We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreaming of visiting this place again n again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nameri Eco Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nameri National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nameri Eco Camp
Save
You added Nameri Eco Camp to your Saves list
Nameri National Park and Tiger Reserve | Potasali Sonitpur,Assam, Nameri National Park 784103, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Pune
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dreaming of visiting this place again n again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is surely heaven for Nature Lovers.We were there exclusively for bird watching.We were a group of ladies and that was an adventure itself. But the camp arranges a guide and forest guard with every flock of people who enters in a forest.
The eco camp is situated in the deciduous forest on the banks of the river Jia Bhoroli .The camp is also registered as a paradise for anglers.It consists of self contained log houses & tents and a dormitory.Tents are equipped with all basic to moderate amenities but well maintained . The camp provides best of the hospitality even though it is situated at such a remote place. Managers and all people associated with the camp are co-operative. Few activities you are sure to do here are angling, river rafting, bird and butterfly watching or just going for forest trails
Birding in and around the camp-
Being in the forest it is surrounded by tall trees which has nesting of great horn bill, orange breasted parakeet and owls. The forest entry fee along with the birding guide and forest guard is handled by the camp. Birding usually starts in the morning at 5.30 am and the recommended birding trail is in the forest across the river. You can get the camp to pack you a breakfast.The birding list is long including Wreathed hornbill, water redstart, sultan tit and white winged wood duck. We were the first group to sight the ‘violet cuckoo’ which is a summer migrant. This was a lifer for the birding guide as well.

Room Tip: Heaven if you are a nature and wild life lover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    45
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nalbari, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice place and good service. Food was also good. Overall the place is satisfactory. Usually places like this in N.E are horrible in service and food but this place is different. Nothing is extraordinary but good for a weekend outing. The only bad thing is the road.................no road!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

First things first--reaching this place was a nightmare due to construction on the Tezpur to Bomdila national highway. Our SUV was jumping up and down at several places as the road was being widened and at several places it was a muddy affair. Our return from Eco-Camp was bit better was our driver took a diversion through villages which had narrow but much better roads. Eco-Camp is surrounded or rather in the midst of a forest. And the guests stay in big tents with attached toilets or in few of those huts on stilts. The beds made of bamboo structure were comfortable and our room service for tea/coffee was nice. Only complaint is that our room wasn't cleaned on the second day. The restaurant is great - food is good though not excellent. I liked the specially made dry fry pork and the vegetables the most. I would like to think the dinner, lunch and breakfast is a bit expensive. We also went on a walk inside the national park but had to return halfway through due to presence of some elephants. But the best part of our trip was the ride on the river on an inflatable rubber dinghy--we saw dozens of birds and even a solitary elephant. The river was the cleanest I have seen in my life. Overall, a nice place and good park. I would like Eco-Camp to somehow have some more choice in their menu and lift their service level one more notch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in Nameri Eco Camp for a night. The place is awesome and situated amidst nature. The eco camp has all basic amenities to please you. The staffs are helpful and courteus. They arrange for Treks into the forest and river rafting. foods were also excellent.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Nameri Eco Camp is located almost within the Sanctuary and this Camp is the only place to stay when visiting Nameri. Rooms are individual huts surrounded by the jungle on all sides. Food is buffet style and the package is usually all inclusive (although they provide options for additional food). Food and service quality are better than one expects at such a remote location. As there are no jeep safaris within this park, one has to walk about 2 kms from this camp to reach the river and a forest department boat takes you across to the sanctuary which is a dense wonderfully isolated sanctuary with a large number of endangered birds and animals. Another activity that one can do is canoe down the river from about 10 kms upstream. The lodge arranges this at no additional cost. Remember to take tips from the very helpful staff and owner who all live within the camp on recent sightings and activities to do. A must visit with family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The huts are beautiful, having most amenities which are required in everyday life.Beside the huts , one can also stay at tents having basin & toilets.Water rafting arrangement is there in the camp. Also includes child's playing arrangement.The service from the staff is very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Nameri Eco Camp just cannot be beaten by any other place for its natural surroundings. You feel one with nature at this superbly well run camp. Accomodation is in tents but equipped with attached western toilets and running hot & cold water. There is a common dining hall where you meet up with other guests and share your sightings. The food is simple but tasty, and served with great warmth by the local boys who make you feel at home.
The camp is home to a large variety of birds.The resident most looked for is the great hornbill. A sight not easy to forget,its really really huge, and every time it flies it makes a loud swooshing sound like some airplane!!
The camp arranges nature walks in the National Park,reached by crossing the river"Jia Bhorelli" by boat. Also the river rafting is great fun.
We stayed here on our way to Tawang and liked it so much that we stayed again on our way back!!

Room Tip: All the tents are set around the periphery of the camp and are equally good. Though we selected the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nameri Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nameri Eco Camp

Address: Nameri National Park and Tiger Reserve | Potasali Sonitpur,Assam, Nameri National Park 784103, India
Location: India > Assam > Nameri National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Nameri National Park
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Idyllic forest village of Nameri Tiger Reserve.Birding ,Rafting and trekking in the core area of the tiger reserve. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nameri Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.