We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining at Vel's Court” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vels Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Vels Court
Save
You added Hotel Vels Court to your Saves list
29, Ayyampulli Road, Adivaram, Palani 624601, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Palani B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dining at Vel's Court”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

On a hot day, it was a relief to sit and have lunch in air-conditioned comfort. That is all. food was average and only one person to serve. But it was neat and clean.There is a lot of improvement necessary in the wash rooms.

Room Tip: We did not stay here as we had to leave the place before evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aluva, Kerala, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Of all the hotels in palani this is the only one in the premium segment. I stayed there last april and the prices are on the high side. we stayed in two deluxe a/c rooms and the rooms were quite neat, The hotel is a stone throw away from palani temple with excellent views of the hillock. I checked in at midnight and room service was available. When i checked into the hotel a strange smell was there, don't know what it was. overall my experience was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooty, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed in this property on 24th June for a night.Front desk staff were courteous and helpful.I was guided properly for. darshan .Clean room and bathroom with basic amenities,they can improve on it though. Comfortable bed for good sleep. I can't forget their souvenir.Their restaurant is ok ok kinds. hassle free check out. Over all courteous staff and clean rooms made my stay comfortable.Kudos to team vels court.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Me and my family got two deluxe rooms. These room were complete with a sitting room at the front but little did we know what was behind the sitting room. The rooms were dirty and smelly. The most unclean in my trip. The washrooms were even worse. By our luck we didn't get the normal room which we intended, as we wanted 1 normal room and 1 deluxe room. With a peek at the normal room we knew we had to get another deluxe room. A good point about this hotel is that it was near Palani hill which was the whole point of going to Palani, but honestly I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. So I would say vels court is a miss

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerala
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed one night with my family.
Positives:- Very close to the temple entrance. Rooms are spacious and tidy. Staff at the reception are very co-ordeal.
Negatives:- TV channels were not clear. The technicians were blaming the Cable TV service provider. Bathroom taps were loose. The service in the restaurant was horrible. Only one staff handling all. We had to wait more than one hour to get what we wanted. Try the restaurant only if you have good patience. We went out to the nearby Arya's hotel for our remaining meals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Did i book room here looking at the rates? did i expect high standards to be maintained- Musty damp smell every, where unclean rooms, irresponsible front house staff. Not bothered to give my balance 50 rupees when i was checking out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Location is convenient to the temple. Nothing special about the room. Our air-conditioning did nnot work well. No Internet access or bar in this hotel. Nice common lounge area on each floor. We had Thalli in the restaurant and it was pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vels Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vels Court

Address: 29, Ayyampulli Road, Adivaram, Palani 624601, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Palani
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Palani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vels Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.