We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, very beautiful area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lifestyle Hotel Matra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lifestyle Hotel Matra to your Saves list
Lifestyle Hotel Matra
Matrahaza, Matrahaza H-3233, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matrahaza
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, very beautiful area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Mátra is a very beautiful countryside of Hungary.
We spent some days in the heart of it by staying in this hotel. Facilities of the hotel are outstanding especially the park having great playground equipments.
Food was very good and the menu had wide-range offers.
Spa is also great including bright and spacy kid room and fitness room.
View of the restaurant, spa and several rooms is breathtaking.

Only disadvantage was the very dry and hot air in the room that we could not control in sustainable way neither with the thermostat nor using the window.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHM3233, Director of Sales at Lifestyle Hotel Matra, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Cathy_Bear,

Your brief summary of your stay in our LIFESTYLE HOTEL MATRA****superior hopefully will inspire many people to book our hotel since it is just an “Excellent hotel” as you say.

Thank you for the kind compliment on our service and facilities, however I am sorry that you have experienced some problem with the control of our heating system. We will make immediate steps to find out what the reason was and fix it, if it still exists.
We would be more than happy to welcome you again and prove that we keep up the high level of our service continuously.
Kind Regards,

Miklós Gaál
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
16
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Szekesfehervar, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hotel is located in the beautiful hills of Matra. From spring to autumn there are several ways to spend your holiday actively. You can go hiking, fishing, riding segway, go-kart etc. In wintertime there are excellent skiing facilities.

The hotel's staff is very friendly and helpful. Pets are welcomed there. The rooms are very clean, they are anti-allergic, and the air in the rooms, too. There is a great variety of very-very delicious food in the restaurant, from bio and vegetarian to typical Hungarian.

The only thing I was not competely satisfied was the temperature of the water in the wellnes area. I really liked the separated natural sauna.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHM3233, Manager at Lifestyle Hotel Matra, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear László R,

First of all, let me thank you for your generous comment you wrote on Tripadvisor.com about your stay at LIFESTYLE HOTEL MÁTRA****superior.
It was a pleasure to read your words about the beautiful hills of Mátra and the wide range of facilities it offers our guests. I was really happy to learn that my colleagues were friendly and helpful throughout your stay and that you enjoyed the delicious food in our restaurant.
I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the temperature of the water in the wellness area. I really hope that during your next stay it will have the proper temperature.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our LIFESTYLE HOTEL MÁTRA****superior, soon!

With kind regards,
Katalin Hegedűs
Leisure Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, CYP N
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Nice place and helpful staff. Only for a night business trip but really enjoyable, relaxing place. Hope will have a chance to spend more days with family... Only small advise is for variety at dinner can improve, rest are alright.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHM3233, Manager at Lifestyle Hotel Matra, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Erhan,

I am glad that you liked our LIFESTYLE HOTEL MÁTRA****superior during your business trip.
Also thank you for the advise on the dinner selection, I am sure you will be satisfied with it on your return to our hotel with your family.

Thank you you for recommending us to the travel community and hope to welcome you soon at LIFESTYLE HOTEL MÁTRA****superior!

With best regards,
Katalin Hegedűs
Leisure Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This could be a good hotel with a little more effort.

I have been twice in this hotel. First (a year or two before) we have visited it as a family with a small kid and we were slightly disappointed. But the location is nice so I thought we should give them a second chance. This second time we spent a few days there with my wife alone. Unfortunatelly we had to face the same stupid mistakes again.

What is good here:
- the design of the hotel is nice
- the rooms are good and can be described as clean
- the location is scenic very nice especially during winter
- most of the staff are kind and well-mannered
- they have all the neccessary facilities and everything is spacious

What is bad:
The food. What they have is not a restaurant but a canteen. The taste of the food is not that bad but the selection and variety is terrible. They define themself as a four stars superior 'lifestlye' hotel but the food selection reminds me of a canteen - very plain and very boring kind of stuff you can eat even in the last pub. You can't find any gastronomical value nor fantasy in their food offering just the very common old-fashion canteen food. And be quick because some of the offerings run out early. Four stars superior???

