We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach villa and sea view...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai

Save Saved
You added Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Covelong Beach, Covelong 603112, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Covelong
Annecy-le-Vieux, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beach villa and sea view...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

waou. the beach in front of your cottage is the must. and an outdoor shower..... :-)

the service is great.

Be careful, do not accept for a free icecream at the seagull. I fly back highly sick....
The bayview restaurant is nice: ask for the lobster. expensive but delicious.

The SPA; i do recommand deep tissus massage, good price for one hour massage.

the beach is just nice and the sea warm...

the garden and swimming pool are also nice.

Room Tip: choose cottage N10 in front of the beach.. and hamac,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    250
    106
    29
    10
See reviews for
174
189
38
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We visited tis place on June 14 2014 and stayed for two days. We were there for a bday celebration.

We booked for a Deluxe room in the new building on the first floor and the same was allotted. We checked in late and the room was ready for us. The check in process was a breeze. On arrival they gave a wet towel and a welcome drink, which was really refreshing for the heat.

About room - Initially few things were missing in the room like, the water bottles and later it was provided when asked for. The light settings were good. All basic amenities were present. I really loved the balcony with the couch.
The bathroom was very spacious which had a separate shower and toilet area but a single door which can only slide on any one side at a time. Ppl who are not used of using tissue papers in the toilet would really find it difficult cos there is no option of using water. The bath tub was cool and the tv near the bath tub doesn't serve the purpose since the viewing angle is not apt.

Property - One can enjoy their private beach. Its clean unlike the other beaches. The pool inside the premises is almost crowded. This property is wide spread with cottages and villas.

Parking - Not satisfied with the parking, the self parking place is outside the gate which is really annoying to walk and then take the car.

Restaurant & Food - I should really appreciate their In-room dining, taste was excellent and I really liked it. Food was served very quick max 20 mins. The cost was reasonable.

The "Bay view" restaurant, near the beach is the worst one. The taste is so bad! and the cost is so high. It doesn't keep up the quality of a star hotel. The management should look into this or at least change their chefs for this restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the first floor in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank You for your detailed observation on each and every service and genuine feedback

Looking forward to your next visit

Kind regards
B C Kumar
General Manager
boriah.kumar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to lunch buffet at Fishermans cove today.
Btw why are they called Fishermans cove. Is it because they are situated near the fishing area. Must be since there was only 2 seafood dishes on the menu. I can not figure why people come here, since there are lots of other places in Chennai where the ambience is better and food is wonderful - Pls think of Raintree, Barbaque nation, Kebab corner (Radisson) when you make a decision to come to this place for lunch buffet.
The spread is pathetic - The buffet is priced @ 1700 (with tax) per person.
The service is poor - why ? well no one serves with a smile (maybe all the smile is reserved only to the videsi babus who tip in dollars in any) , no one to pick the empty plates, no one to refill the glasses. This was my first and if I have any ounce of sense I will not go here ever again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback back

Kindly accept our sincere apologizes for not meeting up to your expectation at the Vivanta by Taj Fisherman’s Cove, Chennai on your recent visit.

We will take necessary corrective measures and assure of our best service on your future visit.

Thank you
B C Kumar
General Manager
boriah.kumar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first thing I would like to say is that this resort has a varied accommodations and your experience would depend on if the type suites your needs.And sadly even after an upgrade and change of rooms I couldn't enjoy my stay much ,not because of any problem in room or resort but because my liking was somewhere else i.e. sea view cottages or garden cottages closer to the beach n pool.Anyways it is always the same case in these type big resorts with varied accommodations.
Its a reasonably good resort but the staff is high quality and that is what makes it a special resort. I had food at their seagull restaurant and it was ok nothing great but breakfast was very good and by the second night the chef noted my concern and the dinner was much much better [ and unfortunately there was no dinner buffets during both days of my stay ]
Overall its definitely a recommended resort but all through my stay and right through my arrival I felt something missing [I am still figuring out what it could be]

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you would like to get away from the madding crowd, have time to yourself, enjoy time with the family, unwind and relax, then Fish Cove is the place to go to! The food on offer, in a very well laid out menu makes for a great completion of the best you can ask for to complete a perfect holiday or just a getaway!

Room Tip: The environment is enchanting to say the very least, especially if you can get a cottage, preferably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best beach hotel in Chennai, Rooms are big size with full bath, Best for Couples, Restaurants serve South Indian Foods, Staff are friendly and helpful, Private beach with safe and security, valve for money

Room Tip: Beach View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notodden, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there monday to friday on a business trip in June 2014.
Staff were very friendly and service-minded, no language-barrier to speak of either.

Prices, at least for the sea-view rooms in the hotel, were very reasonable. They charge for Wi-Fi, but given the low price-range of the rooms, I didn't mind much. Wasn't that expensive either (think it was about 300 Rupees for 2 hours).

Stayed there for business, were we left early and returned late, so we didn't get to take advantage of any of the resorts' features. We only tried the pool one early morning for a refreshing start of the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai

Address: Covelong Beach, Covelong 603112, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Covelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Covelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai, built on the ramparts of an old Dutch fort, is now riding on a fresh new wave. Yet it remains the charming beach resort that's almost one with the Bay of Bengal. Where fun lovers return for good times. There's a nice new buzz however. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fisherman`s Cove, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.