We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cleanliness, poor rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lilavati Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somnath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lilavati Guest House
Save
You added Lilavati Guest House to your Saves list
Near Temple, Somnath, India   |  
Ranked #6 of 11 Somnath B&B and Inns
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Poor cleanliness, poor rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The rooms and bathrooms are spacious. That's it. The bed and pillows are hard and dirty. Housekeeping is non existent. Very cumbersome process of check-in and check out. Above all, the smell of fish pervades the entire building. If you have to stay, please book AC rooms. Else avoid

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

pros -
1.walking distance from temple
2.good eating joints nearby and fantastic room amenities
cons -
1.horrible check-in and check-out procedures ; reached guest house at 5 am by train and the staff refused to give rooms till 10 am even though we had already booked and paid and rooms were empty.
2.totally incompetent people sitting behind desks thinking themselves to be owner.keep trustees phone no in your cell and call them immediately.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

stayed at somnath trust lilavati guest house AC room number B22 on 20th night march 2013. First the booking by sending a draft was very cumbersum, then they have this horrible check out proceeder too to add on to the cumbersome ways of there working,

On 21st march 2013, i was to go for sight seeing somnath . somnath trust bus leaves at 8.30am and return at 11.30 am apprx. The check out time of the guest house is 10am. Respecting their rules i emptied their room at 8am, made a request to keep my luggage till i return from site seeing. They denied to keep my luggage at the reception. In that case i requested them to allow me to return and empty my room, and they told me i will be charged for 2nd day if i do so.
Not possible to drag my luggage on my 3hrs site seeing of somnath , i was forced to make decision of leaving my luggage in my room itself.

Luckily at about 10am in our site seeing way we were crosssing lilavati, on request our driver cooperated and allowed me to check out of the guest house and pull my luggage on the bus.
But what happened after this completely throwed me off board.
My bus(with about 20 pansenger) was waiting at the gate of lilavati guest house, all cooperating with us by waiting for us to check out of the guest house, and continue on the site seeing.
We checked out of the room,got the paper signed by the reception desk of check out timing, and told them that as we are in a hurry as our bus is waiting at ur gate so will collect the room deposit of rs.1000, after we return from the site seeing. They simply denied and said if u do not wait and collect the deposit right now we will charge you for two days.
And that too the deposite was not to be collected from their reception desk but from their office.
I was speechless on the kind of cooperation i got from the lilavati management.

for a place like somnath lilavati guest house was comparitivly expensive, the rooms were very basic. Bed , desk sofa all were made of stone. the wash basin of B22 dint had water supply pipe. room was spacious with a varenda attached to it.

they charge rs.55 per thali for dinner. very basic food. Rs. 10 for a glass of milk.

we booked for 20th and 21st but then our plan changed and we stayed only for 20th, they dint created any problem to return money back of 21st with our room deposit of rs.1000

in the end i felt that the amount of trouble i went through in booking the room,check out procedure, rs.900 per room per day tarrif, rs.100 for an extra bed, lilavati for sure was not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

One of the best places to stay in Somnath. Different categories of moderately priced and spacious rooms (2 Bed & 4 Bed, AC & Non AC), with nearly all the amenities one would expect in a guest house (TV, Bathrooms, Hot & Cold Running Water, 24 Hours Drinking water facility, Dining Room). 4 Bed AC room costs Rs 1800/night, while a 2 Bed Non-AC room can be had from Rs 900/night.
It is conveniently located at 2 KM/ 10 minutes drive from Somnath Railway Station, and 5 minutes from the Somnath Jyotirling Temple.
Restaurants and travel agencies are located nearby.

Room Tip: The guest house has two floors. If one prefers, one could request for ground floor rooms at the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A very walkable distance, place from the main SOMNATH temple campus, hardly, three mins. walk. The rooms are air conditioned and are neat and clean, even though being near to ocean. The campus is spaciously spread and the breakfast is in the same premises, in a common dinning area. It is definitely away from luxrious hotels but than, people are there for religious purposes, which is definitely solved. All the rooms are fitted with attached bath and Television sets, wall mount. The room services are not offered as it is managed by a charitable trust. If any one is planning ot visit Somnath temple near Veraval. Do check the place, it is good for an overnight stay or two. One thing for sure, its a homely feel perfect for family.

Room Tip: The suite rooms are also at a very cheap and throw away price, the facilities are good and the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Lilavati guest house is well managed and clean place and good place to stay. I stayed in AC room and that was very good and has value of money.

best part - well managed and big space so people can stay comfortably. and near to somnath temple
improvement - no online booking facility and we have to send DD/Cheque to trust which is inconvenient. and also food quality is not up to mark. they need to improve the same.

Room Tip: AC rooms are clean. no clue about non-AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Lilavati GH of somnath trust has poorly maintained rooms, do not have room service, but it is very safe place for family & 10 minutes far from somnath temple and beach,The food quality of GH canteen is average.The rooms are spacious, avg. clean and poorly maintained.all furnitures are out off stone carvings.

Room Tip: You can go for VIP Sagar Darshan GH, Which is really value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lilavati Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilavati Guest House

Address: Near Temple, Somnath, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Somnath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Somnath
Also Known As:
Lilavati Guest House Somnath, Gujarat, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilavati Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.