We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week of bliss at the magical Echo Valley Ranch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Valley Ranch & Spa

Save Saved
You added Echo Valley Ranch & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Echo Valley Ranch & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   10635 Jesmond Road, Jesmond, British Columbia V0K 1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jesmond
GreenLeadersSilver level
Foster, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A week of bliss at the magical Echo Valley Ranch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I discovered Echo Valley through trip advisor and were so impressed with the reviews that we decided to come for a week stay for our honeymoon. To avoid reiterating what everyone else has already said, I will just say that we went in with high expectations, and those expectations were blown away.

I would like to particularly commend the staff, each of whom exemplifies the gold standard of service; being friendly and attentive without being pushy, annoying, or overbearing. And then there is the food. Chef Jason, Yalapoorn, and the many other staff members who help out in the kitchen deserve special recognition. We love to eat, and each meal was a truly unique and amazing experience.

Finally, we stayed in the honeymoon cabin, which is tops for privacy and comfort. Those expecting a room comparable to a four star room in an urban hotel might be a little disappointed, as the room could use some updating, particularly in the bathroom. However, everything was spotless and even luxurious compared to any "cabin-style" accomodations I have stayed in.

We will be going back to EV Ranch again and again. Don't pass up the opportunity to experience this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
77
93
17
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a three-day stay at EVR and wish we had planned a longer stay. The range of activities — horseback riding, mountain biking, hiking, gold panning, 4x4 expeditions, etc... — was incredible, and the spa treatments helped ache our tired bones at night. The fantastic comfort food, warm hospitality and friendly guests all added to a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Words only begin to describe the experience Echo Valley offers, felt strangely like coming home. The staff were gracious and hospitable, treating you like an old family friend rather than a stuffy guest. the room had a gorgeous view and was clean and fresh, many private deck spots to be enjoyed on nice days that attach to the various buildings, mostly classically Thai inspired timber frame, west coast meets the far east, with the horses and team of sheepdogs that complete the picture. There is also a large heard of beef grazing about on the hillsides and pastures, gorgeous animals that seem remarkably happy, seems like they have it made to me.

The food was phenomenal throughout the stay, from the freshly made to order breakfast to the gorgeous fresh local salmon, we enjoyed every bite

Despite the long drive in it is worth the trip, plan to stay longer than you had thought, the morning horseback rides or hiking trails are always waiting for one more day without your cellphone in service...the quiet of the rolling grass hills is incredible. I even found wild juniper berries growing on the hillside, that fresh scent will forever remind me of the wonderful people and incredible place that is Echo Valley. A must visit for anyone who enjoys horses and true wilderness setting, with all the comforts of a modern hotel and spa, impressed with everything they had to offer and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had been looking for a Dude Ranch (with Spa!) for a couple years when my sister found Echo Valley listed in one of her horse magazines. Uny (who books the reservations for Echo Valley) was a fantastic resource in answering all our questions, helping place us in a great room and following up with us before our visit. We were greeted with a glass of champagne by Allen who took us on a tour of the property showing us everything that was available to do. We took advantage of the spa, hiking, horseback riding, and morning yoga. They also had mountain bikes available and I took a short ride on one of the trails surrounding the ranch. I was so excited when I saw a bear in the wild...but not to worry, the dogs chase the bears away. It is very safe. If you LOVE food, come to Echo Valley. Jason and his kitchen staff serve a tasty feast at every meal. Mealtime was one of my favorite events. It is served family style so everyone staying a the ranch has the opportunity to meet and talk over meals. You won't be disappointed with your trip to Echo Valley.

Room Tip: If you are traveling solo or with friends, ask to stay in the main lodge where the meals are served...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our weekend was a mother , daughter get away. We loved the Echo Ranch. The host and all the staff were more than friendly and willing to help with anything we needed. Food was wonderful a great chef and we loved our spa treatment and had a great horseback ride in the country . We enjoyed all the border collie dogs and the weather could not have been any better along with all the trees turning and just an amazing spot to relax. Just what mother and daughter need.
Thanks much Barb

