We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sagnik

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murshidabad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sagnik
Save
You added Hotel Sagnik to your Saves list
77-Omrahaganj, Murshidabad 742149 , India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Murshidabad B&B and Inns
pune
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We, three couples all above 60 yrs, stayed at the hotel from 03 to 06 Feb 2013. The staff is excellent and have the attitude to serve whatever be the time. They served food even at 2300 hrs with smiling face. Some of the rooms are smaller than the others, but the price is the same. All basic amenities including a TV is available. Some rooms do not have a small rack in the bathroom for keeping the basic items like tooth brushes etc.
No lift at present. Awaiting fitment.
The noise at the Banquet hall on the first floor disturbs the guests. Sufficient space for parking available. Accommodation for drivers available at reasonable rate..
Food is for Indian palate, especially Bengali.
One ATM is located within the hotel building.
Few leaflets giving details of sightseeing are available at the hotel. However, the hotel does not provide other tourist facilities like hiring of cars, guides etc.
Finally the hotel is of excellent value for money. Rating 8/10

Room Tip: Thitrd floor rooms are bigger and also less noise. However lift is not yet available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Myself and my office colleagues were going to Murshidabad on 23.01.2013 and stayed there upto 26.01.2013 morning. Prior to booking in Hotel Sagnik we had no idea about the said Hotel but after staying in the said Hotel we thought that there cannot be a good hotel than Hotel Sagnik. The Hotel is nearby to Hazarduari and Murshidabad Station. All the Hotel staffs are very good, room service is excellent, quality of food is extremely good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is located at a 10minute rickshaw drive from the rail station. Interior is clean, rooms are nice and really good food. We stayed there for 2 nights in December 2012. The hotel staffs are nice people, helpful. Room service and house-keeping was good.

Room Tip: Book your room well in advance if its peak season. Higher floors will have less noise as its near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asansol, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I had chosen to go to Hotel Sagnik because of my previous experience and was not disappointed except for the fact that the area of relaxation in front of the hotel has diminished due to the restaurant coming up. The service was excellent the usual food was like homecooked food and the care with which it was served was the best part of the experience. Maybe since it is winter the first cup of tea is available only after 7am which may be a bit of a problem for early risers.The ground floor rooms could do with a little more doing up and a lift is a must so that people like us who have no choice but the groundfloor due to the absence of a lift can be more comfortable. The hotel caters to large groups including school children and they must make sure that this does not cause disturbance to other guests. It was a great experience on the whole and if I ever go back to Murshidabad This hotel will be my first choice. I think that says it all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed at the hotel during Bera festival.Its a good hotel to stay along with family members.Service is good but the service depends mostly on Lalan,the attendant boy.The Bengali cuisine is excellent.We tried Chinese once,it needs much improvement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Though the property (Sagnik Hotel) is small and doesn't have a great Location(But still in heart of town), but once you step inside, be prepared for an experience of a lifetime. The front office staff greeted us with a warm smile :)
Stayed there with extended family (20 heads). Liked the warm hospitality.

Room Tip: For local sightseeing - you can ask front-desk without any hesitation :) they really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I had booked this hotel for a family weekend, and had also asked them to recommend some other hotels at the other locations around. They had declined to do so, stating that their own levels of service is unlikely to be available at other places, and they would not risk reference. This had seemed a tall claim at that time, but was well borne out, and how !

They room for 3 was average at an optimistic point of view, and hygiene could improve. I guess the local standards did not call for much of that. Also, we had a slighly disturbed night on one of the days, when a party was being thrown in the adjoining banquet.

However, thats where my criticism ends. The desk staff are friendly and helpful to the extent of calling up travel operators, and even arguing with them on your behalf. They tell you places to visit (and ones to avoid), and also where you can make it by walking. Indeed, the main attraction, Hazarduari Palace, and the river are a short walk.

The service staff are fabulous, they will make tea and toast for you even when the restaurant claims its lunch hour. The food is cooked almost in front of you, and your choices are catered to. They will even run small errands for you. The owner himself sits at the reception in the evenings and has tea and shares tips with guests. The whole team seemed empowered to please, and I guess, its the owner's attitude which is flowing down.

They actually lined up outside when we left, with sincere pleas to return soon. And I would definitely.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sagnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sagnik

Address: 77-Omrahaganj, Murshidabad 742149 , India
Location: India > West Bengal > Murshidabad
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Murshidabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Hotel Sagnik Murshidabad, West Bengal, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sagnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.