was something i didn't appreciate.

Room Tip: 1.Everything closes by 4 pm in wayanad, so leave early in the morning to cover all places. 2.Choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The resort is located in a quiet and calm atmosphere, and this makes for a very relaxing ambience. The staff are very courteous and friendly, and strike the perfect balance of being helpful and yet not intrusive either.

Food was a mixed affair. It was excellent one day and pathetic the other. Even the quantity of tea served was different on different days.

There isnt much to do at the resort; but that can be a good thing too as its not too crowded either. It was enjoyable to spot the myriad birdlife, including bulbuls, kingfishers, and at least a couple more of species I dont know of.

The "honeymoon cottage" was actually two living spaces separated by a thin wall. This can be a problem if the couple in the other room is noisy. I felt this was rather strange. On the plus side, the rooms are supremely spacious, with a huge living room, common bathroom, kitchen counter, and then a bath-attached bedroom extra. Of course, it was lovely just to sit outside in the balcony and enjoy the calm pool and the view of the mountains beyond.

Some things were rather careless though. Three telephones with intercoms in the cottage started ringing incessantly in the middle of the night. Also, the approach road is untarred.

If you are looking for a quiet experience, this is good. Adventure seekers (or those who prefer more luxury) should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We (group of 6) went to Orchard holiday resort in Dec 11. It is the best place to unwind, relax and enjoy with the whole family. Good food, friendly service, great views, excellent (massive) stream & mountain facing cottages just beside dense forest are the highlights of the resort. Lawns infront of the cottage gives ample opportunity for family sports - badminton etc. We went for 5 days and we still long for more. The cottages are aptly named misty greens as the mist descends from the mountains from nowhere. All places to visit in Waynad are just about 10-50km from the resort, which also provides for transport. But the best thing to do would be to spend lots of time at the resort!! It was a splendid and memorable holiday!!!

Room Tip: Go as a group and take the whole cottage number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Holiday Resort

Address: Lakkidi 673592, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Lakkidi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lakkidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Orchard Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.