We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well managed place, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nameri Eco Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nameri National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nameri Eco Camp
Nameri National Park and Tiger Reserve | Potasali Sonitpur,Assam, Nameri National Park 784103, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very well managed place, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Owned and managed jointly by the government of Assam and a NGO in association with the forest department, the Nameri Eco Camp is a wonderful place to stay and explore the national park. For a government venture this place is surprisingly well-run and nicely maintained by an efficient staff.

Accommodations are in tents or thatched cottages all of which back into private bathrooms that have hot water geysers. These are all set around a large grassy lawn where the evening bonfires are lit. Even though they are priced the same, the cottages are larger than the tents with more racks and shelves. We opted for the latter, as they seemed more insulated than the loosely thatched walls of the cottages. The tents are made of colorful fabrics with a netted lining. A thatched roof above the tent gives additional protection and creates a shaded porch outside the tent where we could sit on log benches and enjoy the evening tea.

Inside the tent there was enough room for two single beds covered with thick comforters and quilts. There were also a couple of clothes' racks and benches for storage. A small room at the back could hold an additional bed if required. The bathroom, though basic, was neat and functional. Although the overall accommodation quality was good enough, we didn't find the beds to be particularly comfortable. The only consolation was that there were no creepy-crawly visitors during our 2-night halt and that kept me happy!

Our favorite part of the camp was their lovely dining area, which was nicely furnished with dark wood furniture. In the evenings we would sit on the lounge chairs near its entrance and read while sipping on cups of black tea. All our meals were served here. Breakfast could be ordered a la carte or as a buffet of fruit juice, toasts, aloo-puri, eggs and tea/coffee. Lunch or dinner was ordered a la carte in advance and served perfectly on time by the staff. Food was always quite yummy and made of local flavor.

The Nameri Eco Camp is a wonderful place to spend a couple of nights and unwind. The camp manager and his friendly staff ensured that we had a comfortable stay and arranged all the activities for us perfectly! They made our camp stay quite memorable!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Yorks, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Arrived here after a delayed flight from Guwahati, then a long drive - it was dark, and so we only got a small impression of the place before going to bed.
Despite our delay, the staff had prepared a delicious meal for us, and that was to be the way while we were there - excellent Assamese food, and of course hot chai masala to drink.
Our tent had all we needed, the traditional Indian bed (tho I think many Westerners who are chronically overweight struggle with these) a proper bathroom and seating area outside for drinking tea and plotting our next move.
Shower area spotlessly clean, and it was possible to wash some of our own clothes and hang them out at the front of our tent on 'bungee' cords - everything could be left and felt perfectly safe.

In the evenings, other Indoan guests had a bonfire and played drums - some of the drivers sang traditonal Assamese songs, which was just perfect to fall asleep to.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Located in a picturesque part of Assam, adjacent to the Arunachal border and with views to the Himalayas, this is a charming place, run by an enthusiastic team. The food in particular was excellent - Assamese specialties prepared superbly. The tent-houses were unique - most of the creature comforts of a hotel room with the feeling of sleeping in a tent. Would recommend the rafting.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Nameri Eco camp is close to Tezpur on the north bank of Assam - around 4-5 hour drive from Gauhati airport we used this as an overnight stay on our drive up to Tawang (Arunachal Pradesh)

Its literally in the jungle so please use a local driver (in case they have not arranged transport)

We got in after sunset and with limited electricity this really gives you the jungle fee. Accomodation is in the tents (built on concrete floors) and with pucca bathroom facilities

Food was great - again home cooked feel - if you want the non city experience this is the place to check out, however not sure if there are too much too do for more than a 1 night trip.

Negatives - Mosquitoes - carry sufficient repellant.

Best part was no city noise and sitting and having a drink under the the stars outside our tent

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I suppose this was satisfactory as an eco camp. However, I found the hard beds, dirty bathrooms and questionable sanitation in the kitchen less than desirable. Yes, you hear the sounds of the jungle and the tents have a colorful pattern inside. The food was good, despite the food safety concerns. This camp is probably perfect for those who love camping. Unfortunately I prefer warm, hot showers with 24/7 electricity. Also, due to the location being close to the disputed border, cell phones didn't work. No internet at the camp. Not a good fit for me.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Excellent location very close to nature. You get to hear a lot of bird calls. But because of lush green forest all around, you don't see much unless you have an expert with you. But great value for money, very nice tented camp.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nameri Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nameri Eco Camp

Address: Nameri National Park and Tiger Reserve | Potasali Sonitpur,Assam, Nameri National Park 784103, India
Location: India > Assam > Nameri National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Nameri National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Idyllic forest village of Nameri Tiger Reserve.Birding ,Rafting and trekking in the core area of the tiger reserve. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nameri Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nameri Eco Camp to your Saves list