We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sagar Darshan - Somnath Trust

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somnath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sagar Darshan - Somnath Trust
Save
You added Sagar Darshan - Somnath Trust to your Saves list
Prabhas Patan, Somnath Mandir Road, Somnath 382268, India   |  
Ranked #2 of 11 Somnath B&B and Inns
Jaipur, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

i travelled somnath on 20th dec 2013. the hotel is next to somnath temple. the rooms are big, neat and clean and facing sea. all the rooms have big balcony that gives the temple view and sea view.
the restorent is good and provides good food with clean ambience. the quality of food was nice. the room service is good.
the draw back is the front view of hotel. the other is that first we have to go to somnath trust office for booking and than to hotel after confirming the booking
the hotel is nice for relaxation as you can enjoy the sea and relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    37
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
72
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We booked eight rooms - two were suites. We liked everything except bathroom - it was so dirty that one would puke. We called house keeping but they did a terrible job. We were only there for a night so did not bother much. If they keep the rooms and bathroom clean, I'll give 5*. We liked the food and choices provided by restaurant

Room Tip: As soon as you check in, call house keeping to clean the room and bathroom. Little tip to cleaning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

You cannot dream of a better location to stay. Next to the temple and facing the sea. What more can you want.

Huge rooms with reasonable good beds.

The problem is the poor maintenance. The trust does not have a clue of how to maintain this property. I think the conflict is in the way it is run. No body seems to care of its image. Everyone knows that it is a great place. The price is good and people will come and stay. For eg, the way the reception is kept and maintained, very basic of staff not in uniform, canteen ( sorry restuarant) outsourced and run like a dhaba, The place can be upgraded. Even in rooms, the fittings in the toilet , bath etc are of a reputed brand, but are getting spoiled. The buckets and accesories are a shame. Even a dharmshala will provide better. And mind you, we stayed in teh Suite, not ordinary room.

The fountain which was planned is in a dipilated state. Stray dogs are moving around creating a nuisance. There is entry restricted for human beings but dogs are allowed. One dog actually fell into the water tank when we were there and was struggling to come up.

I would have pushed up the price and given better and cleaner ammenities.

If the authorities are reading this please awaken up. It is a kohinoor and requires some polishing.

Room Tip: Avoid the suite. The rooms are big enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Ideal place to stay in somnatah as per me. Nearest to Shri Somnath Temple and Best Location (Sea View)... After visiting this hotel, you can plan to stay in Somnath not only for Darshan of Shri Somnath mahadev but for relaxation. All big rooms are sea facing with best facilities restaurant also offered very good food. Plan to stay again Real value for money

Room Tip: Need to book online at least 40 days in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nearest to Shri Somnath Temple and Best Location (Sea View)...
After visiting this hotel, you can plan to stay in Somnath not only for Darshan of Shri Somnath mahadev but for relaxation. All big rooms are sea facing with best facilities....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunderabad, India
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 2 nights during the first week of Oct-2013. Initially my travel agent recommended Lords Inn in Somnath.However after looking at the reviews here, I decided to stay in Sagar Darshan.

The first thing I liked about this place was the online reservation. It was simple. They charge Rs 500 extra as deposit for each night you stay. However, when I checked out, I got back the deposit amount completely. The only problem I see in online reservation is that they close reservation for online booking one week before the date of stay. Fortunately, I observed this did my online reservation in advance.

As regards to the property, I liked the place and the views from the rooms were awesome. Also, the rooms are large. There is a king bed and also a sofa cum bed in the room which is enough for a family of 4 people. As someone already pointed out, though it is close to the temple, it is a good 10 - 15 minute walk (depending upon who is walking) to get to inside the temple. There is no transport available from the hotel. Also, this property is close to the temple and if we travel with own transport, we need to obtain a pass from the hotel folks to access the road leading to the hotel from the mail temple parking area. Without the pass, police will not allow vehicles to proceed to the hotel.

Room service and other service are OK. There are delays. Room service is restricted to beverages only and that also takes time. Anything else you ask will also take time.

The restaurant attached to the hotel in the basement is good. The food is good and service is also good. Variety of food is also good in the restaurant.

Overall, I find that staying in this place is real value for money and also a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

All the rooms are beach facing and the rooms are spacious. Being with your closed ones in front of the beach either from the balcony or on the benches near the shore is just an experience by itself. Cannot go into the waters as the hotel is at an altitude from the shore. Even though temple is just beside the hotel, one has to walk atleast a km to reach the main door. The service was quite slow at the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sagar Darshan - Somnath Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagar Darshan - Somnath Trust

Address: Prabhas Patan, Somnath Mandir Road, Somnath 382268, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Somnath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Somnath
Also Known As:
Sagar Darshan - Somnath Trust Gujarat, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagar Darshan - Somnath Trust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.