The spa. The spa could be good if anyone there would take a good care of it. They have an OK pool several saunas and some showers. But the showers are lacking COLD water. For five or such suna chambers they have only ONE shower which can give you cold water for ONE single second of every minute. All the other showers are giving you tepid water.
There are relaxing beds around the pool. They have two kind of beds: one for sitting and the other which can be tilted for sleeping. All the sleeping beds are placed around the baby pool - have a nice rest if you can! - or on wooden pier-like thing what is quaking for every step.
The water in the pool is not warm enough, ecpecially not for kids.

Our most funny experience happened at the pool bar. There were a waitress in staff uniform standing in the bar serving drinks so we went there and asked for a banana-shake and for an alcohol-free cocktail. My wife pointed at a drink in the menu and asked the oppinion of the waitress but the girl said she never tired it. Uhh, we quickly changed our mind and asked for the simliest coctail we found in their menu. After 10 minutes the waitress kindly asked for our patiece and told us the drinks will be ready soon. After about 15 minutes a second a man in staff uniform arrived and started to help our waitress creating the drinks. After about 25 minutes a third staff member arrived and he also assisted them. So after 30 minutes of waiting we got our banana-shake and the simle cocktail. Later we found out who these people were: the first girl was the cosmetician, the men who arrived to help her was the bath keeper and the third was a bar mixer from the lobby :) I do not blame a commetitian nor a bath keeper if they cant mix a cocktail but I blame the manager who gave them that task! In a four stars superior hotel!??

I doubt we will go to this hotel again, there are other good looking hotels in Matra I would try first.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room facing the valley not the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHM3233, Manager at Lifestyle Hotel Matra, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Photoandtravel,

First of all, thank you for choosing our LIFESTYLE HOTEL MÁTRA****superior for your family holiday with your small child and the second time with your wife.
Also, thank you for your detailed review on our property.
I was glad to read that you liked the location and the design of the hotel and that you were satisfied with the service of my colleagues during your recent stay.
I regret to read that we did not meet your expectations regarding the buffet dinner and the spa services.
It is our top priority to provide a very high level of services for all our guests, therefore we take our guests’ comments very serious and we made the necessary steps to avoid future repeat of similar issues, to what happened in the wellness bar.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Katalin Hegedűs
Leisure Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This has been our second stay in the hotel after February's Valentine's day package. This time, we stayed for three nights.

We travelled by public transportation, so we appreciated that the coach stops 60 meters away from the hotel.

When you look at the building itself, it may be obvious for some that it has socialist roots, but the proprietors obviously worked very hard to modernise it, and I found no trace of it inside the building.

The staff is really helpful, and extremely kind and polite from the reception to the wellness area. They always had a smile and a nice word. I'm reading other reviews here, and some say that the staff were in trouble when they had to use English. If that's true, it needs be corrected, because in Hungarian the service seemed flawless.

The room (standard) was spacious, clean, nicely furnished. My only complaint is the heating system which was a bit noisy.

For relaxation, the spa area is excellent. However, they could use a pool for swimming.

As far as food is concerned, I had no problem with what the buffet offered. For breakfast, they always had something special to spice up the usual.

All in all, it was a great relaxation before Christmas.

Room Tip: As far as standard rooms are concerned, you have to choose between a view of Kékes or a balcony (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHM3233, Manager at Lifestyle Hotel Matra, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Attila K,

Thank you very much for your valuable time taken to post a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our LIFESTYLE HOTEL MÁTRA****superior.

I am glad that this was the second time you spent with us in the Mátra. Your compliments regarding the location and the interior design of the hotel as well as the guests’ rooms and the selection of breakfast buffet are highly appreciated. I would like to thank you for highlighting that you found our staff really helpful and extremely kind and polite.
We are really looking forward to greeting you again at our LIFESTYLE HOTEL MÁTRA****superior.

