We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in the lap of nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KMVN Tourist Rest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munsiyari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KMVN Tourist Rest House
Save
You added KMVN Tourist Rest House to your Saves list
Pithoragarh, Munsiyari 262554, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Munsiyari B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in the lap of nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Location of Kmvn is the best. From here Group of Panchachulli r clear. One can enjoy the beauty from the room balcony. Book Royal double bed for excellent view. Room no 301 is the best. Food was good, rooms r big. Staffs r good. Comfortable stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
india
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

we reached kmvn munsiyari after a tiring , absolutely scary drive from binsar . the rooms in kmvn munsiyari are definitely better on the higher floors . we could luckily switch our rooms and upgrade but sometimes that is not possible as they have groups camping there .the hotel is situated in the nicest place possible as far as the views are concerned but frankly I felt that the views from the helipad are better . the helipad is a short five minute walk away from the hotel. Food and service are decent ,, the food may be be a bit more oily but in such places , you cannot expect five star luxury and seven course meals a day . the people there are very simple and very helpful .
now about the views for which Munsiyari is famous for , we were sorely disappointed the first day as clouds obscured our sighting of the mighty panchachuli ranges . but we were lucky as the next day the clouds cleared mid afternoon and it rained a bit . the views were breathtaking , beautiful , mesmerizing . We could not believe that the mightly himalayas were so close ! the photographs do not do justice to the actual view , but nevertheless have posted a few
nothing much to do in munsiyari apart from gazing at the himalayas but a must to stay for atleast two to three days , to help in getting used to the altitude and sightings . locals told us that the sightings are much better in winter . definitely plan to go there in winter . you cannot leave Munsiyari without bowing down to the panchachuli range ! a must see and a decent place to stay
the views from the hotel balcony are good .

Room Tip: choose the rooms on the higher floors 204 and 205 were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I and my husband stayed at this KMVN property in the first week of October 2013. Our itinerary was New Delhi – Kathgodam - Munsyari and back the same way. It takes almost 12 hours to reach Munsyari from Kathgodam railway station with 3-4 stops for food etc. (If you like fish then do no miss the couple of small eateries around Thal on the way for a meal of spicy river fish curry and rice) It is an extremely hectic trip if you do not have at least 3 days in hand excluding your arriving and departing days. We had hired a cab to pick us up from Kathgodam station (charges were Rs 5k one way for a sumo / similar vehicle). The hotel is located in a valley with mountains on all sides. Our room was lovely (we had opted for the royal 2 bedded on the second floor) with a fantastic unobstructed view of the mountains. But for our hard luck, there was cloud cover for the first two days, which made it impossible to make out the true beauty of the mountains. This place is for pure relaxation, so absolutely not for sight-seeing-lovers. It is a heaven for people who enjoy long walks. There is a lovely Nanda Devi temple about one and half km away (walking distance but uphill so elderly people might find difficult to tread). The view from this temple is amazing. There is a museum about 2-3 km downhill (which we skipped). There is no market / shopping area, except for a few grocery and basic necessity shops near the bus stand, about half km downhill. The food at the hotel is just average both in terms of variety and quality. Even otherwise, there are not many eating options. We stayed there for 3 nights and 4 days doing nothing but lazing around.
We finally got lucky on the day of return, when the weather cleared up and the mountains were in full glory. The Panchachuli, with its astounding snow-capped peaks, stood there in all its grandeur. That is when we actually realised why people who recommended this place were so gung-ho about it.
The part of this trip that I personally did not enjoy was the human over-activity around us. As this valley is densely populated, you may not really get the silence that you crave for on mountain trips. So, I would say, that unless you are a travel freak and ever ready to explore new places, you should consider well before taking it up on your itinerary for the sheer number of exhausting travel hours. For those who are up for it, the Pachachuli awaits.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor in the new building have a superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I visited Munsiyari in Nov-13 and stayed in this property for 2 Nights. Had chosed the Royal Double Rooms - got Room No: 301. Believe me, when I opened the balcony door, the Pancha Chulli range was virtually on my face! It seem you can touch the range! The propery is extremely well maintained. The food was the best we had taken during our 18 day trip (covering Lucknow, Agra & 13 Night Kumaon region). The staffs as always are very helpful. The place is at a height of around 2200 metres. Hence, during the winter seasons, you'll require a room heater. The sunset & the sunrise could be watched from the nearby view points (lot of them). You can go for jungle trek. Overall, a must visit for any traveller. Stay at KMVN property. Look no further.

Room Tip: Royal Rooms (Top most Floor) - Room No : 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The royal rooms at the floor are excellent value for money with great views of the snow capped mountain ranges. We stayed at the corner room that was bigger in size than the others. Complimentary breakfast is included. The hospitality is good.

These parts of Uttarakhand are unaffected by floods, and tourists seem to be unnecessarily deterred to visit these places. Tourism and associated business look to be badly hit. Therefore, don't hesitate if you intend to visit these places.

Room Tip: Royal rooms on the top floor have the best views. Corner rooms are bigger and the view area is incre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here in Oct 2013 along with my family. I stayed here in Royal room which offers perfect view for panchachulli right from the room. Good comfort with cosy bed and hot water. Perfect for family. Location is absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: Stay in royal room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at KVMN guest house in May 2013 enroute to Milam Glacier Trek. In order to acclimatize with the weather before we began our arduous trek we had decided to rest at this property. The property is located at the best location in the town. It is close to ITBP check post. It provides an exquisite view extending from valley to the Panchachulli peaks. The rooms are spacious and equipped with decent amenities which can be regarded "luxurious" as per hilly region standards. The rooms have around the clock hot water supply which is essential as it gets quite cold up there. Munsiyaari doesn't have plethora of options of having food hence KVMN has equipped itself to provide the best food in the town. The staff is very courteous and helpful. They accommodated our request of getting breakfast ready early morning at 5:00 AM as we had to leave for trek. They also happily stored our excess baggage which we collected after finishing our trek. I would definitely recommend everyone to stay here in case they are planning to visit this quaint hill station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KMVN Tourist Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KMVN Tourist Rest House

Address: Pithoragarh, Munsiyari 262554, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Munsiyari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Munsiyari
Number of rooms: 22

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KMVN Tourist Rest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.