We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Valley Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunrise Valley Resort to your Saves list
Sunrise Valley Resort
Kadassery, Vaduvanchal 673 581, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Vaduvanchal B&B and Inns
Kollam (Quilon), Kerala, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

we were there only for a day and its the plqace i best enjoyed. we went trecking , we went to see the private natural pool and the private waterfall. The rooms were clean and well maintained. our room was facing the meenmutty falls. The view was mindblowing. the pool doesnt have curfew so we could get into the pool even at ni8 which is great. The people were very friendly too

Room Tip: choose the "bull bull" cottage. it has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIjil, Manager at Sunrise Valley Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
A warm Greetings from Sunrise Valley Resort
We thank you for choosing sunrise Valley during your recent visit and taking time out to share with us your valuable feedback.We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your suggestion about the “bull bull” cottage . We assure you the same or even better experience your next visit. We thank you once again for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    40
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed at sunrise valley on last april, it's summer and climate was not that pleasant,bit hot also the vegetation was not lushy green,dried out falls. The stay was really great with nice and friendly staff, great room and excellent food. The pool is well maintained and the restaurant has a great forest view. We went to the near by sunrise valley point with is really breath taking. Overall it a great resort and worth the money u spend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIjil, Manager at Sunrise Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Greetings from Sunrise valley Resort

we thank you for choosing to stay at Sunrise valley during your
recent visit in April and share your valuable feedback. We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed serving you.It is such encouraging feedback from our valuable customers that helps us to strive to constantly improve the facilities and services provided. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.it will god if you can come in the monsoon to experience the rain and it will more greenish in wayanad.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Sunrise Valley Resort the next time
you're in Wayanad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We(5 couples) have spent 2 nights at sunrise valley resort in june'13. one night in deluxe room and 2nd night in romantic cottages. Both rooms are nice. Deluxe rooms(does not have seperate TV- 3 rooms have common sitting area with TV ) are bigger in size but romantic cottages has nice view from balcony. But overall both rooms are nice. Swimming pool is also neat and well maintained even in rainy season.
Staff : is very cooperative and taking quick action whenever asked for room service.
Food : food was good but I can not say it's best. (depends on individual choice too)
Location : located at nice scenic place but reaching the resort requires guidance from resort staff. It's 3 km inside in narrow roads from location shown in Google maps. vehicle bigger than TT can not reach resort.
Overall it's really nice resort to stay in wayanad.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms(does not have separate TV- 3 rooms have common sitting area with TV ) are bigger in siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIjil, Manager at Sunrise Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Greetings from Sunrise valley Resort

At the outset, we thank you for choosing to stay at Sunrise valley during your
recent visit in june and taking time out to share with us your valuable feedback. We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed serving you.It is such encouraging feedback from our valuable customers that helps us to strive to constantly improve the facilities and services provided. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Sunrise Valley Resort the next time
you're in Wayanad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Sunrise Valley Resort. We had driven down from Bangalore. It is a long drive which takes complete 7hrs to reach taking 2 stops.We had to take a left turn at Kolagappara but we missed this since the left turn is a very small one. We lost our way at Vaduvanchal again. We reached the main town and could not see a single sign which pointed us towards the resort. We kept calling the resort for directions but all that they provided was for us to take the road leading towards Kalpetta. From the main road the resort is a little interior since it is present at the edge of the hill/forest. Once we reached, the warm hospitality and wonderful view helped calm our frazzled nerves. Check-in was smooth and we were led to our room.

In the resort, each cottage is individual placed few feet apart. There is a big verandah with seating all around. You enter into the main part of the room which contains the bed, wardrobe, study and dress table and a table with 2 single sofas. There were also large French windows opening out onto the balcony. Bathroom was spacious but I felt they could improve on the quality of fittings used.

The restaurant of the resort is present right next to the swimming pool. We were very happy with the size and maintenance of the pool. Campfire was provided on Saturday night. If they had served some snacks it would have been awesome. There is a natural pool which is advertised and can be reached after a short walk down the hill. This might be a nice area during rainy season but at the time we went the water was stagnant and did not look very clean.

On our second day we asked the staff the directions to the sunset point and we were pleasantly surprised when the manager accompanied us till the spot. This was a well worth walk as the view from this point is breathtaking.

We went sightseeing on the third day. We asked the cab to take us to Vythri resort for lunch. After visiting this place I can safely say that I was extremely happy with my choice to stay at Sunrise Valley Resort. Only the quality of food was better at Vythri according to us.

I will end by saying that the trip was very good, relaxing and peaceful. We booked the resort during a promotional fare found on cleartrip.com. Hence it was well worth the price!! We thank the staff for giving us a wonderful holiday.

