We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Covelong Beach, Covelong 603112, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Covelong
delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“loved the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

great hotel with all the facility. a true resort to spend a few days on beach side

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    289
    122
    36
    12
See reviews for
201
213
40
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

The hotel is about 45 minutes drive (off peak) from the airport, city centre and economic zone, although peak times can take just over an hour, however, the benefit of being out of town and the hustle bustle and noise is well worth the trip.

Despite a mix up with our room bookings due to arriving early morning (our mistake not the hotels), the duty manager and night staff made every effort to make us welcome until our rooms were ready later on in the day.

Once we did get to the room (Ocean Villa) we were extremely happy. Each of the villas has the usual amenities and nothing out of the ordinary, however, the location is ideal with the french doors opening out on to a shared grass area (one other villa) which has a large sting hammock for each. Twenty yards further out you are onto the beach which faces onto the Bay of Bengal.

The entire complex is clean and tidy with a wealth of staff endlessly cleaning. The pool area is small but good enough for a quick dip if you have the time.

Two restaurants, one indoor and one at the beach front make dining reasonably interesting with choice of dishes quite varied although erring on seafood obviously.

The entire staff from manager down to security are friendly and polite and offer a great level of service in every area.

An excellent hotel and would be more than happy to stay there again for future visits

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

This was probably the best time we have ever had on a vacation. More than a year later, our family still recalls those magical moments. Excellent location, Out of the world service, Best staff in the world, mind blowing experience. Property is beach facing with beach hardly 100 yards from your room! And those 100 yards include a swimming pool.
Only drawback that I thought at that time, limited Spa services (no jacuzzi/ steam bath). Though we were promised that all that would be rectified soon. Hope it's done now.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Spa
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Second visit to this hotel

Just had 4 nights here, I stayed in one of the Villa's, these are all located with Sea views, in fact the end of your garden is the start of Beach. I really enjoyed my stay here, the staff are very attentative and very welcoming. The rooms are quite spacious, especially for 1.

The food at all the restaurants is very good, I was quite surprised to be honest.

There is a small Gym and a Spa which all my colleagues used but I was to late to book.

The pool is in need of some attention, lights hanging off near the Pool Bar, needs a lick of paint here and there.

Despite being on the Beach the security is still tight so no problems there.

Morning breakfast is good with a varied choice on offer. The Bar in the main Hotel has sport channels for your soccer and football fix too.

Overall I would stay again, funny how the resort turns into a Hitchcock movie at about 18:00pm when all the crows meet in the trees, it's quite a spectacle.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Great location, lovely grounds. Hotel well past its prime, in need of renovations. Staff very good but as its a long way from anything, they have a captive market. Food & drink very expensive even by Western standards. eg. Tea cost Rs270 for 2 people? In India?? Mailed a letter from the hotel to Chennai, got charged Rs15 for the stamp, never had to pay for a stamp before at a hotel. Food was good, enjoyed a seafood buffer BBQ which was excellent but with "luxury" tax this worked out at Rs2,200 per person. Bit much for some shrimp on the barbie. Use of internet is expensive, Rs150 per half hour.

The foyer is small, always lots of guests arriving & leaving so makes it very busy. Foyer opens onto terrace which is lovely but marred by noise from foyer.

Getting taxis very difficult, had to call cabs from Chennai. There are better value hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

working for an Outsourcing Company in Chennai.I have been to most of the Best hotles in Chennai on Business reasons but heard very high about this place...., Got an opprtunity to visit this place when my Clients from US came down on a Business visit.. i heard that one of the restaurents over here normally catches the live Fish from the pond & prepares the fish fry or anything expected out of it as per the request. Well i was excited to see this happening but mind me i am a Veg. so wouldn't like to see that happeining.
We booked a Cottage for the Clients near the Beach side & it was lovely feeling... though little expensive but worth for renting it at least for a life time experience... Ours was Cost to the Company :), In the evening we stepped into the Restaurent for dinning... It was a Bufet having a combination of Indian & Continental dishes... There were many Options to choose for Starters, Main Course, Desserts & guess what even the Chats were around the corner.
Well i was happy by getting tasted Pani puri, Soup, Dhokla, Ladiesfinger Vegetable, Samosa, Mixed panneer, Cali-Allo, Black Dal, Rice, Pulav, Rotis & nans were available as usual, & no doubt you will find the typical South Indian dishes as well in the menu... so as the pastas... trust i though was not able to eat more as i wanted to taste almost everything on teh Veg Menu, Got to the desert with Icecreame having around 5 flavours, & there were 4 types of Halwas including my altime favourite carrot Halwa.. Trust me it was like a feast on that day..., I was just wondering the name of the place should be changed as few Vegies might think it is only Non- Veg you get tasty over there, but trust me there is more to it than what is there in the name for vegies :) & i heard from my Folks that Non- Veg dishes were equally awesome... could see my self the Tandoori Kababs they were looking Lush red... gives a perfect belnd of cooked perfectly...,
What was most appealing was you will find the Incharge Shef going round & noting the reactions of there customers no doubt can understand he is trying to read the reactions of all his customers.
After having a heavy dinner we went on to the Beach of the Hotle & it was awesome... the Breeze & it was a Full Moon day it perfectly added to the beauty..., Trust me i was just thinking that God had made the whole day & night Perfect for us.
After relaxing on the Beach we have guided the Clients to there beautiful Cottage & there on we took our car & drived back to Chennai on the Beautiful ECR Road... There is lot to say but i need to rush for a Work....,

Guys u can visit this place & trust me you will expreience the lifetime experience which can't be measured with Money...!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Excellent service by the hotel staff and very well maintained ambience

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai

Address: Covelong Beach, Covelong 603112, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Covelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Covelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai, built on the ramparts of an old Dutch fort, is now riding on a fresh new wave. Yet it remains the charming beach resort that's almost one with the Bay of Bengal. Where fun lovers return for good times. There's a nice new buzz however. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fisherman`s Cove, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.