We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Special Occaisions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Forge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mill Forge Hotel to your Saves list
Mill Forge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   Gretna Green, Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place for Special Occaisions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My family and I attended my parents vow renewal as a celebration of their 40th wedding anniversary. We had a family room, which was spacious and very comfortable. The breakfasts, lunch and dinners we had were superb and the menu catered for a variety of tastes. The staff were all friendly and happy to help.

The vow renewal itself was a wonderful ceremony and the little touch of having a picture from the ceremony itself on a card on the dining table for my parents showed a high attention to detail.

Thank you for making my parents day so special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in our care and that have commented so positively on all aspects of our offering and service.

Kind Regards

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    32
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
135
136
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I, together with our guests aged 8 to 80 stayed here at the end of December 2013 to renew our vows for our 40th Wedding Anniversary. From our very first contact the manager, Graham Smith and every member of staff went out of there way to make our event a day to remember. The hotel is easy to locate just off the A74 a couple of miles north of Gretna Green. Parking is plentiful and easy and Reception bright and welcoming. We had a range of rooms booked to cater for our guests from a single through double and family to our bridal suit. All were well presented, tastefully decorated and well appointed. We were spoilt in the Bridal Suite with a room fit for the most beautiful of brides or in our case wife and a bathroom that was an event in its self with a lovely shower, double sink vanity unit and the Jacuzzi bath. The bar was warm and friendly with a good range of drinks that were reasonably priced. Dining was a joy, with good hot meals served in the evening and wholesome bar snacks at lunchtime. Our "wedding breakfast" was wonderful; we elected for Table D'hote and everyone was delighted with the choice and service. The main part was of course the vow renewal and The Forge is a lovely, warm venue which is at home with a small group like ours or a much larger gathering. Overall, our special event at the Mill Forge was a most memorable occasion for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
WOW! What a great review to start 2014 with.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed and complimentary review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of our offering while in our care.

Wishing you many more happy years together

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I got married here early December, we stayed for 2 nights in the bridal suite which was gorgeous. It was very spacious, lovely and warm, big bathroom, fab double power shower and a jacuzzi which was great for relaxing in!
We had champagne in the room both days, chocolates and 2 engraved miniature glasses as souvenirs!
The staff were lovely and friendly and really helpful and make you feel very much at home. The wedding day itself was perfect, exactly what my husband and I wanted. We did it the way we wanted with no fuss, it was very informal, minimum stress and just perfect!
We had a meal afterwards with our children and parents which was very tasty and the lady who waited on us was so polite then after some more photos we relaxed in the bar for the rest of the night!
The breakfast was great, really tasty and lots to choose from! Our children age 12, 4 and 15 months had a brilliant time, the family room was just big enough for the children, they stayed with my parents both nights.

Overall it was a fantastic 2 days and if we had to do it all over again we wouldn't change a thing

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving such a great review.

I'm delighted to read you found every aspect of your stay to your liking and "wouldn't change a thing."

Wishing you all the best for the future.

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Myself and my husband got married here early December 2013, we stayed 2 nights in the bridal suite. What can I say but - amazing! What a lovely set up, the buildings are gorgeous, the suite is lovely - jacuzzi bath was fab and the power shower is the best! The chocs, fizz and engraved glasses are a very nice touch - making it feel extra special.
We had the whole place to ourselves! Awesome!
All staff were all fabulous! The food was great - special thanks to the chef who did a brilliant job catering for my vegan diet!
The big day itself went very smoothly, was very informal and good fun! Thankyou to Liz and registrar Lindsay!
Photographs by Colin Carpenter are excellent - he did a fantastic job!
Thankyou to all!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a kind and complimentary review.

It is great to read such positive comments on every aspect of your time in our care.

Wishing you all the best for the future.

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

it was hard to choose which rating to give this as we had our wedding reception here at the weekend and it was fantastic the staff were great the food lovely and the bar prices reasonable. the only thing that let it down was we had the brial suite which on the fae of it looks fab but never have i ever slept in such a springy tired out bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of The Mill Forge.

While I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your wedding and the meal afterwards, I am obviously concerned with your comments about the bed. Rest assured, I will look into this at once, so the problem can be rectified.

Regards

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I got married at The Mill on 18th November 2013. We were there for 3 days with a party of 20 or so guests who also stayed at The Mill. Having booked over the phone and not visited in advance of our wedding, we were just hoping that the venue and ceremony would be everything we could wish for.....well it wasn't.....it was much much more than we could have ever dreamed of!!! The layout of the beautiful stone buildings gives the feeling of being in your own secluded little village. Everything was spotlessly clean and well cared for. Our fantasitc and huge bridal suite was just across the courtyard from The Mill itself, which looked so gorgeous from the outside, like a little chapel, and on the inside felt very intimate and just perfect. Everything ran very smoothly on the day, with a wedding planner on hand to guide everyone to the right place at the right time. All the photos we took in the fantastic grounds look stunning and the food was first class and beautifully presented. The staff could not have been more helpful either. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they all looked after us and our guests extremely well. Everyone commented on how lovely it all was and how great all the staff were......special thanks to Nikki who looked after us at our wedding reception meal and was there every day at breakfast to greet us with a smile........Thanks again to everyone for making it such a special event for us. If anyone is thinking of getting married in Gretna then there is no better place to do it....it was all just perfect! :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank your taking the time to write such a complimentary review.

I am delighted to read that you found all of our facilities and services to your liking and that our staff looked after you so well.

Wishing you all the best for the future.

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Where do I start! I just got married at The Mill Forge on the 09 November. I stayed the night before with my bridesmaids & close family, we went to the bar for food and it was absolutely delicious! We stayed in the bridal suit & it was beautiful. On the day of the wedding the staff were amazing, coming over to my room to make sure all was ok & asking if I needed anything. When asked for extra chairs they were brought straight away. Like every bride I was worried about the flow of the wedding but everything ran so smoothly without a hitch. The food was out of this world, all my guests were so impressed by the choice & amount of food. Just perfect, top chef! All waiting staff were wonderful & on hand at all times. My photos are just perfection thanx to colin carpenter & the gorgeous surroundings of the mill, they are just breath taking. I am so overwhelmed by it all as it was everything and more. It was the best day of our lives & we truly are thankful to you all for making our special day like a fairytale, it was the best day of our lives & its all down to everyone at The Mill Forge. Xxx

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank You very much for taking the time to write such a glowing review.

It is wonderful to read such wonderful comments about all the different aspects of your time in our care.

Wishing you all the best for the future.

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill Forge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Forge Hotel

Address: Gretna Green, Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kirkpatrick Fleming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Forge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With thirty-three ensuite bedrooms, a private wedding ceremony venue, three functions rooms, restaurant & bar and stunning gardens, The Mill Forge is an ideal location for Gretna Green weddings.Tourists and passing business travellers are also welcome.We have easy access from the A74(M) from both north and south carriageways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Mill Forge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Forge Lockerbie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Forge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.