We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at its best....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vagamon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate
Save
You added Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate to your Saves list
Off Pullikkanam-Vagamon Road | Vagamon, Vagamon, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nature at its best....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

One of the most beautiful places I have ever visited in my life. Yes!!!

Myself, along with my husband and 2 year old son had been to Vagamon heights last week to celebrate our fourth wedding anniversary. It was a 300 acre estate surrounded with greenery.

We were accommodated at Woodpecker top. The scenic view was amazing from the cottage. We stayed there for 2 nights and 3 days. Being a road less traveled, it was a serene place. As promised in their website, they offered boating in their private lake and jeep safari during our stay.

Food was tasty and hygienic too. Especially in a state where good vegetarian food is hard to get, they offered very tasty vegetarian food.

Overall a heavenly experience. A must visit for nature lovers...We are sure to visit the place again...

Room Tip: Go for woodpecker top. You can view nature at its best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gobichettipalayam, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in this property on month of August and weather was amazing. We six couples enjoyed the two day stay to the core. These guys were very helpful and took care all our needs. We had 4W jeep ride and boating in their property which was amazing. The property is surrounded by green meadows and looks like green blankets. Its a must visit place....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in Vagamon Heights from the 30th August to 1st September. Truly impressed with the overall concept, of 300 acres and some cottages in its midst. The cottages are good and gives you the feeling of living in the jungle, which is the case anyways. Here's what we thought of the stay/place:

Good:
1. Location, peaceful, disconnected from outside world (though the mornings we could hear buses and vehicles rambling on the outside, which disturbed the peace)
2. Good staff.
3. Excellent Food.

Bad (Needs improvement urgently)

1. Rooms were never cleaned during the stay, until you specifically ask for.
2. Bed linen and others were not clean and not changed or tidied during the stay.
3. Choice of food is less if you don't like whats on the pre-prepared menu.
4. Fishing was a big let down. Actually felt cheated. They take you to a lake with some stick and nylon thread attached and use dough. Come-on that's not fishing.
5. Absolutely nothing to do for families except for couple of swings and some broken cricket gears.
6. Manager Sam, though tried to please, he seemed lost in his thoughts whenever you talk to him.
7. Expensive..!!!! @ 4000INR/night for a single cottage.

Overall an ok experience and nothing great to write about as some of the other reviewers have mentioned. Go for it in groups but stay away if you plan to take yours family.

Room Tip: Stay away if you plan to visit with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karur, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The property is good but the hospitality and our was horrible to the core.We had a very bad experience.......I would suggest everybody not even to think about the stay in "Vagamon Heights".
The food was not so delicious and tasy and we were keep on asking for some tasty food but they did even bother to provide the same.For your kind information, we are posting some few pictures pls have a look and comment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was a wonderful experience. As i said in the title, you need to be there to experience what an experience !!!. We were 15 of us who explored the place which we enjoyed to the core. Harishettan has taken care of us very well - he is on the call anytime, anywhere. The food was so deliciuos and the staff has taken care of us very well. This was a truly amazing experience what we had. We love to visit once again. The trip was awesome... Hope to see you soon once again.

With love,
Trippers Adda

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The property is very large spanning 300 acres. There are only a very few cottages spread across the property which offers a peaceful stay and a lot of privacy. The staffs took care of us well and the food was great. There is nothing much to see in Vagamon as such. So, mostly you will end up spending much of the time inside the property. There are lots of activities to do inside the estate itself. They take you around the estate in their jeep which was quite fun. We also did fishing in one of the lakes there and it was a very good experience. Apart from these, you can play volley ball, shuttle and some board games which they offer. You can also try to stay in one of the camping tents there.. We did not try it though.

pros: nature @ its best.. cottages.. games.. safari..

cons: Price was a bit on the higher side but that's ok considering the pros ;)..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went there as a group of 8 friends. We stayed in the house of four gables. The staffs are really nice and helpful people. The food is awesome. We enjoyed the Jeep safari.
Only thing we are afraid of is about the Leaches. They will give salt water to pour on top of the leaches which is sucking blood. Other than that its a nice and thrilling experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate

Address: Off Pullikkanam-Vagamon Road | Vagamon, Vagamon, India
Location: India > Kerala > Vagamon
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Vagamon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.