We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SURPRISINGLY SURPRISED” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linge Hotel Elst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Linge Hotel Elst to your Saves list
Linge Hotel Elst
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorpsstraat 23b, 6661 EE, 6661 Elst, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elst
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“SURPRISINGLY SURPRISED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

WE have been living and traveling in Europe for over 25 years. As you can guess, we have stayed at many he hotels from two star to five star of which some were good and some were terrible. So, when we stayed at the Linge Hotel Elst we were surprisingly surprised.

The hotel is located in the center of Elst and has loads of off street parking. You can park your car and walk around town to soak in the local environment. We have been to Amsterdam, Rotterdam and other parts in the Netherlands west. However, this was the first time we were able to visit the east.

The staff at the hotel is friendly and helpful. The make suggestions on what to see and where to go.

The rooms are somewhat small, but that is not unusual in the Netherlands. They were clean and well appointed. You do not have a refrigerator in the room, but there are plenty of places to which you can walk to get snacks and drinks. We had a room on the first floor which had a patio,
two chairs and a small table.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and is a buffet style. It is above a continental breakfast but not a full board. You have selections of cheeses, bread, cereal, yogurt, coffee, meats, etc. We were able to ask for a tray to prepare plates to take back to the room.

The hotel is very pet friendly but you need to tell them you are traveling with a pet. There is a charge for the pets.

The hotel is family run and the staff takes great pride in the hotel, the service and the community. Hats off to the staff for making our stay very pleasant.

Parking is free.

For those traveling in the summer and like to have air conditioning, there is no air conditioning but a fan is provided.

If you are in the area, I would highly recommend staying in the LIngue Hotel Elst which is rated by the Netherland rating service with 3 stars, but provides its guests with 4 star service.

Room Tip: Traveling with a pet - ask for a first floor room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overnight stay on way to the ferry (11/2 hr away) good clean modern hotel, reasonably priced and includes continental breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable and the staff were polite, helpful and spoke English. In a nice location with restaraunts and shops on the doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Wanted to go to an airshow at Volkel (half hour drive south of Elst) and this hotel kept coming up on all hotel websites as being one of the best in the area.

I wasn't disappointed with the location, friendliness of the staff, who all spoken excellent English, and was amazed by the quality of the restaurant attached to the hotel (have the weinershnitzel, it's amazing).

The only downside, if you could call it one, was that the tea making facilities were not geared up towards to the British palette. Plenty of coffee to hand but not that much in the way of tea!

But this is only a minor setback as the hotel itself was more than comfortable for a short stay, and the town of Elst is ideally located for exploring the local area. Just pop on a train at the near by station (5 minute walk away) and you are only a few minutes from Arnhem (make sure you visit the Airborne Museum at Oosterbeek) or Nijmegen, Germany and the town on Kleve is just 30 minutes by car.

Would like to go back in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side have a good view of the church but you may be disturbed by the bells chiming the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We found this a great place to stay for a visit to Arnhem and surrounding area. This was our second visit - the first one had been 7 years ago - and the reception had even registered that fact. We were quite surprised and pleased to be welcomed back without any prompting on our part. The hotel had been extended since our last stay - the result was that the breakfast room was larger and busier than before but that did not affect the excellent choice of foods. I was able to use the internet access in the breakfast room. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms delightfully furnished. And for me one of the big plus factors was that it had a hair dryer - I never take my own. There is a pavement restaurant at the front where we had dinner - it was excellent. It is a lovely relaxed typical rural town where all the locals are going about their business. We would definitely recommend this to others and would return ourselves at a future date.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed overnight in this pleasantly surprising hotel in a room less than $100 with complimentary breakfast! Up until then we were in pretty expensive high end hotels with mostly annoying inconveniences and disappointments. This place was clean, friendly and helpful staff and great value! We almost turned back to stay longer and enjoy the lovely town of Elst with rustic charm, smiling relaxed people enjoying the many outdoor cafes and interesting shops..but had other pressing commitments. A place to definitely come back! It's a no frills type of place, but really don't need much more here. The breakfast had a nice selection with fresh fruit and you better get there early for the pastries ! The attached restaurant, Grand Cafe De Vereniging, has wonderful fresh food and pleasant wait staff and hard working owner! My husband is large 240 lbs and the small twin beds were very comfortable and quiet rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed here for a night whilst on a Battlefield tour of the area round Arnhem and Nijmegen, The area it is located in is very quiet, which was perfect after a busy day travelling around. We had a twin room, it was a perfect size, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless. We didn't need to have any real dealings with the staff but when we did they were polite and friendly. The breakfast was continental- cereals, rolls, bread, cooked meats, cheeses, yoghurts, tea and coffee- sometimes that's a nice change from a greasy fry up!

We ate in the restaurant and chose the 3 course menu for €22.50 each, the food was really good-very tasty and well presented.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a quiet place to relax in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

A clean hotel, friendly staff ,excellent food. What more could you want

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linge Hotel Elst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linge Hotel Elst

Address: Dorpsstraat 23b, 6661 EE, 6661 Elst, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Elst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Linge Hotel Elst 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linge Hotel Elst is offering you 20 comfortable decorated rooms wich are accommodated with bath and/or shower, telephone, TV, laptop safe, coffee/tea facilities, free internet and a dvd-player.We also have an elevator, Honeymoon suite, a special room for disabled people and non-smoking rooms.We are happy to welcome you in the Grand-Cafe for lunch or an a la carte dinner. You can also choose for the weekly changing four course menu. Our hotel offers the standard services you can expect such as: large breakfast buffet, free parking space, laundry, dvd rental service, dry-clean service and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Linge Hotel Elst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linge Hotel Arnhem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linge Hotel Elst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.