We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap get away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor Hotel & Bars

The Anchor Hotel & Bars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Anchor Hotel & Bars to your Saves list
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
Anchor Lane, Ingoldmells, Skegness PE25 1LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Ingoldmells B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cheap get away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was booked last minute as friends were already booked into Butlins. The cost for three of us was a good price and we booked two nights. We had a large king size bed and a large single. The room was clean and spacious enough with everything needed. We were placed at the front of the hotel and the entertainment goes on in summer till about 1am and then the guests who were staying the same time as us were on the move from about 7.30am...there is no sound proofing in this hotel and the fire doors BANG very loudly. The fire light in our room was also very bright...bright green, if youre not used to light, this would get very irritating. Reception staff were intimitent and often a board was placed up with a number to call, not great if like me the shower needed sorting out there and then. I wouldnt chose to stay here again due to the noise, but on the whole and for the price this hotel was clean, the beds were comfy and the price was good

Room Tip: Ask for a back room in the summer if you want to be in bed before 1am
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
12
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Anchor hotel and bar. Not sure the hotel enjoyed having us as much as we enjoyed our stay but we all had a fab weekend and would defo return to this hotel again if theyd have us !! We booked 6 double rooms and 1 single and we were all happy with the rooms and facilities. Rooms are basic but modern and clean.Shower good with clean towels and drink making facilities (with biscuits and hot chocolate too)......oh and FREE parking.
On arrival the receptionist was friendly and welcoming and we were quickly booked in and handed our room keys.

The Anchor is located just out of the main part of Ingoldmells but is a pleasant 10 minute walk to all the bars and the pleasure beach.We paid £98 for a double room for the weekend which is a great price for peak season and reading some of the reviews if you want 4/5star you going to have to pay more , but remember your in Ingoldmells there will be noise and groups of people. The Anchor bar was open till late with karaoke on but the karaoke man was that miserable that would be the only thing that we could say was negative about our stay. You work hard all week . whether your there 2 nights to 1 week you expect better entertainment than that during peak season although bar staff were friendly , drinks were a good price and the food menu for good.

We were a group of 13 people who were there to party so we cant really comment on how well we slept or the noise because we all slept really well as were having late nights. The hotel was perfect for what we wanted and all in all we had a great weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We was booked for 2 nights stay at this hotel. We have a one year old daughter, the room was modern and a small cot was provided for my daughter, overall it looked clean but there was beads on the floor under the bed, which my one year old discovered and try to put them in her mouth! The noise from the bar is terrible, kept all of us awake until 2am! Had to walk my daughter along the beach in her pram just to get her to sleep! We checked out first thing in the morning, there was no way I could stay for the second night. There was no one at reception so I did not have the chance to ask for a refund! I would never stay at this place again! Avoid if you have young children!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel, very clean and modern, lovely rooms and space, quite misleading when first arriving as it looks very small. ideal location, a few minutes away from pub and nightlife with arcades and entertainment for children. I did drive but it was a nice walk into igoldmells, great value for money, staff didnt respond as quickly to our door not being able to lock when we went out, they said due to it being the bank holiday we would have to wait, which was understandable, but no room alternative was offered. overall very nice all around.

Room Tip: not ideal for wheelchair users as we couldnt see a lift and it was two flights of stairs before gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed here during Bank Holiday in June and loved our stay! Staff were very helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The rooms have been recently done up so are all new, and clean. Rooms are basic, but have everything in you need- Clean fresh towels daily, Soap provided, tv and tea and coffee in your room. Weather wasnt great, but didnt have to go far as the pub serves meals, 2 for £8 bargain! and Karaoke in the bar. Right up our street! Will defintetly be back :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

we booked this double room as a last minute thing, when we got there we had no towels in the room, the music went on till 2am which kept us awake, and there was a green nite light on in the room which lit the whole room up and could not be turned off, when we phoned the bar at 12.30am to ask what time the music went on till we heard the manage say at least an hour and a half but just tell them half an hour, we asked if we could have the light turned of and he said tell them its the law it has to stay on, we booked out at 9.30am to find the reception and the bar closed and not one member of staff to be found, we stay in hotels all the time but we will never return to this hotel as we have never had such a stay anywere, and we would not recommened this hotel to anyone!!!

Room Tip: go else were
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stopped here for a couple of nights while most of ingoldmells was closed so traveled to Skegness during the day, not far to travel.

Staff that was their were very helpful and pleasant, was also on hand if we needed any thing.

Will be going back in the summer and I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchor Hotel & Bars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel & Bars

Address: Anchor Lane, Ingoldmells, Skegness PE25 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Ingoldmells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ingoldmells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Anchor Hotel & Bars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Hotel & Bars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.