We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in rajas' palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puthiyakovilakam Heritage Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nilambur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puthiyakovilakam Heritage Homestay
Palace Road, Nilambur 679329, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Nilambur B&B and Inns
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful stay in rajas' palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Warm welcoming from our smiling host Rajashree and visit of the impressive property to understand its history and the customs there. We learnt a lot and enjoy nice traditional dinner with her. Everything was made to keep the historical spirit of the place and it works well. We recommend it definitely!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kovilakam, Owner at Puthiyakovilakam Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Ms. Noemie

Really nice to know that you enjoyed the stay with us. We too felt really happy to you stay with us. We have tried our best to keep you happy during your stay here. Do keep in touch

regards

Sreevidya and Ravi Varma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

What's comes back to mind is the stories told by my grandmom of kings and old folklore. One minute you are in a bust jostling little town that is very much from the current decade and the next moment you are transported to a era which dates back almost two centuries. If the scenic marvel and secret mysteries of this place doesnt capture your heart, the smiling host and hostess surely would! Absolutely in awe of the place and the wonderful hospitality of the owners of this place that I am convinced to return back here for more :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had an opportunity to spend a day there experiencing the warmth and the true 'Homestay' feeling.... Thoroughly enjoyed being there. They were more than happy to explain the culture and customs of a bygone era....and the tips to visit nearby places were really helpful. The rooms were neat and clean and the food was excellent...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had the good fortune of visiting this heritage homestay purely by chance. Was enroute to Ooty from Kochi and took up the offer of stay here. I am glad I did. its an opportunity to experience first hand the grandeur, culture, and lifestyle of the kovilakam of the 19th and early 20th century.The kovilakam complex with its multiple traditional homes around a huge family temple transports you back to another era. the over 200 years old kovilakam is a heritage property built in unique Kerala architecture. the temperature indoor is definately few degrees lower than outside. The :Thamburatti" cooks up some wonderful homemade vegetarian recipe. The "Thamburan" can regale you with the history of the place and some interesting anecdotes of the bygone era. the rooms are tidy and very spacious. worth a detaur if you are in this part of the country. short drive from Ooty makes it convenient combination with an Ooty visit. The place could do with some exterior renovation but I for one would prefer it the way it is for authenticity of experience. Nilambur being a comparitively lesser known destination, is peaceful and you can have a peaceful break.

Room Tip: only two rooms offered for visitors. both are equally good. this review format asks for a swimming p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Excellent home stay and an awesome experience of home away from home.

The rooms were clean and well maintained and It was an unique experience to stay in a 250 year Kerela architecture heritage property with so much history attached to it. Authentic Kerela cuisine and delectable home made food and served on plantain leaves...Finger licking food!!!

Very warm, courteous and good hospitality which adds more flavour to your holiday To sum it ..An Unforgettable Holiday with your loved ones!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Would recommend this home stay to all who want a fantastic and different experience.

Siona Killekar

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thekkady, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Kovilakom stay on my travel to Nilambur.
This is the large, traditional family home of Mr.Varma and a stay here allows you to experience a "Kovilakom experience" in Kerala in a small town with a colourful history rarely visited by tourists.

It feels more like you are spending the night at a relatives house than staying in a hotel with people you have never met before and that is what makes this place so charming.

The food was excellent. The special seasonal Fruit Mango curry and Nai Payasam super! I had my meal with family and the dining area closed to the kitchen. The real home stay experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I and my wife had been to Puthiya Kovilalam some time back it was a very nice experience, the family members are very cordial and helpful the palace is very well maintained to its original state nothing fancy or modern to disturb the hertiage experience we will certainly go back again walking distance from the palace is a small river very nice to be there on a evening..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Puthiyakovilakam Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puthiyakovilakam Heritage Homestay

Address: Palace Road, Nilambur 679329, India
Location: India > Kerala > Nilambur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nilambur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to savour the two century old rich, unique culture and royal tradition of Nilambur. Disconnect yourself from the maddening rush and mayhem of daily mundane life and gift yourself a remarkable exhilarating experience of a lifetime. Take off on this tranquil serene sojourn, where the era of kings and nobility seem to come alive from the pages of the rich and diverse historical fables and lores of the past. We provide you with an exotic rare opportunity - a tryst with royalty. We invite you to be a part of our rich heritage and to experience the luxurious yet humble lifestyle followed by the Royal family of Nilambur. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puthiyakovilakam Heritage Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Puthiyakovilakam Heritage Homestay to your Saves list