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Echo Valley Ranch is a unique sanctuary for anyone who desires a time of quiet, relaxation, and the beauty of nature in Canada. This remarkable "ranch" has something for everyone and is truly family friendly. With horses to ride, trails to walk, Mt. Bowman to hike, panning for gold in the Fraser Canyon, Echo Valley provides all of these opportunities when you come here. This ranch is actually the "home" of Nan and Norm Dove, who consider themselves blessed to have encountered so many unique and different people that come together at the ranch. They both reflect a welcoming spirit and offer great hospitality, especially with the creative culinary delights prepared by their chef for all three meals. Not to mention the "treasure" of the Thai masseuses who are available to everyone daily, to give you an incredible masssage which puts the finishing touches on your active day. The entire staff of this ranch works together to make your stay completely enjoyable, especially with a traditional Thai meal on Thursday evenings. Delicious food, a selection of wines and beer, together with an atmostphere of gracious hosting makes this "ranch" truly "echo" a warm welcome into the family spirit that Nan & Norm Dove want all of their guests to feel and remember. The accommodations are comfortable and clean on a 24/7 basis. This alone demonstrates the high quality and attention that is given to each guest. Be sure to make Echo Valley Ranch your next vacation reservation. You will be glad that you did!

Room Tip: All accomodations at this ranch are truly comfortable, clean, and guarantee your privacy. I could r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Everything and more than I had hoped for in a solo vacation! The physical and spiritual beauty of the ranch is impossible to miss once you are there as you are completely enveloped by it. Add a wonderful caring staff and you have a top notch vacation destination. As a solo traveler you never really know what you will find and in this case I found warmth, caring and stellar service starting with the planning stages and booking right thru my 5 night stay. The family style meals encourage guests to mingle and relax together. There are plenty of planned/guided activities to choose from or if you prefer you can “do your own thing” with as much or little help from the staff as you want.

The accommodations – I had a wonderful room and private bath in the main lodge. The bathroom was stocked with EVR labeled toiletries that I liked better than what I had brought with me.

The food - bountiful, fresh and absolutely delicious!! Jason and Claudia work their magic breakfast, lunch and dinner in an open kitchen off the dining room so if you want to know “what’s cooking” just ask. On Thursdays the Thai staff makes dinner, serving up several scrumptious selections.

The activities – pan for gold with Darrel, go on a trail ride with Julie and Tanya or hike Mt Bowman with a knowledgeable guide. There are also several self-guided hikes on the property and if you choose to tackle any of them you will most likely be accompanied by several of the border collies. I did all of these plus added a couple of strategically placed :) incredible massages.

Getting there – I chose to fly into Seattle (from Boston), rent a car and drive up thru the Frasier River Canyon which is spectacular.

The bottom line – another reviewer remarked this place must be on your bucket list. I agree whole heartedly and if the opportunity arises would return in a heartbeat.

Norm, Nan, Alan, Uny, Jason, Claudia, Darrel, Julie, Tanya and all the Thai staff that I won’t insult by trying to get the spelling right – THANK YOU!!!!
Diane

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Echo Valley Ranch & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Valley Ranch & Spa

Address: 10635 Jesmond Road, Jesmond, British Columbia V0K 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Jesmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jesmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Echo Valley Ranch & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 'cowboy country' above the Fraser River in BC's scenic Cariboo Region, Echo Valley Ranch & Spa entices those seeking a restorative sojourn, as well as those looking for a higher-octane activity. Whether your idea of heaven is a trail ride through rolling hills, a 4x4 wildlife safari, or a day at the spa, at Echo Valley guests find harmony and rejuvenation. The fusion of eastern and western influences is best seen at the spa, where both western massage and Thai treatments soothe muscles and mind; while dining options encompass dishes from east and west, fuelled by produce from the ranch livestock and kitchen garden. Activities also include hiking, bird watching and fly-fishing, as well as trips to white water rafting and golf. Winter options range from snowshoeing to ice fishing and snowmobiling. Echo Valley is an idyllic spot for weddings and elopements, and caters to meetings and retreats for corporate groups. Flying into the ranch's private runway is one way to arrive; the ranch is also accessible with a scenic five hour drive from Vancouver. Member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Echo Valley Ranch & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Valley Ranch Hotel Jesmond
Echo Valley Ranch And Spa
Echo Valley Hotel
Echo Valley Resort
Echo Valley Ranch & Spa Canada/British Columbia - Jesmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo Valley Ranch & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;