We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place for a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Forge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mill Forge Hotel to your Saves list
Mill Forge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   Gretna Green, Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the best place for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

we have just got back our friends wedding at the mill forge,we can say only one thing its been fantastic, so thank all the staff for a truly grate time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank yu very much for taking the time to share your opinions about oiur services. We are delighted to hear that you enjoye your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    29
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
125
124
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

If you want anything from a great place for a Wedding to a nights Bed & Breakfast then look no further..
Great location ,,staff and food ..this has it all and it's immaculate also ..
we cannot recommend it too highly and will stay again ...Mr & Mrs Philip Goodwin.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretnaGreen6, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words. It means a lot to all of the staff to know that we made your special day so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We chose the Mill Forge because of the beautiful pictures that we saw on their website and also from exsisting reviews. I have to say that the photos and the reviews do not do the Mill Forge justice. The treatment that we recieved from arranging the wedding to leaving as Mr and Mrs was excellent. There were 23 people all together who went up for the wedding and the Hotel met all of our needs. I would definatley recommend the venue.
Thank you for making our day special and one that we will always remember.
Mr and Mrs O'Donnell

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with uis and wish you many happy years together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

my husband and i have just returned from our weding at the Mill Forge on the 8th june , what a fantastic time we had, we came up the day before our guests and stayed in the bridal suite it was lovely clean and champane and chocolates were in the room when we arrived. The guests rooms were clean and tidy and fitted the bill. Our food was fantastic with no complaints. All the staff from the wedding planers to the waitering staff and bar staff were friendley and helpful nothing was a borther to them . We would highly recomend any one looking for a wedding venue to chose the Mill Forge. The grounds and gardens were very well kept . ( we come from co,durham)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
All the best for the future. Perhaps we'll see you again for an anniversary.

The Mill Forge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

Just back from a wedding at the mill forge and got to say we loved the place.
Very friendly, helpful staff, great food and clean and tidy rooms.
The only faults I can find is our room didn't have a bath and so couldn't give our two year old a bath and a shower isn't very practible for a baby. We also didn't realise that we had to pay £15 extra for a travel cot for our baby, this is the first hotel we've stayed at that has charged for this, you would have thought paying £90 per night a cot would gave been included. It is also very close to the motorway and you have the constant noise of the traffic all day
Still a great hotel and I would go back

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We will look into the issues raised as we take customers opinions very seriously.
Once again thanks for bringing this to our attention.
Graham Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I would recommend the The Mill to anyone to get married. We had the most amazing day here, that we will cherish forever. We arrived the day before our wedding, a party of 20. All the management and staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms were beautiful and spotless. We had the Bridal Suite, which was fantastic!! The food is just superb, very fresh and hot, couldn't fault it. We just made to feel so special, although there maybe other weddings taking place the same day, you are made to feel like it's just your day, nothing is too much trouble for them. We wanted a smaller romantic wedding with just our close family, and The Mill was just perfect in everyway!! Our day was everything we hoped for and alot more.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretnaGreen6, General Manager at Mill Forge Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted with your review of our services.

All the very best

The Mill Forge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011 via mobile

We got married at The Mill on Friday 11th march. We arrived the day before with our wedding party of 32 in total. Everything was taken care of for us. Nothing for us to worry about at all. Our bridal suite was fantastic as was the wedding itself. Both my husband and I had been married before and wanted to do something different this time around - and we were so glad that we chose here. The staff were friendly and very helpful. In fact nothing was too much trouble.
I'd recommend anyone wanting a romantic wedding go to The Mill - they will give you everything you want and more

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill Forge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Forge Hotel

Address: Gretna Green, Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kirkpatrick Fleming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Forge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With thirty-three ensuite bedrooms, a private wedding ceremony venue, three functions rooms, restaurant & bar and stunning gardens, The Mill Forge is an ideal location for Gretna Green weddings.Tourists and passing business travellers are also welcome.We have easy access from the A74(M) from both north and south carriageways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mill Forge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Forge Lockerbie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Forge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.