Facilities at the resort – swimming pool, TT table, Carrom table, Books to read, Cycles to roam around near the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIjil, Manager at Sunrise Valley Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Madam
Greetings from Sunrise Valley Resort
We thank you for choosing sunrise Valley during your recent visit and taking time out to share with us your valuable feedback.We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed your stay with us. We are starting to keep signage on the roads to help the guest to reach the resort also look into the quality of food . We assure you of a visible difference in this feature during your next visit. We thank you once again for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Sunrise. It was a memorable experience for my family. My daughters enjoyed the Pool, cycling and the Balcony from where we could see the sun rising amidst the valley. Everything about the facility is great, from the clean room and bathrooms to the view of the valley and thick vegetation. The night music and the bonfire was good. The early morning chirping of various birds and the cricket sound adds to the experience. The staff was very friendly and courteous always smiling and helpful. We could cover Wayanad (hired a taxi from the resort) in 2 days.
The thing that could be better are -
1. Better range of Veg Food (though the food that was served was tasty)
2. Would have loved to get morning tea by 6:30 (with the sun rise view)
3. More signs along the road to get there without confusion (atleast after Vaduvanchal and one near the Mosque)

All in all the resort is a great place to just enjoy the time with family and forget the hustle & bustle of daily life.

Room Tip: Staying at Romantic cottage gives an excellent view of sunrise and meenmutty falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIjil, Manager at Sunrise Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
At the outset, we thank you for choosing to stay at Sunrise valley during your recent visit and taking time out to share with us your valuable feedback. We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed serving you. It is such encouraging feedback from our valuable customers that helps us to strive to constantly improve the facilities and services provided. All your three suggestions will be taken care immediately and it will be visible in your next visit. Sign boards are under working from Sulthanbathery to the resort, more vegetarian dishes in the menu etc.
Once again thank you for the feedback to help others to know about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hi All,

I booked this hotel through makemytrip.com. I had opted for the highest class of the suite available in the hotel. When we checked in we were shocked to see that the hotel has no airconditioining facilities. It is hot and humid and we felt like in an oven inside the room. The room is spacious and the other amenities are reasonable.Food is okay. Staff are courteous. I would recommend to check-in this hotel in winter months only. Else, you will be disappointed.

We were also little concerned after hearing from the hotel authorities that cheetah / leopard had visited the hotel during the construction. I would not let my child out alone outide the room after hearing this. This wildlife, I understand is common for many other resorts in Wayanad (not specific to this alone).

Also, I had requested makemytrip.com to refund my balance money as I would be checking out earlier than my plan as I am not satisfied with the amenities. They are arguing that since we have not mentioned that airconditioning is available, they cannot provide any refund. This sounds reasonable from a normal broker point of view. I realised that makemytrip.com does not add any value other than providing photos of what the hotel has provided and act as a submissive broker to the hotel. It does not argue the case with the hotel to refund any unsatisfied customer. The helpdesk of makemytrip.com is not quite helpful as they were trying to pass on from one dept to other which we never understand and it is not our business also. So, there is no question of refund once money is paid and thousands of reasons will be told to discourage any refunds. What a world!! I thought it would have been better if I had directly called-up the hotel and checked about the amenities. Please make a call to the hotel before making your payment. Ask the following standard questions which I thought would help the readers:
1. Where is the location and access to the hotel with landmarks.
2. Airconditioning / heating facilities in the hotel.
3. Fan is available (Pedestal / Ceiling fan).
4. Swimming pool available? Kids pool available? Timing of the pool?
5. Breakfast is included in the rates? What type of breakfast? Veg / Non-veg? Breakfast timing?
6. Lunch and dinner menu? Alacarte is available? Veg / Non-veg? Timing for dinner / lunch?
7. What is the temperature and weather in the area at the period of your booking?
8. Any wild life visits the hotel?
9. What other facilities the hotel provides?
10. Sight seeing trips and plans to determine your duration of stay.
11.checkin policy
12.child policy.

Hope this review helps!!! My discussion with makemytrip.com is ongoing and will getback to you on what had happened finally soon.

Happy holidays!!!

Room Tip: All rooms does not have airconditioning. You can visit this hotel without any problem in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIjil, Manager at Sunrise Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir
Greetings from sunrise valley resort
At the outset, we thank you for choosing sunrise Valley during your recent visit and taking time out to share with us your valuable feedback. We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed your stay with us. With regard to the Air conditioning in the rooms, kindly accept our sincere apologies for the deficiency. As you know that the climate in Wayanad is cool, so most of the resorts don’t have the air condition in the rooms. Even though based on your valuable suggestion we have planned to install air-conditioning some rooms within one month time. We have already taken appropriate steps to prevent the animals coming from the forest to in our premises. It was happened only in our construction time .We are assuring you of visible difference in this feature during your next visit. We would request you to consider this to be an unusual incident and not a reflection of our normal standards.

It is only such feedback from our prestigious customers that will help us in our quest to constantly improve the facilities and services provided to our guest's. I look forward to the opportunity of meeting up with you personally during your next visit.

We thank you once again for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palakkad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hello Rijil and Team,
Thank you for the excellent service that is provided for our group of 26 members.The ambiance,service,location and food is excellent.Its worth money to spend the time at this resort.Suggesting more friends if they look for a true vacation in Wayanad.
The nature is close to the resort and so is the sunrise.

Room Tip: Worth for money .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Valley Resort

Address: Kadassery, Vaduvanchal 673 581, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Vaduvanchal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vaduvanchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the tranquility of nature at the sunrise Valley Resort, Wayanad, an exquisite resort situated amidst a dense forest. Sunrise Valley Resort Wayanad, is the perfect getaway for the curious and the adventurous – promising an invigorating, gratifying and rewarding experience that will last you for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sunrise Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.