We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Het Wapen Van Elst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Het Wapen Van Elst to your Saves list
Het Wapen Van Elst
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorpsstraat 28 | Elst, 6661 EL Elst, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elst
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This place had possibly the quickest time for booking in I have had, which was good as I had just driven a long way. The room was average and a little noisy in the evening thanks to people outside of the hotel, but it was comfy and clean, although a bit small.
I do recommend trying the food in the restaurant downstairs as not only are the staff friendly and helpful but the food is fantastic and in great quantities. I had the tastiest chocolate brownie I had ever eaten!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elst, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Het Wapen van Elst is a nice hotel with friendly staff. It has a spatous wintergarden an du Sunny and lively terrace. The hotel is situaties in the centre of the village of Elst, a regional centre in between the cities of Arnhem and Nijmegen and not far from the German border. It's located in the shopping street, where you can find a variety of shops, cafes and restaurants. The hotel itself has a restaurant with a great choice in it's menu, a cosy bar and a separate breakfast room (Buffet).

Room Tip: A part of the rooms has been redecorated, the refurbished rooms are very fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

From the moment I arrived the hotel staff could not have been more helpfull. I was shown how to use the key (This amused me, because I have been using thse type of key's for years).
The room was very clean, comfortable & very spacious.
The bar area was very inviting, as was the terrace on the front.
The food was very well prepared & presented & at a resonable price, pleny of choice to. A nice little gesture was a menu in English, allthough I am sure the staff would have interpreted if need be.
The drinks were at a resonable price, as was the choice.
I was really happy to be provided with secure overnight shelter for my cycle.
A great location about 3- 4 mile away from Arnhem centre.
A great nights sleep, no street noise, & a very good breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in hotel Het Wapen Van Elst last year it was ouite convenete and price wise to staying in Amsterdam. It is about 50 miles from Amsterdam,also close to Niemegen and Arnham
transportation tp these locations is easy as trams busses trains rund on a very good schedule
the rate fare is very good. As far as we are concerned food and lodging is graet in the town of Elst. There is shopping good food as well you can walk any where with out any trouble. We
would go back anytime also train travel to Germany is easy and you can return the same day if
you want because most cities or villages are not to far away.

Room Tip: corner rooms are more quite plus they have ac but there are going add ac to all rooms but check fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

there are only 2 hotels in Elst and if that's where you need to be there isn't much choice. The hotels, both on the main street, are a short walk to the train.
The front desk staff was less than helpful.
Our room on the first floor facing the street (much to my surprise) was quiet. You don't want to be on a higher floor because the elevator only goes to the first floor. The room was tiny and the beds could have used new mattresses.
Breakfast was included in our room rate and was adequate. However the first morning there were no coffee cups. we hunted around the breakfast room, looked for staff before taking matters into our own hands and found some behind the bar.
The hotel has a full service restaurant where 4 of us enjoyed a delicious dinner.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Het Wapen Van Elst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Het Wapen Van Elst

Address: Dorpsstraat 28 | Elst, 6661 EL Elst, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Elst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Het Wapen Van Elst 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Het Wapen Van Elst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Wapen Van Elst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.