We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place to stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New Tirupur Lodge

New Tirupur Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Tirupur Lodge
Save
You added New Tirupur Lodge to your Saves list
1, Adivaram, Palani 624601, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Terrible place to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

I visited this lodge last week of Dec'14 with my family. We had booked an A/C double room for a night. Nothing about the room was good. The bed sheets looked like they had not been washed for decades. Bathroom condition was worst than pathetic. TV never functioned properly (though we didn't go to Palani to watch TV). The only thing good to say about the lodge was the Restuarant they had. Food in the Restuarant was good.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
india
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Booked in through phone, the rooms were spacious and adequate for the purpose. The parking is good, lots of space of you drive in. Room was rather long, but Ok for a one night stay to the temple. Had surprisingly many plug points for mobile, battery charger, laptop etc., most hotels have only a few charge points!
Best part was the service arranged by them to visit the temple and the fast entry and exit they arranged through the liaison person. We were in as early as 6 AM through the winch and out by 8 AM, relatively less crowded week day, so we were lucky.
The restaurant is pure veg and suited us. Overall good for the purpose for pilgrimage.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away form the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I went to Palani along with my elder daughter to worship lord Muruga.. we stayed in this hotel for one day. When we called from Chennai I was told that no reservation is needed. But I have to wait 45 minutes to check in. The Tariff is expensive not worth for your money. The food at the attached restaurant is okay. The room design is very bad. I can not get enough air from the window.. The fan is giving noise. This hotel is suitable for one night pilgrims. This is not up to my expectation.. You can find better hotels for this price. The autorikshaw guy charged me 60 rupees to reach this place from the Railway station.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neyveli, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We stayed here for one day.we took an Ac room. The room was amazing. Especially the bathroom .it is very clean and spotless. Ample car parking. Very closer to the temple. Restaurant is also good. Can recommend strongly to others. If we visit Palani again we will definitely stay here only.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is certainly the best hotel in Palani and is one of the most trusted places for great food and accommodation. It is our first pick without question. We have always had a pleasant experience here.
The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, and prices are affordable. They were always neatly maintained. I hear they are coming up with a brand new state-of-the-art wing with rooms/restaurant very soon as well.

It is also located very near the hill-temple. It is a walkable distance, even for kids.

Also near to the railway station, which is now a major stop for all trains.

We absolutely loved the food here!!. They have a multi-cuisine restaurant attached. South Indian food needs to be tasted to be believed!!

They have ample car parking, and the staff I have found over and over again to be extremely helpful.

Need to book rooms in advance as sometimes availability could be an issue.
They have 100% power back-up which could sometimes be an issue in these areas.
This place has got an awesome heritage. Are the true veterans in Palani!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are large and spacious. Have also noticed cottages by the side are nice as well. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
480 helpful votes 480 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

When we decided to go to Palani on a pilgrimage trip , I just checked with TripAdvisor's listing and found this lodge " New - Tirupur lodge"

Pros :
1. Neat and clean rooms.
2. Car parking Available.
3. Nalapakkam restaurant at the ground floor.
4. Easily accessible from railway station.
5. Fixes the budget too.
6. We stayed in A/C room and the room was quite good :)

Cons :
1. The restaurant offers good tiffen items but average meals.
2. The Temple is some 750m-1Km away from the hotel , and you need to walk for 10 mins or take an auto to temple.

Bottomline :
On whole Tirupur lodge offers Very good stay and service but their restaurant gives only good tiffen and average meals.
Can stay in this hotel and can try out other restaurants nearby

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

this is the best hotel to stay in palani. the restaurant serving south Indian food its good.the rooms are okay types(but you cannot expect more from palani).three location of the hotel also favours pilgrims.the also give tonsher services to devotees.overall I world suggest it a good choice in palani as you cannot expect more from palani.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Tirupur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Tirupur Lodge

Address: 1, Adivaram, Palani 624601, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Palani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Palani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Tirupur Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.