Kind regards,
Katalin Hegedűs
Leisure Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

.Direct booking with hotel: easy
.Reception: too many staff turning around, most of them with very limited english language
.Junior suite: very good, and could be excellent with an additional shelve in the bathroom/toilet, and more hangers in the changing room (in winter, a family with a kid has a lot of stuff/clothes).
.Heating system too much noisy, and not the most healthy (ventilation)
.Great terrasse.Balcony over the forest (back side of the hotel)
.The hotel is new (2012) and the carpets, wallls, towels, etc..., are still in good shape.
.The dinner buffet was good on saturday evening, average on sunday, poor on monday.
.The morning breakfast was just average, with regular service staff during on week-end, but poor during week days.
.The SPA was quite good, well equipped, clean, with staff trying to help, dispite being very limited in any other language than the local one.
.Large, good, safe parking.
.Service was poor, lacking professionalism, organisation and supervision. Staff badly trained except those who have worked abroad in the tourism sector. It seems that even the management has not made the effort the test the hotel services from the client' side. This is a well known and recurrent problem in Hungary, and it probably has cultural/historical roots. Clients never feel home, that the staff care for them, that the management is doing efforts to make their stay better, to personalise the service, to engage confidence, to find out what would please or make feel mor comfortable.

Room Tip: Junior suite, 3rd floor, wit large balcony, forest side/view: best value/money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHM3233, Director of Sales at Lifestyle Hotel Matra, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Serge D,

Thank you for your very detailed and candid comment on our hotel. Tripadvisor’s readers who follow our comments can confirm that we are open not just for compliments but also for criticism, since our goal is to reach the highest level of guest/service experience. Summarizing your pros and cons we believe all in all you and your family had a nice time in our LIFESTYLE HOTEL MÁTRA*** superior. However we are sorry to learn, that some of our services was not spotless during your stay. We take into consideration your proposals regarding bathroom and changing room furniture. It would make us happy if we could welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Miklos Gaál
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nice room and infrastructure. Average service and good location! Big parking, nice rooms with a view! Wellness ok and bowling facilities! Not really outstanding customer oriented! Bar is not too big and offer of wine was quite below our expectations!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHM3233, Manager at Lifestyle Hotel Matra, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing LIFESTYLE HOTEL MÁTRA****superior. We appreciate your time you took to write your review. I was happy to read that you liked the nice rooms and the infrastructure we offer at our LIFESTYLE HOTEL MÁTRA****superior. We are very sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied with the customer service you experienced. Customer experience is a top priority for us, and we do our best to increase our guests’ satisfaction. I hope you will soon return to our hotel and we will do everything possible to ensure that your next stay completely meets your expectations.

Best regards,

Katalin Hegedűs
Leisure Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lifestyle Hotel Matra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifestyle Hotel Matra

Address: Matrahaza, Matrahaza H-3233, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Matrahaza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matrahaza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIFESTYLE HOTEL MÁTRA****superior is the first lifestyle hotel in Hungary where Guests can not only relax but try to achieve a complete life with physical, emotional, social, spiritual and mental harmony. The hotel is near Hungary’s highest peak, the 1014 metre high Kékes soars in the Mátra Mountains, offering guests all year round programmes and activities tailored to their requirements, such as Nordic walking, Segways tours, clay pigeon shooting, rock climbing or skiing.The hotel’s new, holistic AMETHYST SPA’s treatments are designed to gently support both the skin and soul and massages make you feel good and have proven healing and antidepressant effects. We pamper our Guests with special massaging movements during all facial treatments: while the mask works its magic, we gently rub through the hands, arms and the feet too with warm massage oils.All this would not be complete without the culinary assortment available for every stage and rhythm of one’s life: traditional Hungarian flavours and local Palóc dishes, homemade sauces and drinks, with products from local producers, lifestyle menus, including vegetarian, paleo and fitness diet dishes. The emphasis is always and everywhere on the possibility of choice, to allow our Guests to find the most suitable programme for their lifestyle and age, be it physical activity, relaxation, eating or spiritual rejuvenation.Visit us to learn about yourself and to explore the treasures of the Mátra Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lifestyle Hotel Matra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lifestyle Hotel Matra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.